61 Pages«<2223242526>»
Langata Road Primary Playground
#231 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 8:34:06 AM

Muriel wrote:
Am wrote:
@ Jagger, would it please you to watch your 10 yr old engage in running battles with the kenya police and teargas in the mix? God forbid. Why not me who is paying for use of that field ? Where would I be hiding? don't use kids to fight their battles, we fight for them not them for us because they don't comprehend the consequences.
I shudder at the thought, of kids taking to the streets, because WE adults have failed!! Let kids be kids, dont teach them war and violence as a way to settle disputes.

This ought to have been a Parents, teachers and activists Protest because Kids get caught up in euphoria and excitement.
Infact they were excited by lack of studies today and not field matters.
No matter what, let kids be kids not small bonifaces.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

Dada Umeongea Kweli.

We are too hypocritical..I wonder if those yapping here would allow or encourage their own Kid to take part in such a demo. They would most likely make sure they miss school. No one is in support of police actions or anyone to tear gas Kids...But The matter is in court and we should allow for Institutions to do their Jobs, not Instill Mob MAPAMBANO mentality to 10 year olds!!!

Its unfair and unreasonable to make a blanket accusatory statement that cunningly starts 'We are too hypocritical ,,,'

I am a law abiding citizen and I will speak from experience.

I was also, once upon a time, in such a roughly similar situation. We were the 'grabbers' because our school needed expansion and the administrators struck a deal with the then municipal council to acquire some few tens of square metres of public land. Officers from the nearby AP camp thought it was not a good idea and brought down the chainlink fence the school had erected. We the students witnessed the altercation between the officers and the teachers, saw the demarcation being brought down and on our own left class and went to 'protect our school'. No one 'allowed' us to do that. Our spontaneous actions brought the matter to the fore of the town and the mayor sided with us and that settled the matter. Today when I walk past that school, I remember that day and when I see the pupils of today enjoying the space that we 'fought for' and were also teargassed for let me just say you cannot feel more human.

Therefore, I cannot but feel wounded when you make such a snide remark about 'hypocrisy'.

They are the hypocrites!
#232 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 8:46:19 AM

What kind of person would walk into a school and fence off the playfield and claim it is his land? Then you have a group of people saying that the grabber should be given a chance to be heard by a court of law for him to justify the theft? No wonder we are a banana republic.
#233 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 9:02:39 AM

'Activist' with a teargas canister is taking protests to the highest levels. And those children being teargased inside the school itself by another 'activist' in police uniform.

10m wall ........... smile smile smile
#234 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 9:06:07 AM

What kind of person would walk into a school and fence off the playfield and claim it is his land? Then you have a group of people saying that the grabber should be given a chance to be heard by a court of law for him to justify the theft? No wonder we are a banana republic.

think

#235 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 9:31:15 AM

think

DITTO, lakini wait for @Alma and the lawyers to see this. I hold the same belief for murderers, rapists and terrorists caught in the act. LIQUIDATE
#236 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 9:31:22 AM

No one here would have sent their kids to school that day. Talking is easy. Kids were in the wrong place -battle field, fighting a good cause.

This is kenya where protests could mean death.
Our activists and cops are very primitive during protests. A protest cannot be without teargas, blood, injuries or death. Knowing that Why would I allow my child to go? I care too much, to let them fight what I can fight.

Its better if Adults became heroes for the kids. Not kids becoming heroes for adults. Take the battle front if you so much care.

It's a sickening kind of heroism, when kids fight for society's right, almost sadistic. Nothing to applaud.

So how will they teach these kids lessons on conflict resolution without justifying violence?

Well its a sick uncivilised society, mtoto umleavyo.. tick tock 20 yrs later.
#237 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 9:44:30 AM

Makosa imefanyika tufanye nini sasa?

Apologize

promote the police officer who acted with restraint after kugonga and not using his gun in reiteration

#238 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 9:53:18 AM

No one here would have sent their kids to school that day. Talking is easy. Kids were in the wrong place -battle field, fighting a good cause.

This is kenya where protests could mean death.
Our activists and cops are very primitive during protests. A protest cannot be without teargas, blood, injuries or death. Knowing that Why would I allow my child to go? I care too much, to let them fight what I can fight.

Its better if Adults became heroes for the kids. Not kids becoming heroes for adults. Take the battle front if you so much care.

It's a sickening kind of heroism, when kids fight for society's right, almost sadistic. Nothing to applaud.

So how will they teach these kids lessons on conflict resolution without justifying violence?

Well its a sick uncivilised society, mtoto umleavyo.. tick tock 20 yrs later.

It was not a protest/demonstration;Based on my understanding there was no violence used apart from the use of force and tear gas by rogue "activists"

Does it mean that when you take away a pencil,book,food from a kid, they should not protest but leave it to adults to protest on their behalf?
#239 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 9:56:31 AM

Siringi wrote:

Apologize

promote the police officer who acted with restraint after kugonga and not using his gun in reiteration

Nkaissery gives developer 24hr ultimatum on school land

See, without those demonstration/protest fromthe kids and boniface, these ultimatums would not have been issued
Muriel
#240 Posted : Tuesday, January 20, 2015 9:56:53 AM

Siringi wrote:

Apologize

Bw. Nkaissery amefanya jambo la busara kabisa. Not that all should now be swept under the carpet.

His presence there will be etched on those young minds more permanently and in a more pleasant fashion than the teargas. Like I did of the mayor.

It really doesn't take that much to create and be a pleasant, assuaging memory to a child.

61 Pages«<2223242526>»