17 Pages«<678910>»
Free to Air TV channels in Kenya
Caveman
#141 Posted : Saturday, November 29, 2014 7:04:59 PM

#142 Posted : Wednesday, December 24, 2014 7:17:38 AM

Bamba TV

C&P:Currently, viewers will access seven movie channels (consisting of three Nigerian and four international family movie channels), and four lifestyle stations that include Fashion TV, Cars TV, Justice TV and es.tv.

Among the four international news channels available on Bamba TV include Al Jazeera and France 24 English. Children will also be spoilt for choice over the three cartoon channels being aired, while sports fans will have two channels to start with.
- See more at: http://www.the-star.co.k...ls#sthash.xCeJ3GcK.dpuf

Anyone with the full list of channels to be offered?
BGL
#143 Posted : Wednesday, December 24, 2014 10:17:11 AM

butterflyke wrote:
Bamba TV

C&P:Currently, viewers will access seven movie channels (consisting of three Nigerian and four international family movie channels), and four lifestyle stations that include Fashion TV, Cars TV, Justice TV and es.tv.

Among the four international news channels available on Bamba TV include Al Jazeera and France 24 English. Children will also be spoilt for choice over the three cartoon channels being aired, while sports fans will have two channels to start with.

I have a signal from the following channels with an ordinary (non-Bamba decorder) The local TV channels have not been hooked as yet but i get them from SIGNET.

SMILE TV (kids)
JUSTICE TV
I FILM
NOLLYWOOD MO
MOVIE CLUB
KASS TV
FASHION TV
CARS TV
AFRICAN MOVIE CHANNEL
EWTN (catholic)
DW
AL JAZEERA
FRANCE 24
NHK WORLD
KISS TV
ROMANZA (mexican movies)
------------------------------------------
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
#144 Posted : Wednesday, December 24, 2014 7:34:25 PM

this bamba tv sounds very interesting, I am really tempted to get their decoder - lakini wacha I wait kidogo, I can see the guys at go tv spicing things up very soon.
maybe throw in several European football games.
compe ni compe roho safi, I am liking this digital stuff.
Alfylavie
#145 Posted : Thursday, December 25, 2014 9:34:10 AM

So far only Bamba TV Channels have the best decoding quality ever even though still not upto 720p HD.. the rest especially signet are of poor quality just like playing a Phone's 3gp Video using a 40" Screen
Making money never gets boring
Alfylavie
#146 Posted : Thursday, December 25, 2014 9:38:34 AM

So far only Bamba channels have the best decoding Clarity even though not yet upto 720p HD.. the rest especially signet poor quality just like playing a phone's 3gp video in a 40" screen
#147 Posted : Thursday, December 25, 2014 10:06:39 AM

Alfylavie wrote:
So far only Bamba TV Channels have the best decoding quality ever even though still not upto 720p HD.. the rest especially signet are of poor quality just like playing a Phone's 3gp Video using a 40" Screen

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly smile
MKWASI
#148 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 9:53:09 AM

Alfylavie wrote:
So far only Bamba channels have the best decoding Clarity even though not yet upto 720p HD.. the rest especially signet poor quality just like playing a phone's 3gp video in a 40" screen

Are the bamba decoders available in the market?
Kihara joni
#149 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 10:21:17 AM

Alfylavie wrote:

If your signal quality is less than 50% your picture quality will be bad,anything over 50% is brilliant except for the SAYARE tv channel very poor pic quality,
for BAMBA I like that some channels like kiss, and NHK are in HD.
bird_man
#150 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 10:57:20 AM

If you have a digital TV (digital thingie is inbuilt) you are able to receive BAMBA channels but I think its on test basis.Question is,will I still have to buy their BAMBA decoder even when my TV is digital??
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Alfylavie
#151 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 1:30:00 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
If your signal quality is less than 50% your picture quality will be bad,anything over 50% is brilliant except for the SAYARE tv channel very poor pic quality,

Men! if signet channels are clear to you then you probably dont know clarity or lets begin with.. whats the size of your screen?
Do a recording of any Signet/STV channels with its best recording settings then with your Pc check MPC detail properties of the recorded material(TS format) check the Bit rate, Size(Width,Height), Display aspect ratio, Frame rate mode and Frame rate before you talk abt clarity.
by the way let me correct you.. Digital cable technology can allow many TV channels to occupy the frequency space that would normally be occupied by a single analog cable TV channel that means sayare and all other signet labeled channels are all under one frequency space with same decoding quality..
Clarity begins with the content before it gets decoded with a HDMI enabled receiver and even if u get 100% signal quality but the content isnt HD then no HD in the long run. ask yourself why DSTV has separate HD channels
#152 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 9:42:35 PM

Alfylavie wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

Men! if signet channels are clear to you then you probably dont know clarity or lets begin with.. whats the size of your screen?
Do a recording of any Signet/STV channels with its best recording settings then with your Pc check MPC detail properties of the recorded material(TS format) check the Bit rate, Size(Width,Height), Display aspect ratio, Frame rate mode and Frame rate before you talk abt clarity.
by the way let me correct you.. Digital cable technology can allow many TV channels to occupy the frequency space that would normally be occupied by a single analog cable TV channel that means sayare and all other signet labeled channels are all under one frequency space with same decoding quality..
Clarity begins with the content before it gets decoded with a HDMI enabled receiver and even if u get 100% signal quality but the content isnt HD then no HD in the long run. ask yourself why DSTV has separate HD channels

@Kihara has mentioned that some channels are in hd format - and he is right sayare has poor picture quality, and he is right moving from analog to the digital decoders marks a distinct improvement in the reception quality
Alfylavie
#153 Posted : Monday, December 29, 2014 11:50:44 PM

@Kihara has mentioned that some channels are in hd format - and he is right sayare has poor picture quality, and he is right moving from analog to the digital decoders marks a distinct improvement in the reception quality

I still insist No HD channel in FTA infact out of almost 200 channels only Bamba has less than 5 channels that ARE CLOSE to HD.. maybe MOA will do a better job than Signet, STV or PANG.. we still have a long way to go.. if you are viewing through CRT or 21"/< LCD/LED you may never get the difference
#154 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 12:59:36 PM

Alfylavie wrote:

I still insist No HD channel in FTA infact out of almost 200 channels only Bamba has less than 5 channels that ARE CLOSE to HD.. maybe MOA will do a better job than Signet, STV or PANG.. we still have a long way to go.. if you are viewing through CRT or 21"/< LCD/LED you may never get the difference

sawa boss, we have a long way to go - hakuna hd in fta and only bamba is close to hd - they must be broadcasting somewhere between sd and hd - happy new year smile
D32
#155 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 6:24:48 PM

They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
D32
#156 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 6:29:13 PM

BGL wrote:
butterflyke wrote:
Bamba TV

I have a signal from the following channels with an ordinary (non-Bamba decorder) The local TV channels have not been hooked as yet but i get them from SIGNET.

SMILE TV (kids)
JUSTICE TV
I FILM
NOLLYWOOD MO
MOVIE CLUB
KASS TV
FASHION TV
CARS TV
AFRICAN MOVIE CHANNEL
EWTN (catholic)
DW
AL JAZEERA
FRANCE 24
NHK WORLD
KISS TV
ROMANZA (mexican movies)
------------------------------------------

I thought that Bamba channels were exclusive to Bamba decoder. Does this mean that anyone can receive their channels with any DVBT2 decoder?
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#157 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 8:20:18 PM

Thanks @D32 for the list. Does one get the other local channels like KTN, NTV, etc? They do not appear on the list...
#158 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 8:52:00 PM

Yaani wazuans are still operating analogue TVs that need decoders? Digital TVs that dont need decoders have been in the market for some time.
#159 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 9:03:23 PM

Yaani wazuans are still operating analogue TVs that need decoders? Digital TVs that dont need decoders have been in the market for some time.

As long as it works fine, why change? Besides, a stand-alone separate STB offers greater flexibility.
Kihara joni
#160 Posted : Tuesday, December 30, 2014 9:11:19 PM

Court stops the migration yet again, BACAUSE THIS IS KENYA