wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

16 Pages«<23456>»
Why I'm Still Paying 110/= Plus at the Pump
#61 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 9:26:30 AM

Weaker shilling may erode gains made by falling crude oil prices

[quoteOn Monday, the shilling traded at a low of 90.79 recording a slight decline from an average of Sh90.70 on Friday. On Monday last week, the local unit exchanged at 90.57 against the dollar.

The average exchange rate is predicted to fall to about 95 units to the dollar. Around the same time in January last year, the shilling traded at Sh86.9 to the dollar.][/quote]
whiteowl
#62 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 9:59:47 AM

Crude is now below $50 and we are still getting childish explanations as to why pump prices haven't dropped. Just wait until it starts rising and you'll see what happens
Kihara joni
#63 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:04:43 AM

Even if the shilling drops to 95 per $, we still can get to maximum 80 sh at the pumps.
#64 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:14:17 AM

Kenya is a cartel shamba where the mighty supress the masses through unreasonable political loyalty.if a person who is not your tribe seeks to correct exploitation politics surface and we turn blind,let's pay for our ignorance quietly.
whiteowl
#65 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:33:25 AM

The only consolation I can get from high pump price is higher share price of KK.
#66 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 11:33:58 AM

whiteowl wrote:
The only consolation I can get from high pump price is higher share price of KK.

This is no consolation at all!!! How much do you spend on fuel per month? Per year? And on products whose price is affected by fuel? Now assume fuel is selling at 20% less compared to the current prices. That is how much would end up in your pocket. Compare this to capital gains and dividends from KK and you will see why it doesn't even come close to a consolation!
whiteowl
#67 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 11:59:09 AM

whiteowl wrote:

This is no consolation at all!!! How much do you spend on fuel per month? year? And on products whose price is affected by fuel. Now assume fuel is selling at 20% less compared to the current prices. That is how much would end up in your pocket. Compare this to capital gains and dividends from KK and you will see why it doesn't even come close to a consolation!

Well,even if I get as little as 20k gains on KK I'll be thankful because we live on the mercy of cartels.
Ash Ock
#68 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 12:22:38 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
Even if the shilling drops to 95 per $, we still can get to maximum 80 sh at the pumps.

I was in Germany over the December holidays and paid an average of €1.28 compared to July 2014 €1.57 per liter Super. Price drop of €0.29 * 112 exchange rate = KES 32.48 difference! we should correctly be paying 80bob here!
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
kiash
#69 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 12:32:27 PM

And the people who are supposed to help out in the shouting are only writing useless information about 1900 bullets. Surely

Well am paying an equivalent of 120KSH a litre .
#70 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 4:42:38 PM

Hujuma Hujuma Hujumaaaaaaa...
#71 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 6:39:16 AM

I think we are as kenyans too linient on people that we see are above us; that sometimes we tend to develop the Stockholm syndrome on most matters.
Tokyo
#72 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 8:13:45 AM

That's outright robbery. I was was paying ¥160. paid ¥126 today per liter
work to prosper
streetwise
#73 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 8:25:41 AM

My teacher told me never to miss an opportunity to increase prices.

The Kenyan case is however troubling and shameless. When we are told ooh ooh we don’t by crude , we buy refined etc. Next they will tell us the cost of air in Kenya is more than the exporting counties, hence its factored in the price and since the supply of air has not changed in quantity probably is more polluted than before, that why our fuel prices must remain high even when the world crude prices have dropped by almost 50%.
#74 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 2:44:22 PM

Our people who hold this office's are being targeted, (kenyan h.i.v)
#75 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 3:23:29 PM

Gas at the pump should not be over 70 bob currently. eRC wamelala.
#76 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 3:39:50 PM

They said a weakening shilling will erode any further reduction in prices and don't be surprised to find that this is almost the lowest we will see before the reverse upwards starts...surprisingly we are imposing taxes on foreign currency inflows in equities etc
#77 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 4:06:20 PM

Tokyo wrote:
That's outright robbery. I was was paying ¥160. paid ¥126 today per liter

What!!! Yaani fuel price in Japan is more than in Kenya!!!!!
(¥160=KES122 and ¥126 = KES96)

#78 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 4:11:55 PM

Gas at the pump should not be over 70 bob currently. Jubilee wamelala.

#79 Posted : Wednesday, January 07, 2015 8:44:14 PM

Gas at the pump should not be over 70 bob currently. Jubilee wamelala.

sawa impunity!

african coloner
#80 Posted : Thursday, January 08, 2015 12:55:11 AM

mlennyma wrote:
Kenya is a cartel shamba where the mighty supress the masses through unreasonable political loyalty.if a person who is not your tribe seeks to correct exploitation politics surface and we turn blind,let's pay for our ignorance quietly.

You are wrong on this. The oil industry is controlled by both political divides. This could be a very good opportunity for CORD to expose the goverment but they can't since their leadership is also involved in supplying of fuel.