Fidel Odinga RIP
harrydre wrote:do it in a civilized manner and in your mother tongue and nobody will care. Have you ever seen people from central throwing things at Karua? There is also need to move on with the times, same way you no longer live in the huts wearing animal skins. I have seen them refuse to serve Raila in a restaurant by chasing him away!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Quote:This funeral demonstrated many conflicts. In fact, this funeral was Kenya properly reflected.
Fidel and his friends' lifestyle does not belong to any ethnicity. Basically, they live a rich-kid-culture. Fidel had an interest in the Luo in a workmanlike way: the-Luo-are-our-biashara sort of way. In fact, it was an emerging interest as he begun to line his political ducks.
Then there is RAO, a politician's politician. His politics is rough-hewn but his social class is, and has always been, the Uhuru group of people - the moneyed elite. They like the same things. Their daily and vacation lives are roughly the same. They talk a hell of alot more than the public know. He criss crosses between Luo and urban values.
Then, there is the middle class and below Luo supporters of RAO. This too is a mixed lot with varying value systems, on different points of the Luocentric scale. Their expression of what is Luo culture, and values, varies a great deal person to person, family to family, clan to clan, region to region etc.
If you add to that, that Odinga is a prominent Kenyan name (outside the Luo community) and known internationally too (I was amused when the Cuban government had to release a statement because #RIPFidel was trending...), then there is a hotch-potch of values melting pot at Bondo.
In an environment like this, the funeral occasion meant different things to different people. RAO was basically apologizing to his and his kids' guys - a rich multi-ethnic class, who for the most part, don't understand, classic Luo grieving. They have no understanding of the rituals, symbols and/or expressions. No problem with that.
Alternately, to those that understand the culture, and in reality, there's nothing to apologize for the slightly exuberant mourning style. It is a simple continuation of what the traditional Luo holds important - forthright, direct, unapologetic. The rules for funeral visitors are different from day to day ones. In fact, the culture allows people to come mourn and leave without even identifying themselves...
As a matter of fact, a 'good' funeral keeps tongues wagging. Fidel's has done that abundantly. His Luo side would be happy... ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:harrydre wrote:do it in a civilized manner and in your mother tongue and nobody will care. Have you ever seen people from central throwing things at Karua? There is also need to move on with the times, same way you no longer live in the huts wearing animal skins. I have seen them refuse to serve Raila in a restaurant by chasing him away!!! That was one off, 10 plus years ago. Have never heard any other incidence ever since. @Harrydre was spot on... Baba was at JJ's Funeral recently, and has attended several other Functions before. No barbaric Incidences seen even when he is campaigning!!. Its simple, these imbeciles who throw stones, plastic bottles and chairs/ heckle in Funerals Must grow up. Its sickening. Big Problem is their leaders themselves are worse and do same every weekend in funerals...I wonder what was going through Dr. Oburu and Cousin's mind when Rosemary Odinga addressed mourners...awesome lady! Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God..
Am wrote:McReggae wrote:harrydre wrote:do it in a civilized manner and in your mother tongue and nobody will care. Have you ever seen people from central throwing things at Karua? There is also need to move on with the times, same way you no longer live in the huts wearing animal skins. I have seen them refuse to serve Raila in a restaurant by chasing him away!!! That was one off, 10 plus years ago. Have never heard any other incidence ever since. @Harrydre was spot on... Its simple, these imbeciles who throw stones, plastic bottles and chairs/ heckle should grow up. Problem is their leaders themselves are worse..I wonder what was going through Dr. Oburu and Cousin's mind when Rosemary Odinga addressed mourners. Was this also 10 years ago?....and this? Heckling is not confined to Luo Nyanza, only that they are special people in Kenya hence scrutinized than anybody else, No sweat, tumezoea!!!!..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
you have also left out other incidents like:- There was heckling at the following meetings a 2nk sacco meeting , giathenge coffee factory AGM , embu town hall, Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
mpobiz wrote: you have also left out other incidents like:- There was heckling at the following meetings a 2nk sacco meeting , giathenge coffee factory AGM , embu town hall, The Star didn't report those incidents.. Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God..
@Mc you are trying too hard to justify! It is clear there is a problem on Luo Nyanza and these are some of the things you should accept and move on. The man who marries a beautiful woman, and the farmer who grows corn by the roadside have the same problem
....and tell me where there is no problem sir, I have seen places where a prominent person can't even be buried coz family are fighting over wealth, stereotyping mtaacha!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:....and tell me where there is no problem sir, I have seen places where a prominent person can't even be buried coz family are fighting over wealth, stereotyping mtaacha!!! If this is what they want, as a Luo I am ready to hit back!!!!!!!!!!!
What is the problem? You might think the hump on a donkey is excess laggage but the donkey don't think so! We should realize that we can't be the same, we are diversified and that is how societies are created.If we were the same,we wouldn't be having societies since we will be self sustaining and wouldn't need each other! If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Swenani wrote:What is the problem? You might think the hump on a donkey is excess laggage but the donkey don't think so! We should realize that we can't be the same, we are diversified and that is how societies are created.If we were the same,we wouldn't be having societies since we will be self sustaining and wouldn't need each other! If we were the same Luo Nyanza would be no more like other places........ just saying for a friend! Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Omiyo giwewa mos!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
it's idiotic to heckle a messenger at a funeral, it's idiotic to abuse your dead kid ex wife, it's idiotic to refuse serving an individual based on tribe and it's idiotic to fight and harm each other over your parents property. hata ka ni your beloved kabila, ka mbovu, ni mbovu.
nakujua wrote:it's idiotic to heckle a messenger at a funeral, it's idiotic to abuse your dead kid ex wife, it's idiotic to refuse serving an individual based on tribe and it's idiotic to fight and harm each other over your parents property. hata ka ni your beloved kabila, ka mbovu, ni mbovu. It's idiotic to remain fixated in ignorance!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/7/2009 Posts: 1,032 Location: Sea of Transquility
Links“small step for man”
The sign looks very well done!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
I guess we should now close this thread. Fare thee well Makarios.
Rank: Member Joined: 7/20/2011 Posts: 161 Location: nairobi
McReggae wrote:....and tell me where there is no problem sir, I have seen places where a prominent person can't even be buried coz family are fighting over wealth, stereotyping mtaacha!!! @Mc I agree. It is not a problem. Luo people are generally very outspoken. If Raila and his Family were ok with the proceeding, then all is fine and dandy. You cannot after all make everyone happy. On the stereotyping part...... I always wonder, kwani we dont have Luo/Kikuyu friends and family? May we grow balls! Jinga sisi! Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
Chapter closed. Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
Fidel Odinga RIP