Rita Jeptoo
Alba
#21 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 5:22:36 PM

@ Alba, where can one get EPO.Want to boost my endurance in swimming- no competition, only personal.
I see these mizingus do over 10 rounds start to end in an Olympic sized pool without getting tired or breaking.
How I envy them.

In Kenya, EPO is being provided by unscrupulous agents. At least according to Kipchoge. Besides that, I have no clue where they get EPO or other PEDs.
#22 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 6:42:29 PM

quicksand wrote:
Alba wrote:
Yaani Alma most of what you said went above my head. I did not understand anything except Veve. Hata google search was not much help.

Anyway Rita Jeptoo did not use Veve, Mwarubaini or any legal drug. She used performance enhancing drugs specifically EPO which artificially boosts your endurance.

What Kipchoge is saying is what I have said all along with regard to any crime. Recently there was stripping madness in Kenya. Now that people are getting harsh sentences the number of stripping incidents has come down. I said the same thing about hooligans. If you toss some of them in prison, these hooligans will behave.

I am now saying the same thing with regard to doping. In the USA, top athletes have gone to prison. In Kenya they need to target suppliers. Make Rita Jeptoo talk and tell the police who gave her illegal drugs. All those involved should face sentences or if they are foreign agents, they should be banned from coming back to Kenya. If Rita Jeptoo refuses to talk then toss her in prison.

People's livelihoods are at stake. At this rate they will stop inviting Kenyans to major road races. yet these Kenyan runners feed entire extended families, pay school fees for relatives and employ hundreds.

@alba, I agree with you here. It's the same thing I've always said about dealing with hooligans.

"As for thieves, both male and female, cut off their hands as recompense for their deeds and exemplary punishment.."

Of course, it is not just applied to anybody, under any circumstance, any time. It should be applied in a court of law, after witness, proof of guilt. Because someone breaking into a home, or robs a bank or shooting a motorist etc, is not something out of temptation.

Turn this into a law, ad what you will find is that, when the law is applied, you find the society rate of theft drops drastically. Because it creates a sense of security within a society.

NOTE: Don't turn this into religion please. I'm just giving my 2cents in what can stop these corruptions.

This will now inflame and derail what was an otherwise sober thread on doping. @AlphDoti, it is not a must that you talk, especially if there is nothing worthwhile that you are contributing.

@quicksand, are you prefect to decide who talks and who does not in this thread?

I say doping offense should have high penalty. I say the same should be extended to all other offenses and crime too. I say this will discourage crimes, and will create a better society. If that is derailing, then you've something else you're not saying.

No, I am not prefect, but knowing when to talk and when to shut up is a matter of intelligence and also of wisdom. A closed mouth gathers no foot.

@quicksand, if you're used to bullying your colleagues, I want to tell I’m sick of you acting like a prefect. We know bullies are cowards inwardly, without others fearing them, they are nothing smile

I will leave you with this quote:
"There is overwhelming evidence that the higher the level of self-esteem, the more likely one will be to treat others with respect, kindness, and generosity.” by Nathaniel Branden
#23 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 7:26:30 PM

Is doping really cheating? Is what Rita Jeptoo did the same as if she took a taxi to get ahead of the other athletes and win her marathons?

For a different take on these questions read Malcolm Gladwell's article below.

http://www.newyorker.com.../09/09/man-and-superman

#24 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 8:40:42 PM

Is doping really cheating? Is what Rita Jeptoo did the same as if she took a taxi to get ahead of the other athletes and win her marathons?

It is cheating man.... the ever present threat of punishment and official limits of what normal human levels of say hermatocrit (and other factors) are -are important. If all the science was allowed the fans would become jaded....it would be competition against labs and not athletics anymore.
mwariama
#25 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 9:15:23 PM

As someone said in another thread, life isn't fair. Guys in the states have better training facilities, coaching, kit...etc A runner in Kenya e.g, has added advantage due to longer exposure to high altitude training....

How do we determine what's unfair "advantage" over someone else while clearly factors such as environment, science, genes...etc can give someone an edge?

I say its a progressive world. Allow doping and we get to see how human minds can stretch the limits of science and human evolution through innovation...
#26 Posted : Friday, January 02, 2015 10:00:15 PM

mwariama wrote:
As someone said in another thread, life isn't fair. Guys in the states have better training facilities, coaching, kit...etc A runner in Kenya e.g, has added advantage due to longer exposure to high altitude training....

How do we determine what's unfair "advantage" over someone else while clearly factors such as environment, science, genes...etc can give someone an edge?

I say its a progressive world. Allow doping and we get to see how human minds can stretch the limits of science and human evolution through innovation...

My thoughts exactly. Wacha kila mtu akunywe ile anakunywanga or smoke whatever each smokes, let them use whatever means to achieve their highest potential and then let them meet in the field and may the best win. It happens in every sphere of life, you take your kids to the best schools, you feed them well, you take them to church to mold them into the best they can possibly be to give them an edge over the others...... Its life, may the best win..... In Rita Jeptoo's case she trained just as hard and still ran the 42 km, she never took a taxi. If she used something artificial to get the same endurance that Mary Keitany gets naturally is like the average performing Nairobi kid who got extra private tuition to get the same high KCPE grade as a naturally bright kid from Komothai DEB primary school.....
kizee1
#27 Posted : Saturday, January 03, 2015 3:30:05 PM

quicksand wrote:

It is cheating man.... the ever present threat of punishment and official limits of what normal human levels of say hermatocrit (and other factors) are -are important. If all the science was allowed the fans would become jaded....it would be competition against labs and not athletics anymore.

why weren't fans jaded in the 60s and 70s when testing didn't exist? why do fans of sports that dont drug test like bodybuilding and power lifting get jaded?

kizee1
#28 Posted : Saturday, January 03, 2015 3:32:38 PM

mwariama wrote:

My thoughts exactly. Wacha kila mtu akunywe ile anakunywanga or smoke whatever each smokes, let them use whatever means to achieve their highest potential and then let them meet in the field and may the best win. It happens in every sphere of life, you take your kids to the best schools, you feed them well, you take them to church to mold them into the best they can possibly be to give them an edge over the others...... Its life, may the best win..... In Rita Jeptoo's case she trained just as hard and still ran the 42 km, she never took a taxi. If she used something artificial to get the same endurance that Mary Keitany gets naturally is like the average performing Nairobi kid who got extra private tuition to get the same high KCPE grade as a naturally bright kid from Komothai DEB primary school.....

both excellent points

now if it as easy as taking a pill and one becomes a champ then why isn't the world full of athletes? as Gladwell says "Elite sports is a contest among athletes with an uneven set of genetic endowments and natural advantages." ...at the top level what makes a difference is training and ability to recover, thats what PEDs give you, they only help you stay in the game, they dont turn a loser into a champ

on your point about academia, i fully agree infact students in the states use a drug known as aderall to improve focus while studying, seems like everyone is allowed an edge apart from athletes
kizee1
#29 Posted : Saturday, January 03, 2015 3:41:12 PM

this is a fantastic article
Alba
#30 Posted : Saturday, January 03, 2015 6:28:24 PM

kizee1 wrote:

why weren't fans jaded in the 60s and 70s when testing didn't exist? why do fans of sports that dont drug test like bodybuilding and power lifting get jaded?

Two things
1. In the 1970s, testing for PEDs was virtually non-existent. So fans were not sure that doping was widespread. There were some suspicions about East Germany but nothing was ever confirmed.

2. Body building and weightlifting do not have many fans. So they have nothing to lose. When was the last time you saw a large crowd at an in country weightlifting contest? If a sport already has a low number of fans, it has nothing to lose. In any case I am sure you know that weightlifters are drug tested at the Olympics and other contests. Wasn't there a Naija female weightlifetr who was busted for doping at the commonwealth games?
Alba
#31 Posted : Saturday, January 03, 2015 6:37:06 PM

Doping is NOT like taking your child to a good school. It is plain cheating. It is like exam leakage, robbing a bank, mugging, car jacking, pickpocketing etc.

Taking your child to a good school is like hiring a good coach or getting better training facilities.

For a mainstream sport to be legitimate, it has to rely on natural ability and hard work, not unnatural chemicals.

Aside from that, doping has horrible side effects as I posted in the other thread. PIf doping becomes a requirement, you will have children as young as 12 and 13 starting to dope and their lives will be ruined by a myriad of health problems, even death. People should stop being myopic.

#32 Posted : Saturday, January 03, 2015 9:20:06 PM

kizee1 wrote:

Great article and something to ponder.

mwariama
#33 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 12:22:50 AM

Kratos wrote:
kizee1 wrote:

Gracias @ Kusadikika, that link is really insightful.

Maybe we ought to rethink sports as a competition in order to factor in advantages such as technological, environmental and genetic advantages. Rank apples versus apples and not oranges. Fair play of sorts...
In powerlifting for example, they measure the lifts either as raw or with a lifting jacket/assisted. Off course, the more you lift raw the more respect you earn from both divides.

Maybe the sports organisations should allow doping, set up and market parallel competitions.... Instead of Nike/Adidas sponsoring a team, it would be Pfizer/Novartis or any other pharmaceutical company with great R&D. Just a thought....

Alba
#34 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 2:11:24 AM

If doping is allowed, then African teams in every sport may as well as give up on competing. And I mean every sport be it running, rugby, football, volleyball , basketball you name it.

The reason is that the associations with the biggest budget will hire the best pharmaceutical companies. Whomever comes up with the best chemicals will win.

Kenya may as well withdraw from the Olympics and the IRB sevens series and whatever else Kenya competes in. African teams may as well withdraw from the world cup. They will lose every game 5-0.

In a sport like rugby, playing against roided up teams will be putting your very life in danger. I can imagine a chemist coming up with a concotion that makes bones denser, less likely to break while enhancing your pain threshold. In other words, a concoction that turns Homo Sapiens into Homo neanderthalensis.

A collision with a person who is on such roids will immediately land you in ICU

When I read posts such as those of Mwariama above, I have to conclude that people like him do not actually like sports nor watch sports.

kizee1
#35 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 2:30:13 AM

mwariama wrote:
Kratos wrote:
kizee1 wrote:

Gracias @ Kusadikika, that link is really insightful.

Maybe we ought to rethink sports as a competition in order to factor in advantages such as technological, environmental and genetic advantages. Rank apples versus apples and not oranges. Fair play of sorts...
In powerlifting for example, they measure the lifts either as raw or with a lifting jacket/assisted. Off course, the more you lift raw the more respect you earn from both divides.

Maybe the sports organisations should allow doping, set up and market parallel competitions.... Instead of Nike/Adidas sponsoring a team, it would be Pfizer/Novartis or any other pharmaceutical company with great R&D. Just a thought....

agreed, infact powerlifting also has codes that test for PEDs and those that dont so maybe IAAF and IOC should get rivals set up codes that dont test, if that happened bye bye IAAf and IOC

i also agree re pharma cos, the majority of current PEDs are mainly manufactured by underground labs that have low quality controls, i remember reading an article on how the original dianobal 5mg packed a mad punch, nothing like current d-bols....
kizee1
#36 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 2:37:07 AM

Alba wrote:
kizee1 wrote:

Two things
1. In the 1970s, testing for PEDs was virtually non-existent. So fans were not sure that doping was widespread. There were some suspicions about East Germany but nothing was ever confirmed.

fans knew, the Russians started it in the 50s the Americans in the 60s, it was common knowledge

how about sports like baseball and american football? fans still watch despite several athletes testing positive
2. Body building and weightlifting do not have many fans. So they have nothing to lose. When was the last time you saw a large crowd at an in country weightlifting contest? If a sport already has a low number of fans, it has nothing to lose. In any case I am sure you know that weightlifters are drug tested at the Olympics and other contests. Wasn't there a Naija female weightlifetr who was busted for doping at the commonwealth games?

are you serious? metrx world strongest man, mr olympia? arnold classic

the only athletes who get busted are those who cant afford proper "nutritionists" if you think weightlifting is natty then I have a piece of land to sell you in lamu
mwariama
#37 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 10:28:52 AM

Glancing at Olympic medal standings is like looking at a list of the richest countries in the world. Already many teams are alienated from many competitions and medal tables due to little or no budgets all else equal. Meaning, even before the next Olympics, we can predict the ranking of many teams within a small margin of error. Having money is already a very huge advantage. I can bet that it's the single largest unfair advantage in sports. Does it mean the ones without a budget shouldn't participate all together? Not really, because for example, Kenyans and Ethiopians enter the competitions with their own set of advantages.

@ Kizee I totally agree with you. I think allowing doping leads more to convergence than divergence and open up sports farther to more audiences.

@Alba I agree that there might be some problems but what we are saying is that the advantages of doping shall not only be felt in the field. Imagine if a drug company was to come up with a way to make bones denser or faster healing/regenerating cells as you've said, wouldn't that be great for our old people as much as it was meant for athletes?
Alba
#38 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 7:18:41 PM

@Mwariama
The disadvantages of PEDs outweigh the benefits. I posted this list from the Mayo clinic before. Let me post again lest people forget

Anabolic steroids come with serious physical side effects as well.

Men may develop:

Prominent breasts
Baldness
Shrunken testicles
Infertility
Impotence

Women may develop:

A deeper voice
An enlarged clitoris
Increased body hair
Baldness
Infrequent or absent periods

Both men and women might experience:

Severe acne
Increased risk of tendinitis and tendon rupture
Liver abnormalities and tumors
Increased low-density lipoprotein (LDL) cholesterol (the "bad" cholesterol)
Decreased high-density lipoprotein (HDL) cholesterol (the "good" cholesterol)
High blood pressure (hypertension)
Heart and circulatory problems
Prostate gland enlargement
Aggressive behaviors, rage or violence
Psychiatric disorders, such as depression
Drug dependence
Infections or diseases such as HIV or hepatitis if you're injecting the drugs
Inhibited growth and development, and risk of future health problems in teenagers

What this means is that if doping becomes legal then if you are a responsible parent, you should absolutely forbid your children from participating in sports even at school level
Alba
#39 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 7:27:39 PM

With regard to doping side effects, let me tell a quick story:

In 1982, Algeria played West Germany at the world cup. German coach Jupp Derwall boasted that if he lost to Algeria, he would take the first plane home.

Derwall had to eat his words because not only did Algeria beat Germany, they comprehensively outplayed them. I have watched a DVD of the match and Algeria literally ran Germany out of the field. They were tirelss running up and down and too fast on counter attacks.

Years later, some Algerian players begun to notice that their children were being born with severe birth defects. It is now known that at least 8 of their children were born handicapped.

It turns out the Russian coach Gennadi Rogov gave the Algerian players PEDs while lying that they were vitamins. The side effects of those PEDs were not known at the time. We now know that they cause children to be born with mental and physical handicaps.

http://www.goal.com/en/n...eria-doping-accusations

The case of East Germany is even worse. The East German women were pumped with so much androgenic drugs that some lost their uterus. One ended up having to get a sex change because her testosterone level became too high.

Here is a pic of Andreas Krieger who ended up having to get gender re-assignment surgery.

Picture of Andreas Krieger

Andreas used to be a woman.
So I urge you to think again of you think making PEDs legal is a good thing
Alba
#40 Posted : Sunday, January 04, 2015 7:37:06 PM

mwariama wrote:
Glancing at Olympic medal standings is like looking at a list of the richest countries in the world. Already many teams are alienated from many competitions and medal tables due to little or no budgets all else equal. Meaning, even before the next Olympics, we can predict the ranking of many teams within a small margin of error. Having money is already a very huge advantage. I can bet that it's the single largest unfair advantage in sports. Does it mean the ones without a budget shouldn't participate all together? Not really, because for example, Kenyans and Ethiopians enter the competitions with their own set of advantages.

At least African teams can win some medals at the Olympics now. So in a sense Kenyans have something to look forward to. You can forget that if full fledged PED is allowed.

In rugby, at least Kenya reached the semi-finals of the rugby sevens world cup twice. You can forget that of PEDS are allowed.

And FIFA may as well give Africa only one place at the football world cup instead of 5. If PEDs are allowed, African teams have absolutely no chance of winning anything.

The Olympics is warped because there are far too many sports that poor countries do not play.

@Kizee1

World strongest man is not a real sport. At this rate, you may as well mention WWF wrestling