12 Pages«<89101112>
Pissed at BONIFACE MWANGI
#91 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 6:53:49 PM

For those who missed it, here is the video link to the panel discussion last night. Starts well then heads south.

Ecstacy, in your brief to try and call Boniface a shameful character, you neglect to think a bit

Kenyans are extremely tired of land grabbing. Extremely tired.

If you took a vote on wazua alone and there's no fear of being called a blogger and being taken to some police station, you will soon realise, that 98% of those who watched that video loved him.

Even my grandmother loved "kamudu kao. Nu kemenyerere".

Unatupa wakati na boniface.

Go look for that "activist" you were yapping about.

Is it possible for you to engage your ups and interrogate the subject matter whilst leaving out your vile, bitter, nonsensical comments? Kwaheri.

Kwaheri

Last night was a tough night for you I understand. Ain't going to get any better.

Wewe ukirudi before you jump on another Raila thread, kuja na jina ya huyo "activist" aliyetaka kumaliza watoto wetu.

The name of the person who fenced off a children's playground will be what we call an added advantage.

Wachana na Boniface kabisa.
waruguru
#92 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 6:54:37 PM

I remember mathai was also called an activist and a woman who makes too much noise.

I think Boniface is in the best company possible.

He saved Kenyan kids in the midst of tear gas on children and a police force that should never have been there.

Now they have their land back.

You can continue posting about his methods but the children will be playing kati tomorrow.

Super guy!

Indeed super: The children 'grabbed' back their land. Make no mistake about that. If it was the activists only the police were dealing with, they would have been bundled into lorries and ...the end. The kids shamed we adults into apologising and giving them back their land.

I maintain that there are better ways. Children were taken to hospital because of this. From his numerous run-ins with the police, Boniface Mwangi knows very well what kind of police force we have; these officers are crazy and frustrated enough to harm children and we should be thankful that going to hospital was as far as it went. It was unnecessary. That picture of him with children carrying sticks is appalling and unacceptable. Not to mention he is teaching children disrespect. This is teaching children to grab whatever is grabbed from them and while this may work in some cases, it is not practical for real, everyday, adult life. I accept that the state has disrespected us and that it disrespected the children. But we need to maintain our faculties. The end cannot justify the means in cases such as these.
#93 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 7:07:40 PM

waruguru wrote:
I remember mathai was also called an activist and a woman who makes too much noise.

He saved Kenyan kids in the midst of tear gas on children and a police force that should never have been there.

You can continue posting about his methods but the children will be playing kati tomorrow.

Super guy!

Indeed super: The children 'grabbed' back their land. Make no mistake about that. If it was the activists only the police were dealing with, they would have been bundled into lorries and ...the end. The kids shamed we adults into apologising and giving them back their land.

I maintain that there are better ways. Children were taken to hospital because of this. From his numerous run-ins with the police, Boniface Mwangi knows very well what kind of police force we have; these officers are crazy and frustrated enough to harm children and we should be thankful that going to hospital was as far as it went. It was unnecessary. That picture of him with children carrying sticks is appalling and unacceptable. Not to mention he is teaching children disrespect. This is teaching children to grab whatever is grabbed from them and while this may work in some cases, it is not practical for real, everyday, adult life. I accept that the state has disrespected us and that it disrespected the children. But we need to maintain our faculties. The end cannot justify the means in cases such as these.

Google Birmingham children crusade and learn something about the difference the young ones can make!
#94 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 7:17:28 PM

waruguru wrote:

Super guy!

Google Birmingham children crusade and learn something about the difference the young ones can make!

Kumbe hata huko polisi walikuwa wajinga hivo???

By the second day, Commissioner of Public Safety Bull O’Connor ordered police to spray the children with powerful water hoses, hit them with batons, and threaten them with police dogs

All in all, in my opinion, children are never again to be exposed to our police. NEVER AGAIN. Some time back Boniface Mwangi said he will go for a certain demo with his family, children included, and everyone condemned him. Now the same people are arguing it was okay for these kids to be put at the front line. In this country where children are kidnapped and raped on a daily basis, I would think twice before releasing them to a group of men and women who have come through the gate to demonstrate. 99% could be well meaning, but 1% could be there to chomoka na katoto. Not forgetting the newest danger which none of us ever thought about:THE POLICE. Who tear-gases children? Surely? I still cant believe.
#95 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 7:20:30 PM

Applause Applause
Alba wrote:
I like Wangari Maathai. In fact I respect her tremendously. But Boniface Mwangi is better in my eyes.

There were numerous grotesque corruption scandals during the Kibaki era. Maathai was an MP and could have taken a stronger stance to save Kenyans. She did not.

When I think of heroic activists in Kenya, I do not think of Wangari Maathai. I think of Pio Gama Pinto first and foremost then JM Kariuki, Oginga Odinga, Koigi Wamwere, Tom Mboya, Martin Shikuku and Masinde Muliro............

These guys took very brave stances against regimes at a time when opposing the ruling party was at the very least political suicide and at worst it was real suicide.

Applause Applause
#96 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 7:23:19 PM

whether we like him or not boniface stood for what is right, and we as kenyans should be here hating him, he is a true patriot unlike some of you in wazua, who hide behind tribes and class.
Alba
#97 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 8:00:19 PM

Clearly some people here like have never heard of the Soweto student uprising that mostly consisted of primary and secondary school students. It played a key role in opening the eyes of the world towards apartheid. At least google or go watch the movie "sarafina". It was based on the soweto student uprising. Fighting for your rights is not disrespect. This could be a turning point for the menace that is land grabbing. Kenyans should now start to fight back. If your land is fenced off, fight back.
waruguru
#98 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 8:13:36 PM

Alba wrote:
Clearly some people here like have never heard of the Soweto student uprising that mostly consisted of primary and secondary school students. It played a key role in opening the eyes of the world towards apartheid. At least google or go watch the movie "sarafina". It was based on the soweto student uprising. Fighting for your rights is not disrespect. This could be a turning point for the menace that is land grabbing. Kenyans should now start to fight back. If your land is fenced off, fight back.

Genuine question: Some people here like who?

There's something we Kenyans do that I find a little annoying and that I believe is a huge contribution to the nation's issues. It is the whole "Even in America" thing. Birmingham is not Nairobi, and for those trying to compare this to Soweto, it's an entirely different situation and a different context. We need to learn to solve our issues as Kenyans, not blindly do things because Obama or somebody in Birmingham or South Africa did the same thing. Alba, why didn't you go out there and get teargassed and sent to hospital, pray tell?

There is a difference between "fight back" and "use/tell/incite children to 'fight back' [in this Boniface Mwangi sense]".

@kyt: It is more than possible to disagree with someone without hating him/her.
Alba
#99 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 8:40:14 PM

Waruguru
Yes I was referring specifically to you among others !
As to why I was not there. Believe me if I was anywhere near Nairobi I might have been there. In my heyday I participated in my fair share of pro-democracy protests.

And yes, Kenyans will not blindly follow whatever other countries do. But we must learn from the positive and negative experiences of other countries.

Perhaps it will take this important action by primary school students to make Kenyans wake up, and stop being tribal sycophants and say enough is enough with corruption and land grabbing. people will say "If primary school students have enough conviction to fight land grabbing then why am I still a tribal sycophant?"

This is similar to what happened in the Soweto student uprising. Thousands were inspired by the action of the students.
#100 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 9:03:17 PM

Uhuru was absent. Ruto absent. Kidero absent. Sonko absent. Shebesh absent. Ngilu absent. Swazuri absent. ....these kids were on their own... the officials have only come out after the success of the kids...this wasnt an ordinary matter...
12 Pages«<89101112>