wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Startimes Kenya
davySmith
#1 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 4:38:41 PM

A warning if you are deciding to buy a Startimes decoder as I bought one from their roadshow mid December 2014 and their agent informed me in front of six witnesses in my shop that I would have two months viewing before I had to buy more boquets which was completely false as I never even received a full months viewing before they cut me off. I called their so called hotline four times yesterday only for them trying to bluff me, I asked to speak to a manager or somebody more higher up to no avail. I again called them this morning and was assured that a manager would call me within a few minutes but more than seven hours later no return call and have chased them up twice chasing them up again to no avail.
Chaka
#2 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 4:45:40 PM

I guess these guys think they have too many customers..?With the competition all over,I won't be surprised to see them close shop at some stage..
#3 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 5:01:05 PM

Star Times and Gotv to be sued by Nation, Citizen, KTN and Qtv for showing their content illegally. Buyer be ware!

Their words (KTN et. al) not mine.
Caveman
#4 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 10:16:41 PM

I have been quick to tell members to promote Jolini free to air set top box. It is the best bet for now. No monthly payments and all local channels are free forever.
#5 Posted : Monday, January 19, 2015 10:53:42 PM

Caveman wrote:
I have been quick to tell members to promote Jolini free to air set top box. It is the best bet for now. No monthly payments and all local channels are free forever.

Sasa hiyo ni gani tena???

I am not buying a set top box any time soon but if I was I would buy Bamba TV. I have heard them advertising 50 plus free channels including all free to air channels free for life. And I would put my bets on Radio Africa who own Bamba TV because they are a huge brand and have a name to protect. Second option would be the set top box being brought in by the Citizen Nation KTN consortium.

But sijui Jolini, Star Times, Gotv bla bla bla. Never ever! But the good thing is that I don't need to buy a set top box so this is not part of my problems. I am just a casual observer. I will just be reading about Wazuan's experiences.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 10:36:29 AM

Caveman wrote:

I am not buying a set top box any time soon but if I was I would buy Bamba TV. I have heard them advertising 50 plus free channels including all free to air channels free for life. And I would put my bets on Radio Africa who own Bamba TV because they are a huge brand and have a name to protect. Second option would be the set top box being brought in by the Citizen Nation KTN consortium.

But sijui Jolini, Star Times, Gotv bla bla bla. Never ever! But the good thing is that I don't need to buy a set top box so this is not part of my problems. I am just a casual observer. I will just be reading about Wazuan's experiences.

talking about brands, gotv is owned by a bigger brand than even bamba, sema tu unaweza taka ku promote local channels.
but a safer bet is with the independent settop boxes ka akina jolini, especially if you are only after the fta stuff, if you want paid content, I would gladly stick with gotv or better still just install gotv's bigger brother dstv.

lakini to each his own
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 10:41:41 AM

davySmith wrote:
A warning if you are deciding to buy a Startimes decoder as I bought one from their roadshow mid December 2014 and their agent informed me in front of six witnesses in my shop that I would have two months viewing before I had to buy more boquets which was completely false as I never even received a full months viewing before they cut me off. I called their so called hotline four times yesterday only for them trying to bluff me, I asked to speak to a manager or somebody more higher up to no avail. I again called them this morning and was assured that a manager would call me within a few minutes but more than seven hours later no return call and have chased them up twice chasing them up again to no avail.

1st post on Wazua???.....you must be working for a rival!!!
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 11:02:20 AM

Caveman wrote:

talking about brands, gotv is owned by a bigger brand than even bamba, sema tu unaweza taka ku promote local channels.
but a safer bet is with the independent settop boxes ka akina jolini, especially if you are only after the fta stuff, if you want paid content, I would gladly stick with gotv or better still just install gotv's bigger brother dstv.

lakini to each his own

1) GoTV is owned by Dstv, No? That is the problem right there. Guess what happens if Gotv's content is up to par? Dstv subscriptions (being more expensive) will go down drastically!!! So Dstv will do all in it's power to ensure "premium content" never finds it's way to Gotv.

2) Support local channels? Bamba has 50 plus "international" channels from what I have heard from their adverts.

And as I said I will not be buying a set top box any time soon. Not Bamba, not Startimes, not Gotv!!! I don't need one.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 12:32:23 PM

Caveman wrote:

lakini to each his own

1) GoTV is owned by Dstv, No? That is the problem right there. Guess what happens if Gotv's content is up to par? Dstv subscriptions (being more expensive) will go down drastically!!! So Dstv will do all in it's power to ensure "premium content" never finds it's way to Gotv.

2) Support local channels? Bamba has 50 plus "international" channels from what I have heard from their adverts.

And as I said I will not be buying a set top box any time soon. Not Bamba, not Startimes, not Gotv!!! I don't need one.

hapo sawa, but mimi I don't mind supporting the local guys, though their content is way too boring for me - but I wouldn't mind a scenario where as I pay for this digital migration thing, some chunk of the same finds its way to the local channels.

But I think bamba has shown good intent and of course gotv because of their connection to dstv always means they can throw in or remove some decent content - and that can only be good at least for the better part to the consumer.
Kihara joni
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 6:05:14 PM

The person who sold you the stb is the one that lied if you took time to browse the offer you will see that they clearly state that it's one month free if you opt for the highest offer or 3 months if you go for the lesser offer, also after buying you should register and get it tested, they will send you an sms confirming your details and the duration of your offer same for gotv.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, January 21, 2015 9:42:47 AM

Caveman wrote:

At some point, will you be in a position to share how much your sales increased courtesy of Wazua?

Just out of interest....