Investor
Economy
Why I'm Still Paying 110/= Plus at the Pump
Rank: Member Joined: 10/26/2011 Posts: 181 Location: Nairobi
It is now $1.88/gallon in my neighbourhood, translating to Ksh 42/litre. The price drops have been fast and furious! First time in history we can save the human race by laying in front of the TV and doing nothing. Let's not screw it up
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
Apricot wrote:It is now $1.88/gallon in my neighbourhood, translating to Ksh 42/litre. The price drops have been fast and furious! DAMN THIS. Yaani, in the US of A, 1 litre of gasoline/petrol is cheaper than a 05 Litre packet of Milk in Kenya. Even cheaper than a litre of bottled water!!!!!! Wololo. Wololo. Wololo MAYOOOOOO! Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Super petrol down by KES9.13, diesel by KES7.50and Kersone down by KES 5.78 If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/21/2010 Posts: 6,183 Location: nairobi
Now I wish we had brains as a country to start buying and storing stocks which can last for even 5 years,when the reverse comes some countries which have good storage facilities will become rich without their own oil wells "Don't let the fear of losing be greater than the excitement of winning."
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
mlennyma wrote:Now I wish we had brains as a country to start buying and storing stocks which can last for even 5 years Unfortunately we don't have those?! You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
Based on the above figures by ERC and considering that its only the cost of product which is fluctuating, We get a refined equivalent barrel of oil at mombasa at the price of US $ 85 as at Dec2015.Does this mean that refining and transportation of oilto mombasa costs US$ 30+? P.s a barrel has 158 litres If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:Based on the above figures by ERC, We get a refined equivalent barrel of oil at mombasa at the price of US $ 85.Does this mean that refining and transportation of oilto mombasa costs US$ 30+? P.s a barrel has 158 litres Of course we are still being screwed but it is less of being screwed as compared to last month. Lesser evil. I want my petrol at Kshs. 75/= though!!! Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
Quote:Due to the continued reduction in fuel prices we as the matatu owners have decided to reduce fares by 10/= for short distances like within Nairobi and the 20% in all the other routes. This new fares take effect from today midnight. All our members have been urged to adhere to the new lower fares and members of the public should report any matatu crew that doesn't reduce their fares. Oh, I forgot to mention. The above falls under "Things you will never hear!". Never count on making a good sale. Have the purchase price be so attractive that even a mediocre sale gives good returns.
MaichBlack wrote:Swenani wrote:Based on the above figures by ERC, We get a refined equivalent barrel of oil at mombasa at the price of US $ 85.Does this mean that refining and transportation of oilto mombasa costs US$ 30+? P.s a barrel has 158 litres Of course we are still being screwed but it is less of being screwed as compared to last month. Lesser evil. I want my petrol at Kshs. 75/= though!!! our last month prices are Tanzania's this month prices
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/16/2014 Posts: 1,420 Location: Bohemian Grove
Saudi production cost is only $2/barrel so even if oil dropped to $10 they would still be making 500% returns. This price war can go down to the wire and the Saudis will be the last men standing.
MaichBlack wrote:Swenani wrote:Based on the above figures by ERC, We get a refined equivalent barrel of oil at mombasa at the price of US $ 85.Does this mean that refining and transportation of oilto mombasa costs US$ 30+? P.s a barrel has 158 litres Of course we are still being screwed but it is less of being screwed as compared to last month. Lesser evil. I want my petrol at Kshs. 75/= though!!! our last month prices are Tanzania's this month prices then aren't you comparing prices of crude and petrol directly, a barrel of crude once processed doesn't give a barrel of petrol
Rank: Member Joined: 7/25/2008 Posts: 80 Location: Nairobi, kenya, eagles plain estate
New proposed pump prices Super Diesel Mombasa 89.57 80.06 Nairobi 92.88 83.35 Embu 94.10 84.57 Nyeri 94.43 84.91 Mtito. A 95.53 86.00 Nakuru 93.61 84.26 Molo 93.76 84.42 Naivasha 93.96 84.61 Bomet 95.53 86.16 Eldoret 94.75 88.42 Kisumu 94.82 85.48 Kisii 95.77 86.42
still high. crude has fallen over half! i.am.back!!!!
how long will the prices last?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/2/2006 Posts: 1,206 Location: Nairobi
harrydre wrote:still high. crude has fallen over half! ERC tries to give an explanation on Page 27 of the DN. Basically: International crude down by 57% but super petrol down by 20%. Reasons: (1)Taxes & levies (2)Distribution costs (3)Supplier margins On the above, add the fact that imports are $ based & its imported already refined. Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
bird_man wrote:harrydre wrote:still high. crude has fallen over half! ERC tries to give an explanation on Page 27 of the DN. Basically: International crude down by 57% but super petrol down by 20%. Reasons: (1)Taxes & levies (2)Distribution costs (3)Supplier margins On the above, add the fact that imports are $ based & its imported already refined. plus the time lag aspect, this batch was bought using november prices
shocks wrote:MaichBlack wrote:Swenani wrote:Based on the above figures by ERC, We get a refined equivalent barrel of oil at mombasa at the price of US $ 85.Does this mean that refining and transportation of oilto mombasa costs US$ 30+? P.s a barrel has 158 litres Of course we are still being screwed but it is less of being screwed as compared to last month. Lesser evil. I want my petrol at Kshs. 75/= though!!! our last month prices are Tanzania's this month prices then aren't you comparing prices of crude and petrol directly, a barrel of crude once processed doesn't give a barrel of petrol If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Simple, to enjoy lower prices, GOK must invest in modern technology of refining. Otherwise, ERC is doing a good job.
why do people like LOUD unverified remarks ? like KE is currently has most expensive fuel in EAC!!? okay.. below are the FACTS KE - KES 92.88 TZ - TZS 1955 (approx KES 102.264) UG - UGX 3650 (approx KES 115.118) Links http://marker.to/sPvGWIhttp://marker.to/L5LAhs
Investor
Economy
Why I'm Still Paying 110/= Plus at the Pump