mwenza wrote:
I can see many road overlappers and guys who skip the traffic lights here in wazua opposing such a move.

A law is meant to be a deterrent!

Exactly, not a cash collection machine, otherwise we would be better off including collection targets for the cops in the constitution. smile

Under the estimated revenue In our national budget, there is always an item called " expected income from court fines"

Wacha uongo....show me one budget that has that!

Bwana Fishmonger.... Take it from me this is a fact and am very serious. Am willing to bet 10K and we can even make kysse the custodian of the bet.

Take it authoritatively from me that inthe National budget, we do not have an income line called"court fines",The government only factors in income called "appropriations" which is internal income generated by the parent ministry either through fines, payment for services and goods,divedends etc.Its only the Judiciary which budgets for court fines as an income item

PS.I'm not a gambler

Semantics kijana.... If you agree that in the National Budget court fines are factored in as part of expected income accruing from A-in-A, then what's the argument

about?

hapo nimesoma, I am very green on this finance education thing - so is there a target figure for the fines, just like kra has targets.

I think we would be better off opening up shops at police stations where one can go pay for a service called traffic offence and on that particular day just break any traffic rule covered by the payment.
that would ensure the cops time is not wasted arresting guys and the courts would free up the time taken by the magistrates to listen to all those cases.

musiniambie the above already exists somewhere in the constitution. smile

Yes @nakujua there is an estimated target based on the collections from the previous years.(of coz the entire budget is basically an estimate)

You see the national budget is normally a summation of budget estimates from various line ministries. So the Judiciary department can estimate with a certain degree of accuracy the amount of A-in-A that they expect to collect from court fines charged to people for various offences.
This estimate is passed on to the budget office for compilation and inclusion in the national budget proposal under revenue accruing from A-in-A, of coz the rest of the revenue is collected from taxation.
And yes, it's constitutional to charge and collect court fines. Or are you asking whether it's constitutional to anticipate that people will commit crime and various misdemeanors?

The initial argument here was that,Laws are not created to bring in revenue(cash collection machine) but rather to deter!
4 Pages«<234