10 Pages<1234>»
Capital Gains Tax on EQUITIES
#21 Posted : Friday, November 28, 2014 1:20:25 AM

urstill1 wrote:
Ali Baba wrote:
tkzee wrote:
How is capital gains going to be computed for someone who inherited shares? Considering that at some point these shares were inform of certificates before being immobilized.
Kazee,form a limited liability company and transfer or sell your shares to your company before january first....

I'm interested though the whole process might spill over to January and possibly beyond. If that is done, does it mean that I'll never pay the 5% tax on CG?

Does this 5% thing apply to land ownership transfer?

The optimist
#22 Posted : Monday, December 22, 2014 5:36:27 PM

#23 Posted : Monday, December 22, 2014 9:08:11 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
tkzee wrote:
How is capital gains going to be computed for someone who inherited shares? Considering that at some point these shares were inform of certificates before being immobilized.
Kazee,form a limited liability company and transfer or sell your shares to your company before january first....

If you inherited, you pay the 5% if you sell. You can also let your kids inherit, no CGT payable.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, December 23, 2014 12:52:09 PM

This CGT will affect everyone acheni maswali....
#25 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 5:57:57 PM

Brokers are playing hard ball!!!
#26 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 6:25:59 PM

I cannot also cooperate to pay this unless its deducted before it reaches me or iam followed by kra to my house at gunpoint...Rwanda is very keen to take advantage of our taxation stupidity and woo investors to their house by removing taxes which hinder investment
#27 Posted : Monday, January 05, 2015 6:31:17 PM

mlennyma wrote:
I cannot also cooperate to pay this unless its deducted before it reaches me or iam followed by kra to my house at gunpoint

Habari ndiyo hiyo!!!

They will be forced to contract (and pay) the brokers to be collecting agents!

Or they can force in some regulations that forces the broker to collect and forward like happens with VAT and PAYE.
whiteowl
#28 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 12:14:21 AM

I sold a small chunk of my Britam shares and CGT wasn't part of the discussion. Unless kra puts a knife on my neck on Wednesday when I'm getting my cash,hii kitu silipi! How can I pay CGT when my broker doesn't have records of my buying price and I'm also suffering from a memory lapse?
#29 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 8:44:20 AM

The market will not be as liquid as we are used to,the worst thing that has ever happened in my nse life.
TheGeek
#30 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 8:49:55 AM

Not so fast
“A stockbroker who conducts the transfer of investment shares on behalf of a transferor shall collect and remit tax to the commissioner in accordance with section 35(5),” reads paragraph 18 of the eighth schedule.

Link is below.

Brokers obligated to collect capital gains tax, KRA says
In the world of securities, courage and patience become the supreme virtues after adequate knowledge and a tested judgment are at hand.
streetwise
#31 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 9:01:45 AM

Once the players get settled psychologically things will go back to normal.

What is the difference of selling at 5% less than expected with no CGT and selling at 5% higher and paying the CGT.

Akenyan2014
#32 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:00:14 AM

streetwise wrote:

What is the difference of selling at 5% less than expected with no CGT and selling at 5% higher and paying the CGT.

The earlier pays the 'seed' to KRA, the latter assists the stocks buyer get a 5% discount
Pesa Nane
#33 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:00:21 AM

streetwise wrote:

He that sells are 5% higher and pays CGT earns more. #splittinghairs
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
#34 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:05:37 AM

You needed atmost 2.5% to count your eggs before,now you need 7.5 % to count anything,its a big jump.
Pesa Nane
#35 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:06:14 AM

TheGeek wrote:

Not so fast
“A stockbroker who conducts the transfer of investment shares on behalf of a transferor shall collect and remit tax to the commissioner in accordance with section 35(5),” reads paragraph 18 of the eighth schedule.

Link is below.

Brokers obligated to collect capital gains tax, KRA says

But, but..
Pesa Nane plans to be shilingi when he grows up.
Metasploit
#36 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:39:01 AM

mlennyma wrote:
You needed atmost 2.5% to count your eggs before,now you need 7.5 % to count anything,its a big jump.

CGT is on gains so its 2.5% of total cost plus 5% of gains ..how do you get your 7.5% ?

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
streetwise
#37 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:44:01 AM

HAPANA

This is the maths. If you gain 2.5% as before you will pay 5% CGT on the 2.5%.

This translates to about 0.125%, so you should be saying the your need atleast 2.625%. Simplify 2.7% is good to go
jerry
#38 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:47:59 AM

Metasploit wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

CGT is on gains so its 2.5% of total cost plus 5% of gains ..how do you get your 7.5% ?

I know of 1.82% and 2.1% for shate tranctions of >100,000/= and upto 10,000/= respectively.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
The optimist
#39 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:59:45 AM

Metasploit wrote:
mlennyma wrote:

Hii mahesabu inasumbua watu kweli.
The optimist
#40 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 11:04:31 AM

whiteowl wrote:
I sold a small chunk of my Britam shares and CGT wasn't part of the discussion. Unless kra puts a knife on my neck on Wednesday when I'm getting my cash,hii kitu silipi! How can I pay CGT when my broker doesn't have records of my buying price and I'm also suffering from a memory lapse?

Read the business daily today.
The Records are available for transactions made from 2005 onwards. For transactions made before then, the base price will be the highest price achieved before 2005. And KRA has instructed Brokers to collect CGT for Friday and Monday before making payments.
#NotSoLucky