wazua Tue, May 5, 2026

19 Pages«<23456>»
Capital Gains Tax on EQUITIES
streetwise
#31 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 9:01:45 AM

Once the players get settled psychologically things will go back to normal.

What is the difference of selling at 5% less than expected with no CGT and selling at 5% higher and paying the CGT.

Akenyan2014
#32 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:00:14 AM

streetwise wrote:

What is the difference of selling at 5% less than expected with no CGT and selling at 5% higher and paying the CGT.

The earlier pays the 'seed' to KRA, the latter assists the stocks buyer get a 5% discount
Pesa Nane
#33 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:00:21 AM

streetwise wrote:

He that sells are 5% higher and pays CGT earns more. #splittinghairs
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#34 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:05:37 AM

You needed atmost 2.5% to count your eggs before,now you need 7.5 % to count anything,its a big jump.
Pesa Nane
#35 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:06:14 AM

TheGeek wrote:

Not so fast
“A stockbroker who conducts the transfer of investment shares on behalf of a transferor shall collect and remit tax to the commissioner in accordance with section 35(5),” reads paragraph 18 of the eighth schedule.

Link is below.

Brokers obligated to collect capital gains tax, KRA says

But, but..
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Metasploit
#36 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:39:01 AM

mlennyma wrote:
You needed atmost 2.5% to count your eggs before,now you need 7.5 % to count anything,its a big jump.

CGT is on gains so its 2.5% of total cost plus 5% of gains ..how do you get your 7.5% ?

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
streetwise
#37 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:44:01 AM

HAPANA

This is the maths. If you gain 2.5% as before you will pay 5% CGT on the 2.5%.

This translates to about 0.125%, so you should be saying the your need atleast 2.625%. Simplify 2.7% is good to go
jerry
#38 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:47:59 AM

Metasploit wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

CGT is on gains so its 2.5% of total cost plus 5% of gains ..how do you get your 7.5% ?

I know of 1.82% and 2.1% for shate tranctions of >100,000/= and upto 10,000/= respectively.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
The optimist
#39 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:59:45 AM

Metasploit wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

Hii mahesabu inasumbua watu kweli.
The optimist
#40 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 11:04:31 AM

whiteowl wrote:
I sold a small chunk of my Britam shares and CGT wasn't part of the discussion. Unless kra puts a knife on my neck on Wednesday when I'm getting my cash,hii kitu silipi! How can I pay CGT when my broker doesn't have records of my buying price and I'm also suffering from a memory lapse?

Read the business daily today.
The Records are available for transactions made from 2005 onwards. For transactions made before then, the base price will be the highest price achieved before 2005. And KRA has instructed Brokers to collect CGT for Friday and Monday before making payments.
#NotSoLucky
19 Pages«<23456>»