IRB 7s Wellington.
#1 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 6:32:21 AM

Kenya 15 Tonga 7.smile
Kenya 24 USA 7smile
Kenya ? England ?Pray

Kenyans looked a little rusty against hardworking Tonga and USA.I hope they see off the Twickenham lads.
DonBen
#2 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 7:13:12 AM

@Njunge

Chillax. Mambo bado. If if Kenya lose to England, they already have qualified for the quarters, which means their worry should be to beat whoever they are drawn against in the quarters. And it does not look good! Sample this:

If they beat England, and top pool then they most likely will meet SAMOA, currently ranked above them in IRB World 7s Series, and an extremely physical team that any of the tops sides dread to meet.

If they lose to England, and are 2nd in their pool they meet Argentina, currently ranked the same as Kenya in the IRB World 7s Series standings. Argentina are beatable!

However, neither of these two team are a walkover and in fact, my advise to Coach Benjamin would be that it is in their interest to 'lose' to England in the preliminaries and cleverly avoid Samoa in the quarters - by trying out the reserve players and giving them experience at top level - as the Injeras and Asegos are rested in preparation to meet big boys in the Semis.

Losing to Samoa in the quarters means they are knocked out of the tournament....and translates to a reversal and a loss of points in the overall standings since they managed a semi final placing in the last tournament.. I am sure Benja does not want this.

What say you?

#3 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 7:34:48 AM

DonBen,
That would be a good strategy......even though it means our boys shiver when they face tough and physical teams......I would wish they win against England and face those Samoans......Isn't it time to prove we can beat any side,physical or otherwise??...game comes on at 11.12AM Kenyan time.
Ric dees
#4 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 7:51:24 AM

@Donben

Samoa is beatable been there done it (mean our team) i actually would be wary of Argentina than Samoa. You illustrate they are a physical side, in 7's this really does not count for much, it's a game that you exploit spaces, hence the pace is needed that's why we are good.

I think kenya has come of age and would not shy away any of the top teams as they are beatabl.IMHO it's only the hosts currently that would give us a run for our money.Even SA in my books is not a threat, we were to beat them in George was it not for some dubious refereing.

@Njunge

Is there a link i can stream live on the net? can't seem to see any.

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
#5 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 7:56:36 AM

Eee-eeeh guys. Good stuff. Keep us posted. In the office and for now all I can do is follow scores on Wazua.
#6 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 7:57:10 AM

...another Rugby weekend...off to watch the mboysi hammer England... Hio kazi ikae....
#7 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 7:59:30 AM

Muganda; go to http://www.irb.com/irbse...=3/fixturesresults.html and get all the scores
#8 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 8:07:57 AM

@Magigi thanks. What's the delay in updating though? But here I get it with passion, shouts, and some comradary!!!
DonBen
#9 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 8:20:15 AM

@Rick dees, Samoa are definitely better than Kenya, perhaps only second to Fiji in open play. In terms of physical play, they are better maulers and better tacklers. They are also physically bigger. I am not belittling Argentina in anyway, perhaps they will pose a bigger challenge. My point is to REST the players and save them for the battle ahead.

My take is that Kenya will need intelligence to beat this team, and others so as to win this tournament. That intelligence means resting your first 7 since you ALREADY qualified for the next round. Resting them means you avoid unforeseen injuries, etc to the main players. The games might be 14 minutes only, but the level of fitness and stamina required is just too much. Believe me, I have been there!

If you have been following these games, you'll have noticed Kenya's main weakness is at the rucks, where they lose possession to more technically superior teams. Without the ball, you cannot score tries thus you cannot win games.

In any case, the ultimate price is not reaching semis, or quarters but WINNING the finals. This is something you cannot achieve if your team is knocked out in the quarters.

You can follow the live blogging at this link:

Live blog: Wellington Sevens
#10 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 8:35:21 AM

If there was a stock dependant on Mariga's composed,confident debute yesterday and the early morning news of Kenya beating Tonga n USA.. i swear only the 10% rule would have stopped its overshoot..

Its now 1130hrs.. whats the latest score.. should i sell should i hold should i buy....????
WHAT ARE THE SCORES?????
#11 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 8:39:26 AM

@poundfoolish.........we have lost
#12 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 8:48:50 AM

England 24 Kenya 10. One Kenyan player injured in the match.
#13 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 9:20:05 AM

Down but not out....Ayimba played DonBen's strategy?...(Or is DonBen Ayimba??..(lol).....Argentina here we come.!
#14 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 9:29:25 AM

....uuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuwi....!!!
Kenya vs Samoa. People let us get down on our knees and pray!!!
#15 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 9:43:05 AM

ah ..and England Vs Canada..

somebody didnt check out his sources well enough.. now we offered the wrong prayers...
Nways Kigua Mbele.. its not news till we beat the 'unbeatables'
the HARDER they come the HARDER they should fall..
#16 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 9:43:42 AM

Fiji 38 Australia 7
New Zealand 19 SA 7
#17 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 9:44:18 AM

...Kayange (tall one ) landed badly on his neck. Hope he was not hurt ...
#18 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 10:35:01 AM

DonBen, ulidanganya Ayimba, kwani yu dint know he a wazuan?????
Wacha Samoa ikuje, we must stop them!!!!!
DonBen
#19 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 11:20:03 AM

I thought Argentina would only lose to Samoa in their pool, lakini it seems Canada caused an upset.I think the DAY2 matches were re-drawn. It all matters on how the results turn out.

Iwe liwalo, Ayimba and his boys must up their game.

You must have seen how they started strongly in the england game, then faded off after a few bangs here and there. By the time the game was ending, the energy was gone and they were struggling. Vijana itabidi warudi gym na watie ugali ndani.

If Hayange will be unable to play, the Kenya's goose is cooked. He is very inspiring to the rest of the players and wins most of their line-out throw-in balls. Lakini, that is rugby: A contacts game, and a man's game.

Let's wait for kesho then. Meanwhile, here's a better live text coverage for those who wont be able to watch live:

http://ur7s.com/live_text
Ric dees
#20 Posted : Friday, February 05, 2010 12:00:02 PM

@Donben true what you said, if i may add, Kenya has always had sub par fitness levels, lack of tactical awareness (both players and coach) and defence (tackling) this are the only things we lack.

This has been exposed time and time again and i will not be surprised if Samoa do not wear us down on the rack and mauling.We need to be able to change the game that suits our style and it's only this way can we be able to win some of this tournaments.

KRFUEA and Richard Omwela, how about organising some clinics for Benja and his technical bench. they are always having them in SA and this would go a long way in improving our game.

However Kudos Benja and team as usual you have done us proud hope Titus Kasuve and the other clowns are watching......

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.