dossy7 wrote:
Leo ni ile siku ya Gilbey's half na maji moto kwa local alafu mbio hadi home

@ dossy maji moto huwa ya?
sorry I am from ndunduri.

I've also never understood this maji moto thing.

Though my chemistry tells me that if you add hot water to a tot or two of alcohol, you end up vaporizing the alcohol since it has a boiling point of 78.4 degrees C. In other words adding hot water to the gin/whisky/vodka etc removes the alcohol from the drink, and so one ends up taking "alcohol flavored" hot water. Now you know why those "maji moto" guys at pubs take a whole bottle of whisky without getting significantly drunk.

Fail:This tries to explain it!!!

I know that to "bring out the flavours", one should add some little water, which is at room temperature. The water also brings down the % alcohol from 40 to about 30% making the drink easier to take.

However adding half a glass of steaming hot water to a tot or 2 like i normally see people doing would have different results. The very hot water would evaporate the alcohol.
Buster
#2862 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 1:55:52 PM

dossy7 wrote:

Though my chemistry tells me that if you add hot water to a tot or two of alcohol, you end up vaporizing the alcohol since it has a boiling point of 78.4 degrees C. In other words adding hot water to the gin/whisky/vodka etc removes the alcohol from the drink, and so one ends up taking "alcohol flavored" hot water. Now you know why those "maji moto" guys at pubs take a whole bottle of whisky without getting significantly drunk.

I know that to "bring out the flavours", one should add some little water, which is at room temperature. The water also brings down the % alcohol from 40 to about 30% making the drink easier to take.

However adding half a glass of steaming hot water to a tot or 2 like i normally see people doing would have different results. The very hot water would evaporate the alcohol.

I don't think MC noted 'HOT WATER'. I have also wondered on this phenomenon... someone who used to work in the 'cooking room' at UDV told me the same thing... that the hot water does evaporate the alcohol somehow..
#2863 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 2:54:19 PM

Buster wrote:
dossy7 wrote:

I don't think MC noted 'HOT WATER'. I have also wondered on this phenomenon... someone who used to work in the 'cooking room' at UDV told me the same thing... that the hot water does evaporate the alcohol somehow..

Alcohol as we know it (mostly about 40%) does not have the same properties as pure alcohol (100%) which boils at a lower temperature, alcohol and water are chemical azeotropes and therefore are extremely difficult to separate once they have been mixed, kila mtu ako na styro yake lakini maji moto ukimix na phombe haibaliki kuwa vangi!!!!
#2864 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 3:00:57 PM

Buster wrote:
dossy7 wrote:

Alcohol as we know it (mostly about 40%) does not have the same properties as pure alcohol (100%) which boils at a lower temperature, alcohol and water are chemical azeotropes and therefore are extremely difficult to separate once they have been mixed, kila mtu ako na styro yake lakini maji moto ukimix na phombe haibaliki kuwa vangi!!!!

So how does mama pima distill her changaa mpaka it becomes flamable?
#2865 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 3:30:32 PM

Buster wrote:
dossy7 wrote:

So how does mama pima distill her changaa?

We discussed chang'aa brewing hapa before, it is a very elaborate process, can't be compared to pouring hot water on alcohol to get fumes that are alcohol!!!!
Atalaku
#2866 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 4:12:35 PM

...Ati leo ni FRIDAY na tena mwisho wa mweziPray !!!

Stolen photo...
#2867 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 4:16:35 PM

Atalaku wrote:

Stolen photo...

It is 3Dee Apartments for supper then head to K1 till morning."I have gone for a business trip" and will be back on Sunday that is the info in the house!!!!!!!!!!!!
#2868 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 4:22:16 PM

The time is now!!!
Atalaku
#2869 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 4:37:20 PM

Atalaku wrote:

Stolen photo...

It is 3Dee Apartments for supper then head to K1 till morning."I have gone for a business trip" and will be back on Sunday that is the info in the house!!!!!!!!!!!!

...I may pass by...Ni job ama ni entertainment ...You know when others are entertaining themselves in the the night, you are working as well as entertaining yourself!!!
...And by the way after the last mbuzi we were supposed to meet for a beer...Can we plan for next week?
#2870 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 4:44:57 PM

Atalaku wrote:

Stolen photo...

...I may pass by...Ni job ama ni entertainment ...You know when others are entertaining themselves in the the night, you are working as well as entertaining yourself!!!
...And by the way after the last mbuzi we were supposed to meet for a beer...Can we plan for next week?

At 3dee it is just supper, they have fish choma which I am yet to encounter anywhere else, and then K1 which is chaotic tonight.We can meet next weekend.I am now off wazua and I have disabled data on my tablet till tomorrow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
wilyum
#2871 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 5:29:32 PM

#LiteTheWay #TuskerLite leo
#2872 Posted : Thursday, February 05, 2015 10:21:54 AM

Mbona hizi lorry zinaanguka central pekee yake

Why are you blocking us from our party? This is a beer truck and not a petrol tanker,” said wamunyota who wanted the police to leave the scene.
Wamunyota
#2873 Posted : Thursday, February 05, 2015 10:36:26 AM

Why are you blocking us from our party? This is a beer truck and not a petrol tanker,” said wamunyota who wanted the police to leave the scene.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Wacha watu wapewe fombe.Iko neneLaughing out loudly
Hutia Mundu!!
ole3
#2874 Posted : Thursday, February 05, 2015 10:56:27 AM

Wamunyota wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Wacha watu wapewe fombe.Iko neneLaughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly - freebie Applause
Wamunyota
#2875 Posted : Thursday, February 05, 2015 11:02:27 AM

Buster wrote:
dossy7 wrote:

So how does mama pima distill her changaa?

We discussed chang'aa brewing hapa before, it is a very elaborate process, can't be compared to pouring hot water on alcohol to get fumes that are alcohol!!!!

No wonder pia hawa watu wa delmonte wanalewa wakikam kwa kalocal.Hizi fumes zinajaa kila mahali.
Hutia Mundu!!
Wamunyota
#2876 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 3:36:37 PM

Hutia Mundu!!
#2877 Posted : Friday, February 06, 2015 5:33:08 PM

Wamunyota wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Wamunyota that can't be your look. It's too innocent to be you.

ION, where to the little ones get those smily moments from? I have been watching my little one smiling widely in her sleep and wondering what exactly is going on in her mind.
#2878 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 11:13:02 AM

We have all the reasons to partake today, Gin and tonic!!!!
#2879 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 11:18:00 AM

Hio crate ya@Am ya whitecup tunaikamatia wapi?
#2880 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 11:24:25 AM

Hio crate ya@Am ya whitecup tunaikamatia wapi?

Dude has gone missing, he must still be in shock!!!