wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

10 Pages«<34567>»
TV Analogue to Digital Migration
MKWASI
#81 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 4:58:00 PM

The three media outlet are in a deep slumber in a changing world. Fighting the watchdog is synonymous with biting the hands that feeds you. I think, the starting point for the three; buy a licensed Broadcast Signal Distributor then compete. Otherwise moving in circles will come to an end.
Caveman
#82 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 7:32:59 PM

PRESS STATEMENT BY MR. FRANCIS WANGUSI, DIRECTOR GENERAL OF CA ON THE ADVERTISEMENT BY THE THREE MEDIA HOUSES
http://jolini.co.ke/pres...-the-three-media-houses/
#83 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 8:00:24 PM

Really, what is wrong with KTN NTV and Citizen? Who would be interested in their setbox that just shows their channels? Ama ni mimi sielewi? Change is inevitable, you either go with the flow or be left wallowing
limanika
#84 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 10:07:04 PM

madollar wrote:
So the three media houses conspired and refused to air communication authority ADs now CA says the set top boxes to be imported by the three are not approved this migration thing is now getting nasty

In addition to that...

CAK withdraws frequencies of the big three
But that article is also misleading in that it says Kenyans risk missing TV news and popular shows by the four stations. They are still at liberty to air their content.

So, CAK withdraws frequency just because of a mere advert???
#85 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 10:43:25 PM

limanika wrote:
madollar wrote:
So the three media houses conspired and refused to air communication authority ADs now CA says the set top boxes to be imported by the three are not approved this migration thing is now getting nasty

In addition to that...

But that article is also misleading in that it says Kenyans risk missing TV news and popular shows by the four stations. They are still at liberty to air their content.

I tell you, haya mambo yana tatanisha

“The Authority is gravely concerned by the content of the said advertisement,” said Francis Wangusi, Director General Communication Authority of Kenya.

“The advertisement by the three media houses is misleading to the public, is offensive to the market. It is equally in gross violation of the legal and regulatory framework governing the sector,” he said.
GGK
#86 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 8:36:15 AM

The unholy trinity (NMG, RMS & SG) are planning to import one million set top boxes into the market.

Its just commercial interest that has nothing to do with media freedom.

Since when did TV station start dictating which TV receiver a viewer should buy?

They should be closed for a month wapate adabu.

"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
#87 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 8:52:43 AM

Where were they when the others were bring in their set boxes? Now they are telling us they will SOON be launching their own set boxes.

I see k24 being the biggest beneficiary of this squabbles.

But I would want to have at least one local digital licensed company. Hawa wachina are not our best solution.
#88 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 10:33:48 AM

limanika wrote:
madollar wrote:

In addition to that...

What you call a mere advert is actually misinformation and is totally misleading and anti-competitive as it affects the market in general. The impact felt can be quite huge, especially for those people who don't understand what Must-Carry-Principle is all about. When you play dirty, you can be warned, given a yellow or a red card.
#89 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 10:38:12 AM

radio wrote:
Where were they when the others were bring in their set boxes? Now they are telling us they will SOON be launching their own set boxes.

But I would want to have at least one local digital licensed company. Hawa wachina are not our best solution.

Signet is local, yawa. It's owned by KBC.
#90 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 11:28:08 AM

radio wrote:

Hata bamba if am not wrong .This is one fascinating debate waiting to see its end game in june when analogue transmission ends and if CA will finally turn it off
subaru
#91 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 11:50:47 AM

na hii bamba sio mbaya may b this is what has triggered them to bring their own
#92 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 12:28:22 PM

madollar wrote:
radio wrote:

Hata bamba if am not wrong .This is one fascinating debate waiting to see its end game in june when analogue transmission ends and if CA will finally turn it off

they also had been awarded a licence for the same, but its a tricky game they are engaging in, the others have been switched off, and I think they are still on air because of the court case - but eventually hi kitu itazimwa completely and it will be very hard for them to catch up with the other players in the market.
Caveman
#93 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 7:40:43 PM

STATEMENT BY THE DIGITAL BROADCASTERS ASSOCIATION
http://jolini.co.ke/stat...roadcasters-association/
#94 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 8:19:43 PM

[quote=Caveman]STATEMENT BY THE DIGITAL BROADCASTERS ASSOCIATION
http://jolini.co.ke/stat...oadcasters-association/[/quote]
watu wengi hawajui hii part

Our Interpretation of Free To Air license means that your signal is available freely to everyone including Pay TV channels. If any investor feels that their signal should be encrypted, then they should apply to change their license from Free T Air to Pay TV. The analogue signals for K24 and KBC have been switched off, Why are the 3 adamant?

but if only the cak can enforce the rule that fta should be free across all boxes, be it a monthly subscription one or not would go along way in settling this thing.

but he three local guys are acting in an immature way, if you do not embrace change then you have to be ready to innovate your alternative.
#95 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 9:14:59 PM

Hawa watu wako in panic mode, what's this thing about foreigners vs locals while the guys claiming that are clad in Italian designer suits.
limanika
#96 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 10:37:50 PM

limanika wrote:
madollar wrote:

In addition to that...

What you call a mere advert is actually misinformation and is totally misleading and anti-competitive as it affects the market in general. The impact felt can be quite oohuge, especially for those people who don't understand what Must-Carry-Principle is all about. When you play dirty, you can be warned, given a yellow or a red card.
so is there a rule stipulating that your license can be withdrawn if you air a bad advert 'expressing intent' to take some illegal action? I think CA has overreacted, they could have sorted out the matters some other way. Much as I do not approve everything the 3 media houses are proposing
#97 Posted : Thursday, January 22, 2015 11:11:47 PM

They went to court with that line of "Locals vs Foreigners" and the courts stipulated that they get licenses too. So why did they go ahead and malign the competitor? Who is ready to wait for their set boxes just for them to get 3 or 4 channels? #Innovateordie.

#98 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 6:23:27 AM

The worst comment from that media briefing came from that dude of Standard Media who thinks that when all the 600 people lose their jobs in Nation KTN and Citizen, they will just be...these guys will be absorbed by the other media houses that will use the expansion of spectrum to their advantage.
#99 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 9:10:22 AM

Hawa watu wako in panic mode, what's this thing about foreigners vs locals while the guys claiming that are clad in Italian designer suits.

Mberrow the beot!

#100 Posted : Friday, January 23, 2015 10:23:55 AM

and is the major shareholder of nmg a kenyan?