wazua Tue, Sep 24, 2024
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

4 Pages«<234
Unprofessional ISPs
madhaquer
#61 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 11:36:21 AM

@holycow there is a hard reset button that resets the damn thing to default in less than two minutes.
Again a soho should be least worried about the network devices and focus on securing the boxes that hold critical data.
nakujua
#62 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 12:11:44 PM

Speculz wrote:
nakujua wrote:
Speculz wrote:
nakujua wrote:
Speculz wrote:
nakujua wrote:
I think I am looking at the current scenario from a biased point of view, yes it's good to secure your router - lakini the alarm created is needless, for a typical installation supporting pcs and mobile devices - there is nothing to be worried about even if by chance someone managed to log into your router, a logger can not be installed on your pc via the router nor can your files be stolen via the same.

But I am not an IT expert, so not in a position of authority to discuss access via the router, through the ftp server on the router to your pictures folder on your pc.

Actually you should be very concerned ... once someone has access to your router especially one which has vpn capability, port forwarding etc they can create havoc on your network, open back doors and all manner of horrors on your network

. Intruder is able to see all connected devices, thus can check for all running services , if a vulnerability is found they can easily push a script on your devices and that's it , next time you double click on what you think is Microsoft word ....

Lets all be responsible and just be sure to ask your installer for all your credentials and change them.

Be sure to change

1. Wifi SSID ( wireless network name ) and password ...most likely they use the same all over

2. router management credentials ( most devices come with a friendly explanation on the right that explains what each setting does )