wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

Calling Mazda Drivers
ulemsee
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 11:10:28 AM

Hi people,

I'm about to get a Mazda Axela from Japan. Since it is not a very common vehicle on our roads, I thought to ask here about the following:

- Where I can find a good, reliable and trustworthy mechanic who understands the car (or Mazdas generally)?
- Where can I find genuine parts?
- Things that I should do after getting the car. I intend to do a full service especially on the fluids, maybe upgrade its speakers... what else would you recommend?

Thanks
Some people see the glass half full. Others see it half empty.
I see a glass that's twice as big as it needs to be.
― George Carlin
#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 11:28:06 AM

Just as that nation newspaper car guy would tell you

1. any decent mechanic/garage should sort you out for the kawaida service, hata ka ni rotary, engine parts ni zile zile.
2. getting the genuine part will be impossible, unless you are importing them. Which is not hard especially if you have access to the internet.
3. as with any car, no need for a full service if none is required - if you get a good grade car from japan it should serve you well from the word go, just the kawaida service should suffice.

If you like the car nunua, don't follow the mob, and if you want to follow the mob just get an nze - we only get one chance in life, enjoy.
deadpoet
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 11:35:19 AM

CMC services Mazdas I think (if you want to go that way). But with all the Demios on our roads, I don't think servicing would be a problem.

You might also want to invest in an aux input for the stereo (some Mazdas don't have them):
http://www.amazon.com/Go...-1&keywords=mazda+3

and also buy this book, if you want:
http://www.amazon.com/dp...8123266/ref=cm_sw_su_dp
ulemsee
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 11:48:29 AM

Hmmm... thanks guys.

@nakujua nishanunua. Just waiting for it to land. What do you mean when you say that genuine parts I cannot find?

@deadpoet might you be on Skunkworks?
― George Carlin
deadpoet
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 12:00:10 PM

ulemsee wrote:
Hmmm... thanks guys.

@nakujua nishanunua. Just waiting for it to land. What do you mean when you say that genuine parts I cannot find?

ha! yep. I'm a new mazda axela owner as well. Should we start a club? I can also recommend joining one of the many mazda 3 forums online.
ulemsee
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 12:05:02 PM

Then I know you! We even met once.
I already joined mazda3forums.com but I think we need a Mazda owners club.

How about you get two copies of the book I refund you? Did you get someone to buy it for you?
― George Carlin
deadpoet
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 2:02:48 PM

Will keep you posted on the book.
ulemsee
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 2:32:15 PM

Turns out you're not the guy on skunkworks that I thought but... will appreciate if you do keep me posted smile
― George Carlin
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 2:42:54 PM

ulemsee wrote:
Hmmm... thanks guys.

ka ushanunua great, genuine and car parts in kenya do not go together very well, unless its a new locally bought ride, where the local franchise stocks the parts.
my friend likes his car, lakini parts ni shida kiasi, but ukikosa hapa you can always try the mazda3 parts which are a bit easier to get from the uk.
lakini at the end of the day, gari ni kung'eng'ana.
ulemsee
#10 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 3:31:09 PM

Your pal drives an Axela?
― George Carlin
ulemsee
#11 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 12:01:39 PM

Where can I get a good, reliable Mazda Axela mechanic in Nairobi?
― George Carlin
Chaka
#12 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 12:28:36 PM

You mean the vehicle has issues already?I don't think there is such a mechanic.Vehicle technologies have converged somewhat and any good mechanic should sort you..
#13 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 12:39:12 PM

ulemsee wrote:
Your pal drives an Axela?

let me assume the question was directed at me, yes I have a friend who drives one, as for a reliable mechanic - @chaka amenena, but of course getting a mechanic who has dealt with a particular brand before gives one peace of mind.
sijasikia any complaints from my friend, so far for him its just the kawaida service which he mentioned gets done at some shell station huko westi - not sure which one.
ulemsee
#14 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 1:03:43 PM

Hehehe, not that it has issues... I'm pre empting. The gari is still in MSA - I understand that there is a shortage of registration plates. Hopefully it'll be released today.
― George Carlin
Chaka
#15 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 1:22:42 PM

Ensure that the guy delivering it to you checks that engine oil is good and enough and radiator is filled,ATF level ok,I have heard of a few engine knock issues..not nice..
ulemsee
#16 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 1:25:07 PM

Will do that @Chaka. Many thanks!
― George Carlin
Dirty_impreza
#17 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 7:34:36 PM

@Ulemsee, welcome to the club quite a looker and a hardy car it is. general points to know: CMC is quite pricey, service parts are avavailable though pricey. I prefer oem imports, the atf is specific I.e atf mv. so watu wa petrol station with the mbele iko sawa vibe be wary. If you have the Bk lf 2l or 2.3l series the parts are interchangable with the premacy and mpv.
you could also download the user & service manual from uncle Google. The music system is decent unless you want to drive around in a club.
Finally perfect your diy skills to keep mechs from pulling your leg. It was nice of you repping in the mazda3 forum with lions Applause
matatuman
#18 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 8:29:22 PM

Anyone with a CX-7?
ulemsee
#19 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 8:05:07 PM

Thanks Dirty_impreza, kumbe you saw the Lions ;-)

I really want to deal with genuine parts in order to enjoy its performance. I've heard good things even from my boss about the axela, and although he calls Japanese cars "magari za ku overturn" and he drives a European car.

The ride is a 1500cc version (ZY engine, like the Demio 1.5).
― George Carlin
ulemsee
#20 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 10:53:24 PM

@Dirty_Impreza Are you a Mazda person? Mind sharing some tips on OEM parts importation? That is if you know how guys import parts in about 3 days and collect them at some place in Eastleigh. I'd rather import than use-non-genuine parts.
― George Carlin