7 Pages<12345>»
2015 Africa Cup Of Nations
Uram
#41 Posted : Monday, January 26, 2015 10:59:38 PM

Group B: Tunisia and DR Congo through to quarter finals. 2012 Champions Zambia and Cape Verde out
Alba
#42 Posted : Monday, January 26, 2015 11:09:25 PM

Looks like this somersault was the high point of Gabon's campaign. From that point on Aubemeyang and co plummetted both figuratively and in reality.
D32
#43 Posted : Monday, January 26, 2015 11:44:07 PM

Then it will be bafana and black stars.

South African's have the best online reactions.

https://twitter.com/sear...me&q=%23BafanaBafana
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#44 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 2:12:36 PM

Tonight matches will be entertaining!!!
#45 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 4:02:05 PM

BBC Sports........

Diafra Sakho: Senegal coach angry at West Ham playing striker

West Ham "set a dangerous precedent" by playing striker Diafra Sakho at the weekend, according to Senegal national coach Alain Giresse.

Sakho, 25, withdrew from Senegal's Africa Cup of Nations squad earlier this month because of a back injury, but played for the Hammers on Sunday.

"When you cannot fly for six weeks and then suddenly you're playing a football game, there must be miraculous medicine in England," said Giresse.

"I'm surprised to learn he played."
#46 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 4:17:01 PM

BBC Sports........

Diafra Sakho: Senegal coach angry at West Ham playing striker

West Ham "set a dangerous precedent" by playing striker Diafra Sakho at the weekend, according to Senegal national coach Alain Giresse.

Sakho, 25, withdrew from Senegal's Africa Cup of Nations squad earlier this month because of a back injury, but played for the Hammers on Sunday.

"When you cannot fly for six weeks and then suddenly you're playing a football game, there must be miraculous medicine in England," said Giresse.

"I'm surprised to learn he played."

BIG SHAME to both Sakho and Westham!!
Alba
#47 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 5:46:39 PM

Its unfortunate but you Cant blame Sakho et al. He has to put food on the table and pay rent. He makes money by playing for west ham and not Senegal. He is not the 1st and will not be the last. Prince Boateng has a habit of retiring from international football when its time for AFCON then declares himself available when the world cup is coming. AFCON should probably be held when the Euro-season is off. Else you will keep getting players who feel pressure to play for club and not country.
Uram
#48 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 10:52:06 PM

Group C: Ghana and Algeria through to quarters. Mzansi and Senegal out
D32
#49 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 11:01:27 PM

Tonight matches will be entertaining!!!

Yeah! That was fun!
#50 Posted : Tuesday, January 27, 2015 11:10:11 PM

always is the first to score but cannot keep the lead. i think they lack the mental strength to keep the lead.
D32
#51 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2015 12:01:17 AM

D32 wrote:
Then it will be bafana and black stars.

South African's have the best online reactions.

https://twitter.com/sear...e&q=%23BafanaBafana

Uram
#52 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2015 6:23:23 PM

Guinea have been picked from the draw of lots ahead of Mali after both teams drew 1-1 in all their group matches

Quarter Final matches are as follows:

Congo vs DR Congo
Tunisia vs Equatorial Guinea
Ghana vs Guinea
Ivory Coast vs Algeria
#53 Posted : Thursday, January 29, 2015 6:53:31 PM

Will it be Guinea or Mali?

Alba
#54 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 12:12:20 AM

Yaani Mali have been sent to the departure lounge by coin flip?

Why cant CAF just call a penalty shootout? This is a time when AFCON is struggling for relevance as most Africans flock to the EPL. Kweli CAF hawajui marketing.
#55 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 7:30:06 AM

Alba wrote:

Why cant CAF just call a penalty shootout? This is a time when AFCON is struggling for relevance as most Africans flock to the EPL. Kweli CAF hawajui marketing.

thay is how tie breaks are decided a guy, nothing new in that, if you want to watch EPL over AFCON , don't use the toss of a coin as an excuse. enda tu u watch. either way, you are promoting football.
#56 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 10:43:49 AM

kyt wrote:
Alba wrote:

thay is how tie breaks are decided a guy, nothing new in that, if you want to watch EPL over AFCON , don't use the toss of a coin as an excuse. enda tu u watch. either way, you are promoting football.

......it's even a FIFA rule, you can't can have a penalty shoot out between four teams!!!!!
Alba
#57 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 3:01:28 PM

kyt wrote:
Alba wrote:

Hata sijui nini inakuwasha. Yes I know how things are always done. But I made a suggestion for improvement even though I know Sepp Blatter does not read this bored. Why? Because this is an open forum and people can give suggestions to improve a tournament whose relevance is fading. CAF and its affiliates has some leeway to bend FIFA rules if they can get agreement from all affiliates.

There is always room to improve a sport. So do not be uptight if a person makes a suggestion for improvement even if Blatter does not read wazua.

And no I generally do not watch EPL. I would sooner watch Kakamega high take on Kisumu Day.
Alba
#58 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2015 3:03:58 PM

kyt wrote:
Alba wrote:

......it's even a FIFA rule, you can't can have a penalty shoot out between four teams!!!!!

@Mcreggae

FIFA rules for tie breakers can be bent if there is agreement by all teams.

For example, in the community shield, at one point the FA decided to skip extra time and go straight to penalties

And when the MLS first started in 1996, instead of one shot penalties, they used to have penalties where you can dribble towards the goal. They used this as a marketing ploy since it is used in ice hockey.

And in the English FA cup, starting around 1972, a replay is ordered instead of a penalty shootout. This was still true when I used to watch and I think it still applies now.

All I am saying is that CAF has some leeway to be creative in case they want to enhance the tournament. AFCON is a CAF tournament which means CAF and its affiliates are the arbiter. If they agree to a tournament rule change, FIFA will not intervene.

And once again Yes I know how things have always worked.

Heck there was a time when the EPL unilaterally decided to award 3 points for a win instead of 2 points. Some people howled. FIFA regulations called for two points. But eventually FIFA adopted it.

Alba
#59 Posted : Saturday, January 31, 2015 8:23:01 PM

A journalist at sports news also thinks CAF should have put a better system in place by now since this scenario has been happening since 1972

On another note, 1972 was Kenya's best performance ever in this tournament. Zama za kina Jonathan Niva ,Peter Ouma Pele,Allan Thigo, Nicodemus Arudhi and Livinsgtone Madegwa
#60 Posted : Sunday, February 01, 2015 6:17:22 PM

What a free kick by that equatorial guinea guy. top drawer.