wazua Tue, Sep 24, 2024

GPS co-ordinates Conversion / GPS Machine
Okonkwo
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 5:26:13 PM

Hi Wazuans;

1. I need a very small portable gadget which can help me in identification of beacons for my land. The gadget should be reliable with almost 0% error tolerance. Currently I use my phone, but it is usually not exact. Please give reference

2. How do I convert -1.134736,37.982738 into degrees South and degrees East? eg in this format 1º24'28.87"S,37º50'08.18"E. Somebody pls do the conversion for me.

Thanks
Hunderwear
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 6:31:34 PM

Okonkwo wrote:
Hi Wazuans;

1. I need a very small portable gadget which can help me in identification of beacons for my land. The gadget should be reliable with almost 0% error tolerance. Currently I use my phone, but it is usually not exact. Please give reference

2. How do I convert -1.134736,37.982738 into degrees South and degrees East? eg in this format 1º24'28.87"S,37º50'08.18"E. Somebody pls do the conversion for me.

Thanks

You can buy a handheld GPS off the shelves with an accuracy of less than a metre.I have no idea how much it goes for but you can start with aviation equipment shops at Wilson,Nairobi.

A good smart phone can do you a good job as far as conversion is concerned.Go to the Maps application and it converts for you automatically.Your desktop can do it for you also by loading google maps website and inputn the coordinates.

For instance,wat u asked is 1°08'05.0"S 37°58'57.9"E according to my phone
Okonkwo
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 8:06:08 PM

Thanks Hundewear - any specific shop at wilson,? Is it inside the airport perimeter or outside the gate?
Okonkwo
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 8:08:48 PM

I also have a smart phone, is there application to be downloaded for conversion or what do I type in the google map?
vestor
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 8:25:20 PM

Check car and general. They sell garmin GPS equipment, from 20-50k depending on type.
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 8:43:32 PM

@Okonkwo i can deliver them to your doorstep if in Nairobi
Garmin eTrex 20 (High sensitivity gps receiver)@30,000
Garmin eTrex 30 (High sensitivity gps receiver) @38,000
You can have data in any format you want and they are good for outdoor activity and finding your way out. Comes with a preloaded map and definetely I will be in hand to give training on best practices
bubethi
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 9:19:06 PM

Okonkwo wrote:
Hi Wazuans;

Thanks

Easy

Follow this link:

http://www.satsig.net/de...s-seconds-calculator.htm
kitimoto
#8 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 1:48:18 AM

For question no.2, coordinates in decimal can be manually converted to minutes by multiplying the fractional parts by 60, if the result of this is a whole number(minutes) + fraction(second) combination,treat the fractional part of this result independently and multiply by 60 to get the coordinate seconds, vice-versa holds. (South and West are negative.) Why bother though.smile
Okonkwo
#9 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 9:06:41 AM

Thanks all for your quick responses. I have tried and it has worked, and I don't take your assistance for granted. The machine I need is only for beacon identification purposes and not for driving. For those who have quoted, if you have one for beacons only, please email me directly the info at mivaug(at)gmail(dot)com. Thanks all once again.
holycow
#10 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 11:09:08 AM

Bought eTrex 20 at 25,000/= some 2 years go. The seller is an authorised dealer for Garmin. The shop is called Titan Avionics and its at Wilson Airport.
You can also buy from Ebrahim Elecronics on Kimathi Street but they are slightly expensive.

As for the units, you can change it from the phone settings of the GPS application.
The GPS can also measure areas in units of your choice(acres, hectares etc).
Now that you mention issue of beacons, surveyors love to use UTM instead of decimal degrees. Something else, using different Datum eg WGS 1984, ARC 1960 etc can give different coordinates.
stockshunter
#11 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 11:18:44 AM

Okonkwo wrote:
Hi Wazuans;

Thanks

All your problems can be sorted by by a smart phones with a GPS chip and a software. Try GPS Essentials It always works for me though for a different purpose and does not require internet or network, giving me the freedom to use it anywhere no matter how remote the place is. accuracy it can give to 0(zero) Metres
fear makes people live a miserable life.
Okonkwo
#12 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 12:18:04 PM

@stockshunter
Thanks I am installing it right now to test over the weekend (Essentials)

@holycow
Between eTrex & Garmin - which is a better model?

Final Question:
How do I calculate area in acreage through google maps? The shape is irregular.
Okonkwo
#13 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 12:21:39 PM

@stockshunter
I have installed. How do I check the GPS co-ordinates?
Hunderwear
#14 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 2:19:37 PM

Okonkwo wrote:
Thanks all for your quick responses. I have tried and it has worked, and I don't take your assistance for granted. The machine I need is only for beacon identification purposes and not for driving. For those who have quoted, if you have one for beacons only, please email me directly the info at mivaug(at)gmail(dot)com. Thanks all once again.

If just a small shamba with no commercial application,dont waste your money.Just use a smart phone.It will work alright.
Take afew minutes to understand how to do it and you r good to go.Somethings need to be practised you know
#15 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 4:00:21 PM

@Okonkwo,

My advice is based on "GPS Status & Toolbox" and "Distance and Measurement" apps, both downloadable from playstore.

To change the units on "GPS Status & Toolbox", touch the upper right hand corner. A drop down list will pop. Touch Setings > Units and Formatting > Location Format. An array of different formats will pop including DD.DDDDD, DD MM.MMMM, DD MM SS.S, utm, mgrs, ch1903 and other GPS units formats. Select DD MM SS.S to get your preferred ( 1º24'28.87"S,37º50'08.18"E ), or any other that you fancy.

You can check the accuracy of your GPS readings on the "GPS Status & Toolbox", should be possible on any basic GPS.

I have compared the smartphone GPS with Garmin eTrex 20 , and their variance is usually very little if any. Given time, and same accuracy in meters, the two GPS readings are the same.

On measurign the acreage of your land, the "Distance and Measurement" is good. You walk around the land boundaries and it draws a track and when you complete the track it calculates the acreage, or square meters, or other area units that you set.

Good luck
bubethi
#16 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 5:10:45 PM

Okonkwo wrote:
@stockshunter

@holycow

Final Question:

Wote ni kitu moja; Garmin is the name of the company, e-trex is the model of the GPS.
#17 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 5:47:27 PM

Okonkwo wrote:
@stockshunter

@holycow

Final Question:

Right click on the map and choose "measure distance", then click around the plot.
Dirty_impreza
#18 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2015 9:06:11 PM

Okonkwo wrote:
Hi Wazuans;

Thanks

For beacon identification,I will read beacon re-establishment,critical question,is it a fixed or general boundary survey.Fixed, you will need high accuracy and precision equipment, your error margin should be 15cm or below. A total station or geodetic gps will bail you out. General boundary,an error of approx 1m is allowable. Your kawa etrex can bail you out but with an error margin of 3m and above.

Id rather you hire out a guy with the right equipment before making an expensive mistake.That is if you intend to carry out any developments.
As for the conversion, search for online convertors or have the gps you intend to use preset in
#19 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2015 9:27:27 PM

Okonkwo wrote:
Hi Wazuans;

Thanks

If you are good with Google Earth then one cab easily convert all those coordinates
#20 Posted : Sunday, February 08, 2015 9:30:56 PM

Okonkwo wrote:
@stockshunter

@holycow

Final Question:

Right click on the map and choose "measure distance", then click around the plot.

Download Google Earth it will serve you a lot better. Pick the ka-ruler icon and you can measure anything under the sun