Langata Road Primary Playground
Ms Mkenya wrote:I was quite mad about the use of these children. That and then the tear gas used on them. Surely. As their teachers went MIA. What do you mean use of children? The greatest stakeholder in a school is a pupil. Let us try to imagine what the children saw when they reported to school on Monday morning. Their beloved school raped and divided by a weak, stupid wall. Maybe they got moral support of the teachers, some parents and activists. That should not detract us from the fact that the children were outraged and that was clearly evident. They were attacked in their own compound where police manned the gates as they reported to school. All the blame should be on the grabbers and trigger happy policemen, trying to shift blame to the kids is joining the other team in supporting impunity!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Ms Mkenya wrote:I was quite mad about the use of these children. That and then the tear gas used on them. Surely. As their teachers went MIA. You need some eye glasses my dear.... 
alma wrote:Sometimes commenting on gov't issues can be tiring. Lakini leo Kenya tumejaribu.
I still can't believe that anyone can even try to twist this story ati blaming the kids.
They are children godamnit. Protect them and arrest Boniface if you have to.
But teargas? A child? I'm traumatised watching these images.
There is something seriously wrong with our police force. Yaani the only way they could restrain this boy was through tear gas? All those taxpayers equipment against a small piece of wood? We need prayers.
washiku wrote:Muriel wrote:Siringi wrote:Swenani wrote:Makosa imefanyika tufanye nini sasa? Apologize promote the police officer who acted with restraint after kugonga and not using his gun in reiteration  Bw. Nkaissery amefanya jambo la busara kabisa. Not that all should now be swept under the carpet. His presence there will be etched on those young minds more permanently and in a more pleasant fashion than the teargas. Like I did of the mayor. It really doesn't take that much to create and be a pleasant, assuaging memory to a child. This is very nice. Now Uhuru should give them a surprise visit like the ones he usually does to those State House Girls. It indeed will be even more nice. The creation of better memories must not be downplayed. Character begins at the thoughts, it's said. What better way to add another block to the building of a character of justice, law and order than by the symbols of those values affirming 'visible' unity with a (young) impressionable mind especially after it has shown it is alive to the idea of fairness and justice?
Now the pupils can go write the composition of their first day is school! Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Swenani wrote:kysse wrote:No one here would have sent their kids to school that day. Talking is easy. Kids were in the wrong place -battle field, fighting a good cause.
This is kenya where protests could mean death. Our activists and cops are very primitive during protests. A protest cannot be without teargas, blood, injuries or death. Knowing that Why would I allow my child to go? I care too much, to let them fight what I can fight.
Its better if Adults became heroes for the kids. Not kids becoming heroes for adults. Take the battle front if you so much care.
It's a sickening kind of heroism, when kids fight for society's right, almost sadistic. Nothing to applaud.
So how will they teach these kids lessons on conflict resolution without justifying violence?
Well its a sick uncivilised society, mtoto umleavyo.. tick tock 20 yrs later. It was not a protest/demonstration;Based on my understanding there was no violence used apart from the use of force and tear gas by rogue "activists" Does it mean that when you take away a pencil,book,food from a kid, they should not protest but leave it to adults to protest on their behalf? I mentioned somewhere that it was dangerous for kids to be bringing down walls and fences nikaambiwa I am blaming the kids. throwing tear gas to kids is a cowardly and brutal act that ought to be condemned and punished in the strictest way possible but we are so partisan that if one posts a different take, one is seen as supporting the other camp - but I am with @kysse argument on this - its way to dangerous to send kids to such kind of scenarios, I myself would never even think of sending or even just seeing my kid in such. what was more worrying, I notice there was a big traffic build up in the area, the grown ups in the cars just watched as the kids protested and were very quick to snap photos and post tweets of outrage in the safety of their cars. I don't think we are at the desperation levels of say apartheid south africa, where every one including kids were called upon to take part in the struggle, mambo ingine si ya watoto.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 1,063 Location: Kenya
Ms Mkenya wrote:I was quite mad about the use of these children. That and then the tear gas used on them. Surely. As their teachers went MIA. ...Better to Remain Silent and Be Thought a Fool than to Speak and Remove All Doubt.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 1,063 Location: Kenya
Othelo wrote:Now the pupils can go write the composition of their first day is school! ...ahahahah...Not long you will see a hilarious one doing the rounds!!!
jaggernaut wrote:harrydre wrote:ecstacy wrote:murchr wrote:^^^HOGWASH why do we have the courts and commissions prescribed by the constitution if the nobLe thing to do is to take matters in our hands? What if a kid died in this anarchy, would we be saying he died fighting corruption? Kwani this is the first piece of land to be grabbed? Nonsense Yerp, guardians talking like that. Total upus. Meanwhile, Bonface Mwangi can now email his amended 2015 demo budget to his handlers. No problem, just leave children out of the fundraising dirt. As for land, we still need to know who 'sold' the land?.. land grab or no land grab, it was stupid and risky to use the kids in the demo. that wall collapsing next to kids sent shivers down my spine. Their safety should have been the priority. Meanwhile, none of Mwangi's kids were there! So Mr. Jumbiree-robot how come you never had similar epileptic-like shivers pulsating down your spine when Waititu and Sonko led children and parents in reclaiming grabbed school land in eastlands, and tearing down walls and fences? Why blame the children for standing up for their rights and not blame the grabber for land theft, and the cops for using excessive force? Kuwa Mpole bro. Sasa Matusi Ya nini...He is not in support of land grabbing, or the attack on Kids. Everyone has Condemned the actions by our boys in blue. He is Just saying that it was wrong for mature People to Incite Kids and put them at the forefront in a demonstration. BTW You argue like you would allow your Kid to Join the next demo in town... Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God..
Runner wrote:ecstacy wrote:Kenyans voted in a progressive 2010 constitution that strengthened institutions so as to free them from Executive interference. Seems some of us are still hang over in that past, quite ironic given their Dark Days oh KANU 90s mantra! Let the independent institutions do their work. "Let the independent institutions do their work" indeed. Please take a drive along the Southern Bypass and see the development continuing on that disputed 134-acre piece of land in Karen despite a court order halting any developments on the same until the case is determined. All this going on under the watch of police and security firms who are supposed to help enforce the same court order. The same thing would very well have happened with this school playground if today's demonstration did not take place. Yes, this is what is happening as we are being lectured here about institutions, commissions, courts etc bla bla bla..
Langata Road Primary Playground