Luis Figo to challenge Sepp Blatter for FIFA presidency
Alba
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 4:22:21 PM

Luis Figo is the highest profile person to announce his candidature.

Its a long shot and it will take a miracle to beat Blatter but at least now, there is a viable challenger.
Blatter has been around too long, is too corrupt and is one of the main the reasons Kenya is useless at football.

Hopefully a miracle happens, Figo gets elected and also gets rid of that old dinosaur Hayatou

What makes this complicated is that its already a crowded field: David Ginola, Jérôme Champagne, Prince Ali of Jordan and Michael van Praag, the head of the Dutch FA. I hope they unite behind one candidate and not make the same mistake that was made in Kenya which caused Nyamweya to win.
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 4:27:37 PM

Already Africa Federations have said they are behind Blatter because of the Goal Project. That is about votes.

If you add corrupt South Americans etc Blatter is in.
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 4:30:21 PM

the only viable competitor to blatter would be platini, lakini he is a ...
you can't blame the old man, he keeps winning. smile
Alba
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 4:55:21 PM

Platini has no brains. Listening to this guy talk can shock the senses.
#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 6:35:26 PM

Luiz Figo and David Ginola will not worry Blatter, his main challenger will be Prince Ali Bin Al- Hussein of Jordan who has already received backing from the English FA and is set to get similar support from other European countries and the middle east/Asia.
Alba
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2015 4:51:54 PM

Luiz Figo and David Ginola will not worry Blatter, his main challenger will be Prince Ali Bin Al- Hussein of Jordan who has already received backing from the English FA and is set to get similar support from other European countries and the middle east/Asia.

They only stand a chance if they unite and present one candidate. And even then its a very small chance
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2015 4:55:06 PM

Figo is actually doing a Kibaki in 1992! Splitting the votes. Asia, Europe and South America. Africa belongs to Blatter sasa hii ni kutawanya kura za Ali Bin Al- Hussein. Asia may 'die' with Ali and Europe may decide to be idealistic and vote for Ali or ethnic and vote for Figo but not Blatter. Anyway - what do I know... I am an armchair commentator.
Alba
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2015 4:58:46 PM

Already Africa Federations have said they are behind Blatter because of the Goal Project. That is about votes.

If you add corrupt South Americans etc Blatter is in.

In Kenya we are back to the crazy era for parallel leagues. Perhaps other countries should also do something crazy: If UEFA are fed up with Blatter, they should secede and leave Blatter with only the corrupt African football heads, Nyamweya, Hayatou et al. smile smile

UEFA and other like minded confederations like perhaps AFC and Oceania should hold their world cup in England while FIFA holds a parallel world cup for CAF and South America in Russia.

Guess which world cup the big sponsors will go to. As it is now, FIFA is already losing big sponsors like Emirates Airline and Sony. (And I do not mean Awendo based SoNy)

And guess which world cup will be televised ?--> A cursory glance at Wazua will tell you that people will watch the UEFA one