wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

10 Pages«<45678>»
TV Analogue to Digital Migration
#101 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 12:22:33 PM

[quote=Caveman]PRESS STATEMENT BY MR. FRANCIS WANGUSI, DIRECTOR GENERAL OF CA ON THE ADVERTISEMENT BY THE THREE MEDIA HOUSES
http://jolini.co.ke/pres...the-three-media-houses/[/quote]

Going by the headline in todays business daily this is now war between CA and the big 3 you take us down we go with you Laughing out loudly

lets wait and see how CA will hit back

Telecoms regulator on the spot over hefty allowances
#102 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 1:30:02 PM

madollar wrote:
[quote=Caveman]PRESS STATEMENT BY MR. FRANCIS WANGUSI, DIRECTOR GENERAL OF CA ON THE ADVERTISEMENT BY THE THREE MEDIA HOUSES
http://jolini.co.ke/pres...the-three-media-houses/[/quote]

Going by the headline in todays business daily this is now war between CA and the big 3 you take us down we go with you Laughing out loudly

lets wait and see how CA will hit back

Telecoms regulator on the spot over hefty allowances

Everything to save their biz from compe. Maybe that's what they call 'fearshara'
Mike Ock
#103 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 2:51:38 PM

while I don't support the desperate propaganda tactics being employed by the TV stations, I'm trying to empathize with them

Digital TV will cause a proliferation of many new stations. I think there will be almost as many TV stations as radio stations in the next 10 years. This means that there will be no more scarcity of ad space on TV, and TV stations will probably go from billion shilling revenues to million shilling. You can imagine some new law coming in to shave three zeros off your income, you would not accept before a fight!
#104 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 3:23:03 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
while I don't support the desperate propaganda tactics being employed by the TV stations, I'm trying to empathize with them

Digital TV will cause a proliferation of many new stations. I think there will be almost as many TV stations as radio stations in the next 10 years. This means that there will be no more scarcity of ad space on TV, and TV stations will probably go from billion shilling revenues to million shilling. You can imagine some new law coming in to shave three zeros off your income, you would not accept before a fight!

That's where you are going wrong, thinking like these dragons, on the contrary those who will be innovative enough to create content will pull viewers hence the revenue will follow them. Think of radio. Before FM stations came in where was that revenue that radio generates going to? Now all radios on air are making money. Those who'll get it right will laugh all the way to the bank.
Mike Ock
#105 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 5:59:39 PM

The radio station that makes the most money in Kenya is capital FM, which makes 500m on a good year. Compare that with the current king of TV, citizen, which makes several BILLION in a good year. they both laugh, but analog TV laughs loudest. Understand your adversary
#106 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 6:03:08 PM

[quote=Mike Ock]while I don't support the desperate propaganda tactics being employed by the TV stations, I'm trying to empathize with them

That's where you are going wrong, thinking like these dragons, on the contrary those who will be innovative enough to create content will pull viewers hence the revenue will follow them. Think of radio. Before FM stations came in where was that revenue that radio generates going to? Now all radios on air are making money. Those who'll get it right will laugh all the way to the bank. [/quote

You are totally right infact the biggest worry for the big 3 should be those start ups on signet sijui youth tv ebru africa njata among others.After 2-3 years those that survive will be specific niches
#107 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 6:31:15 PM

Mike Ock wrote:
The radio station that makes the most money in Kenya is capital FM, which makes 500m on a good year. Compare that with the current king of TV, citizen, which makes several BILLION in a good year. they both laugh, but analog TV laughs loudest. Understand your adversary

Royal media makes the most money on their radio channels simply because they have a niche from Radio citizen to those vernacular stations. If they can do this for TV then they will make even more money as advertisers will have to payup for advertisement on those different channels. Change is inevitable. The analog signals are going...gone.

If am not wrong, DJ CK once said that Radio doesn't make him money, dont know what he meant tho.
Caveman
#108 Posted : Friday, February 13, 2015 6:45:16 PM

Caveman wrote:

http://jolini.co.ke/pres...e-supreme-court-ruling/

Involves forceful switch off (TONIGHT) if necessary!!

Please share the page above for the benefit of our members and friends who are not aware that they can watch TV free of charge in the digital platform.
geofreygachie
#109 Posted : Saturday, February 14, 2015 3:23:54 PM

Citizen TV ,NTV,QTV and KTN offline.These guys behave like they own the viewers.In the meantime i am enjoying other channels with better content .Bamba Knowledge 1,AviationTv ,Press TV rocks.
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
#110 Posted : Saturday, February 14, 2015 6:46:06 PM

geofreygachie wrote:
Citizen TV ,NTV,QTV and KTN offline.These guys behave like they own the viewers.In the meantime i am enjoying other channels with better content .Bamba Knowledge 1,AviationTv ,Press TV rocks.

Let's say you are a mandazi baker. You bake them, then use your bicycles to deliver them to kiosks all over town. One day Kidero's gaarment wakes up and says no more bicycles allowed in Nairobi, henceforth only tuktuks will be allowed. Since you don't have a tuktuk, he brings his friend (who you don't know) and has tuktuks and declares that this friend will now be making deliveries for you. And this friend will add his margin when he delivers to your kiosk clients. You protest and Kidero decrees that you must hand over your mandazis to this man. Kidero finally concedes and philanthropically allows you to use one tuktuk, but to serve all your kiosks you need five tuktuks. BTW, you have enough money to buy the five tuktuks. What would you think of Kidero? Why doesn't he setup his own bakery to bake his own mandazis, deliver them using his friend's tuktuks and allow you enough tuktuks to deliver yours?

#111 Posted : Saturday, February 14, 2015 9:34:30 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
geofreygachie wrote:

Let's say you are a mandazi baker. You bake them, then use your bicycles to deliver them to kiosks all over town. One day Kidero's gaarment wakes up and says no more bicycles allowed in Nairobi, henceforth only tuktuks will be allowed. Since you don't have a tuktuk, he brings his friend (who you don't know) and has tuktuks and declares that this friend will now be making deliveries for you. And this friend will add his margin when he delivers to your kiosk clients. You protest and Kidero decrees that you must hand over your mandazis to this man. Kidero finally concedes and philanthropically allows you to use one tuktuk, but to serve all your kiosks you need five tuktuks. BTW, you have enough money to buy the five tuktuks. What would you think of Kidero? Why doesn't he setup his own bakery to bake his own mandazis, deliver them using his friend's tuktuks and allow you enough tuktuks to deliver yours?

Laws are there to be obeyed not to please - they are fair to some and unfair to others. The baker should use what's available and if not move on, other bakers will be more than willing to take up the customers - at the end of the day mandazis will still be delivered.
#112 Posted : Saturday, February 14, 2015 9:44:37 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

That's where you are going wrong, thinking like these dragons, on the contrary those who will be innovative enough to create content will pull viewers hence the revenue will follow them. Think of radio. Before FM stations came in where was that revenue that radio generates going to? Now all radios on air are making money. Those who'll get it right will laugh all the way to the bank.

they will even have a wide reach throughout the country, attracting even more ads hence revenue.
#113 Posted : Saturday, February 14, 2015 9:55:19 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
geofreygachie wrote:

Wait a minute...

But the cities met with leaders of bakers across the world and agree delivery via bicycles should be replaced by tuktuks in five years time. Each city went ahead and set their own deadline. They also advertised for tuktuk providers to bid for delivery licenses... you failed to bid and later got a free license but you don't want that... you want sympathy!

How can you be helped...
#114 Posted : Saturday, February 14, 2015 9:57:24 PM

Mike Ock wrote:

they will even have a wide reach throughout the country, attracting even more ads hence revenue.

Creating decent content is not easy, and these are guys who pretty much built their biashara around being the only ones with a nationwide coverage.

now we have 50+ other guys who now have the same marketing line, and now the battle moves to quality of content, they failed to invest in the same and instead focused on competing who among the 3 had the best looking girls reading a teleprompter, we now wait and see how they will reinvent themselves.

I really hope they do.
limanika
#115 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 4:22:32 PM

Someone help me understand, when these 3 media houses start broadcasting through their own set-top boxes,will their content still be available on other boxes currently in the market?
#116 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 5:10:22 PM

limanika wrote:
Someone help me understand, when these 3 media houses start broadcasting through their own set-top boxes,will their content still be available on other boxes currently in the market?

if they remain fta they will have to comply with the law and avail their signal - but they might just decide to go the paytv route and have no monthly charges, thus locking out their signal.

lakini mimi sioni waki revive, they have dug themselves so deep - unless analogue is reinstated.
otienosmall
#117 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 5:16:50 PM

limanika wrote:

Of course yes!! What these guys have is a free-to-air license; they must therefore allow others to carry their signal. If they are not happy with that, they must change to pay tv. The later has the potential to limit audience and thus may not be very attractive to advertisers hence the urge to remain free-to-air. It was thus uncouth for the three to put up ads misleading viewers that they risk missing out on their channels if they buy set boxes from elsewhere
Boris Boyka
#118 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 8:52:51 PM

That said. Any wazuan who can calculate the loss envisaged as a result of this confusion to the media houses especially NMG & SGL. and how/when it shall reflect on financial results.smile
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
GGK
#119 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 9:03:02 PM

There could be proprietary STB that can only receive signals from a designated frequency. Same thing that used to happen with Safaricom phones on offer that could only be used on Safaricom only. All you need is to have it "unlocked". But since their licence is FTA, you don't need a particular STB to receive their signals.

I've a digital TV that receives all signals including subscription based services[GoTV, STB etc] .... But when these services land on it, it can't show anything because the service is "scrabbled" or "encrypted" if you like.

In other words an STB is just part of your TV. I don't see the sense of unholy trinity [NMG,RMS,SMG] to distribute own STBs. The standards are set to be open. All you need is to tune to a frequency.
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
limanika
#120 Posted : Sunday, February 15, 2015 9:59:05 PM

otienosmall wrote:
limanika wrote:

Of course yes!! What these guys have is a free-to-air license; they must therefore allow others to carry their signal. If they are not happy with that, they must change to pay tv. The later has the potential to limit audience and thus may not be very attractive to advertisers hence the urge to remain free-to-air. It was thus uncouth for the three to put up ads misleading viewers that they risk missing out on their channels if they buy set boxes from elsewhere
so if the set top box to distributed by the 3 media houses will still host other TVs, that means they actually anticipate I will not be watching their station all the time? I to say these guys are confused is gross understatement...