Reports: Doping rampant hapa nchini in all sports
Alba
#1 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 5:13:50 PM

Some quotes from the Daily nation exposee

The report called for disciplinary proceedings against the national rugby Sevens technical bench after steroids were found in player supplements in January.

There was “a concoction they (the coaches) gave players to drink at the beginning and end of training,” Wekesa said.

His report noted the players would stop taking the supplement a few days before competing.

Wekesa said that tests performed on the supplements were positive for steroids, and the Kenya Rugby Union was immediately informed.

“The information shows that there are a good number of athletes out there who are using drugs,” Kiptanui was quoted. “They want to get money by all means. Either by a genuine way or another way. “We have put rules in place. If we don’t use these rules then athletes will still use these drugs,” said the 43-year-old.

He blamed the vice on widespread corruption in the athletics fraternity. “If you can bribe somebody today or tomorrow, then it (a test result) is gone,” he added. “All over the world there is corruption in sport. It is not only a matter in Kenya.”

Even before the dust could settle on embarrassing revelations by a German documentary that 25 Kenyan runners were among 150 athletes worldwide who were found with abnormal blood levels yet were not subjected to proper testing for banned drugs, Athletics Kenya suffered another credibility blow when it emerged that nine more athletes had failed tests for banned substances in long distances races.

K yielded to pressure from the global athletics body IAAF to slap two year bans on Viola Chelangat Kimetto and Joyce Jemutai Kiplimo for testing positive for the performance enhancing substance Norandosterone.

Athletics Kenya would like to report that it has received communication from IAAF on the notification of a confirmed missed doping test for Mr. Wilson Kipsang Kiprotich.

#2 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 5:34:13 PM

Even before the dust could settle on embarrassing revelations by a German documentary that 25 Kenyan runners were among 150 athletes worldwide who were found with abnormal blood levels yet were not subjected to proper testing for banned drugs, Athletics Kenya suffered another credibility blow when it emerged that nine more athletes had failed tests for banned substances in long distances races.

K yielded to pressure from the global athletics body IAAF to slap two year bans on Viola Chelangat Kimetto and Joyce Jemutai Kiplimo for testing positive for the performance enhancing substance Norandosterone.

Athletics Kenya would like to report that it has received communication from IAAF on the notification of a confirmed missed doping test for Mr. Wilson Kipsang Kiprotich.

[/quote]

Woi is this kipsang the 2.03.guy ama ni another kipsang if its him the athletics forums will roast him
For athletics this was coming the money particularly for the road races is too tempting

The russians are also in a disarray mpaka the one and only savinova has been implicated

A documentary screened on the German TV network MDR on Wednesday night alleges not only that up to “99%” of the Russian Olympic team use doping but also that a network of corruption has been put in place to cover up positive tests, involving officials at the Russian anti-doping agency, the doping control laboratory in Moscow, as well as the International Association of Athletics Federations.

My take now doping is rampant everywhere only that some countries have not been put under the microscope
Alba
#3 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 6:07:52 PM

It is the Kipsang who set the world record in 2013. Basically he has been calling for the resignation of the AK chairman. I know the report says IAAF pressured Kiplagat. But this could be retaliation ffrom Kiplagat for calling on him to resign.

In either case, Kenya is in dissaray. Maybe this is why Kenya sevens is no longer doing well. Investigations must happen. If either Mike Friday or Paul Treu was the one who caused doping, it must be made public. The reports says the coaching staff are responsible.
Boris Boyka
#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 10:31:05 PM

If doping stops worldwide, i assure you there will be no more records in athletics. The world puts a lot of pressure on sportspersons to be better by day and set high standards as if its a business making profit without considering normal perfomance curve. looking at football & rugby matches fixtures, it leaves a lot to be answered....not enough rest in btwn...wanatoa wapi hiyo energy yoote? In fact we are just beginnig otherwise the east and west started long ago on refined not easily detected dopes...plus corrupting testing officials.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 11:50:36 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
If doping stops worldwide, i assure you there will be no more records in athletics. The world puts a lot of pressure on sportspersons to be better by day and set high standards as if its a business making profit without considering normal perfomance curve. looking at football & rugby matches fixtures, it leaves a lot to be answered....not enough rest in btwn...wanatoa wapi hiyo energy yoote? In fact we are just beginnig otherwise the east and west started long ago on refined not easily detected dopes...plus corrupting testing officials.

Completely agree with you. Otherwise, how humans manage these energy-intensive activities is unnatural. But what if everyone was allowed to take their drug of choice then they compete?
Alba
#6 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2014 4:21:37 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:

I believe most top Kenyan runners are clean. I know the report suggests there is rampant doping however I think it is mostly amongst low calibre runners who are trying to make it big.

However Rita Jeptoo has thoroughly and utterly ruined the reputation of Kenyan runners worldwide. Now there are reports eti Kenya and Russia are the biggest culprits. Those reports are sensational and false. But Its going to be more and more difficult for people to believe anything. Even Kenyans themselves are much more skeptical now.

In football most of the drug use is performance inhibiting substances and not performance enhancing. First off many Kenyan footballers drink heavily like their fellow Kenyans but they also indulge in miraa and bhangi.

Recovery time is actually better than it was in the 1980s and 1990s when players would play two games every weekend.

In rugby I think most teams in the IRB sevens series are doping. Remember that IRB does not test players out of competition. The difference is that whereas in Kenya it seems drugs were supplied by team management and coaches, in other places, the players are getting the drugs on their own.
kizee1
#7 Posted : Friday, December 19, 2014 12:05:20 AM

radio wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:

Completely agree with you. Otherwise, how humans manage these energy-intensive activities is unnatural. But what if everyone was allowed to take their drug of choice then they compete?

very true, the russians started doping in the 50s and the americans in the 60s drug testing started in the 80s and yet we have not witnessed a decline in performances, only very dumb athletes get caught back then pharma companies produced steroids and the potency was crazy nowadays very few roids ar pharma produced, most are produced by underground labs

it is said that all the athletes who run the 1988 mens 100m finals failed a test prior to or after the race!...very few athletes fail tests marion jones was ratted on so was cj hunter tim montgomery( all by victor conte of BALCO labs) the most recent famous cheat lance armstrong passed every single test and was ratted upon retirement,

let IAAF and the IOC just drop drug testing already, its a huge lie
Alba
#8 Posted : Friday, December 19, 2014 5:09:13 PM

Wale wanasema eti IAAF and IOC should stop drug testing wacheni story. If sportsmen get carte blanche to use any kind of dope, people will stop watching sports. The reason athletics has plummetted in popularity from its heights in the 1960s and 1970s is precisely because of doping. Fans want to believe that they are watching actual humans competing not chemically constructed cyborgs.

Secondly, the side effects of doping are such that parents would dissuade their children from taking part in sports. If youth have to dope to succeed they have to ask themselves whether the potential side effects are worth it.

Boys / men may develop:
Prominent breasts , Baldness, Shrunken testicles, Infertility, Impotence

Girls / Women may develop:
A deeper voice, An enlarged clitoris, Increased body hair, Baldness, Infrequent or absent periods

Both men and women might experience:
Severe acne, Increased risk of tendinitis and tendon rupture, Liver abnormalities and tumors
Increased low-density lipoprotein (LDL) , cholesterol (the "bad" cholesterol), Decreased high-density lipoprotein (HDL) , cholesterol (the "good" cholesterol), High blood pressure (hypertension), Heart and circulatory problems, Prostate gland enlargement
Aggressive behaviors, rage or violence
Psychiatric disorders, such as depression
Drug dependence, Infections or diseases such as HIV or hepatitis if you're injecting the drugs
Inhibited growth and development, and risk of future health problems in teenagers

Note that if drugs become commonplace then even secondary school teams will be encouraging their players to dope. If you are a parent, do you want your children risking those side effects ?

Swali tu

kizee1
#9 Posted : Saturday, December 20, 2014 1:52:05 AM

Alba wrote:
Wale wanasema eti IAAF and IOC should stop drug testing wacheni story. If sportsmen get carte blanche to use any kind of dope, people will stop watching sports. The reason athletics has plummetted in popularity from its heights in the 1960s and 1970s is precisely because of doping. Fans want to believe that they are watching actual humans competing not chemically constructed cyborgs.

Secondly, the side effects of doping are such that parents would dissuade their children from taking part in sports. If youth have to dope to succeed they have to ask themselves whether the potential side effects are worth it.

Boys / men may develop:
Prominent breasts , Baldness, Shrunken testicles, Infertility, Impotence

Girls / Women may develop:
A deeper voice, An enlarged clitoris, Increased body hair, Baldness, Infrequent or absent periods

Both men and women might experience:
Severe acne, Increased risk of tendinitis and tendon rupture, Liver abnormalities and tumors
Increased low-density lipoprotein (LDL) , cholesterol (the "bad" cholesterol), Decreased high-density lipoprotein (HDL) , cholesterol (the "good" cholesterol), High blood pressure (hypertension), Heart and circulatory problems, Prostate gland enlargement
Aggressive behaviors, rage or violence
Psychiatric disorders, such as depression
Drug dependence, Infections or diseases such as HIV or hepatitis if you're injecting the drugs
Inhibited growth and development, and risk of future health problems in teenagers

Note that if drugs become commonplace then even secondary school teams will be encouraging their players to dope. If you are a parent, do you want your children risking those side effects ?

Swali tu

1. Fans want to see their teams win and to witness superhuman feats, no one will pay to watch sub par athletes perform

2. The side you have listed are sides of some variants of testosterone, not all variants produce them and also those who know what they are doing don't get affected, that notwithstanding, the term doping refers to the use of various drugs, testosterone being one others being hgh,insulin,EPO amongst others, these sides dont occur when these are used not that these are safe

3. Nature is the biggest cheat, some of us are born taller than others stronger smarter etc sport will never be fair, the champ will always be the champ even in sports like bodybuilding where 100% usage of PEDS occurs a champ stands out

4. To add to point one PEDs dont make you a champ, they allow you to stay in the game by reducing recovery times strengthening muscles thus preparing one better for their discipline...thats all from me
#10 Posted : Saturday, December 20, 2014 12:17:33 PM

kizee1
#11 Posted : Saturday, December 20, 2014 1:57:41 PM

cases of doping have not exploded,if anything the levels are constant new testing methods are making it easier to catch cheats, in the past all they(WADA) tested for was steroids, so ATHLETES started flushing them out using diuretics, so they added diuretics to the list, they added a test for hematocrit levels( catch blood dopers)they can test for hgh levels as well...
Alba
#12 Posted : Saturday, December 20, 2014 8:02:14 PM

kizee1 wrote:

1. Fans want to see their teams win and to witness superhuman feats, no one will pay to watch sub par athletes perform

The team with better chemicals will win. When fans see their teams constantly losing to teams with better chemicals they will lose interest.

Fans will not stomach losing to a team that is winning, not by skill or natural ability but by having better chemicals.

Secondly, who told you that athletes who are not doping are sub par. I personally do no think Rudisha, Jelimo, Kiptanui et al are doping. And they are hardly sub par. As far back as 1978 there was Henry Rono setting 3 world records in a year.

2. The side you have listed are sides of some variants of testosterone, not all variants produce them and also those who know what they are doing don't get affected, that notwithstanding, the term doping refers to the use of various drugs, testosterone being one others being hgh,insulin,EPO amongst others, these sides dont occur when these are used not that these are safe

Chemists are always rushing to produce the next great chemical. When a new chemical is produced, nobody knows the side effects. You speak of EPO but that has been around for a decade. When a new synthetic drug is produced, it is often given t athletes without even knowing the side effects.

Athletes are always using the latest synthetic drug whose side effects they do not understand. Why do you think Flo-Jo died of a heart attack at age 36?

3. Nature is the biggest cheat, some of us are born taller than others stronger smarter etc sport will never be fair, the champ will always be the champ even in sports like bodybuilding where 100% usage of PEDS occurs a champ stands out

I am not sure what your point is. But two things occur to me:
a. People want to see athletes win by natural ability. They do not like cheats. Kenyans are proud of their athletes now. If they find out its not natural ability but doping, all the pride will go out the window. In fact many Kenyans are starting to lose pride in their athletes now.

b. The champ will not always win if he is competing against a person who is doping.

4. To add to point one PEDs dont make you a champ, they allow you to stay in the game by reducing recovery times strengthening muscles thus preparing one better for their discipline...thats all from me

PEDs do indeed make you a champ.
Lok at Ben Johnson. When he was on steroids he regularly clocked 9.79 and 9.83 for the 100m. When he stopped doping he could not even run below 10.00

Same thing with Dwain Chambers. When he was doping, he ran a career best 9.85. After he was banned and re-0instated, he has never run faster than 10.05.

And Flo Jo would never have won Olympic gold without doping. She was not even good enough to qualify for 100m in 1984 then suddenly in 1988 she was Olympic champ.

And Read the story of Kelli White. Before doping she says she was not even good enough to qualify. Doping made her world champion.

Also doping helps you remain at your best for a longer time. Our own Rita Jeptoo was on the wane. she had gone 6 years without ever winning a city marathon. Her husband says she started doping in 2012. And she went from losing form to winning Chicago and Boston multiple times
#13 Posted : Saturday, December 20, 2014 10:19:47 PM

Alba wrote:
kizee1 wrote:

The team with better chemicals will win. When fans see their teams constantly losing to teams with better chemicals they will lose interest.

Fans will not stomach losing to a team that is winning, not by skill or natural ability but by having better chemicals.

Secondly, who told you that athletes who are not doping are sub par. I personally do no think Rudisha, Jelimo, Kiptanui et al are doping. And they are hardly sub par. As far back as 1978 there was Henry Rono setting 3 world records in a year.

Chemists are always rushing to produce the next great chemical. When a new chemical is produced, nobody knows the side effects. You speak of EPO but that has been around for a decade. When a new synthetic drug is produced, it is often given t athletes without even knowing the side effects.

Athletes are always using the latest synthetic drug whose side effects they do not understand. Why do you think Flo-Jo died of a heart attack at age 36?

a. People want to see athletes win by natural ability. They do not like cheats. Kenyans are proud of their athletes now. If they find out its not natural ability but doping, all the pride will go out the window. In fact many Kenyans are starting to lose pride in their athletes now.

b. The champ will not always win if he is competing against a person who is doping.

Lok at Ben Johnson. When he was on steroids he regularly clocked 9.79 and 9.83 for the 100m. When he stopped doping he could not even run below 10.00

Same thing with Dwain Chambers. When he was doping, he ran a career best 9.85. After he was banned and re-0instated, he has never run faster than 10.05.

And Flo Jo would never have won Olympic gold without doping. She was not even good enough to qualify for 100m in 1984 then suddenly in 1988 she was Olympic champ.

And Read the story of Kelli White. Before doping she says she was not even good enough to qualify. Doping made her world champion.

Also doping helps you remain at your best for a longer time. Our own Rita Jeptoo was on the wane. she had gone 6 years without ever winning a city marathon. Her husband says she started doping in 2012. And she went from losing form to winning Chicago and Boston multiple times

Sad Grim picture. I want to believe in my country.

#14 Posted : Saturday, December 20, 2014 10:27:45 PM

Na hizo dopping tings zinauzangwa wapi na pesa ngapi? Ningetaka kumaliza 42km Marathon in less than 5 hrs.d'oh! d'oh!

Hii ni kwa sababu they only seem to concentrate on the fast runners. Wengine wetu tunataka tu kumaliza
#15 Posted : Sunday, December 21, 2014 12:28:31 AM

Na hizo dopping tings zinauzangwa wapi na pesa ngapi? Ningetaka kumaliza 42km Marathon in less than 5 hrs.d'oh! d'oh!

Hii ni kwa sababu they only seem to concentrate on the fast runners. Wengine wetu tunataka tu kumaliza

Alafu kama unazimeza ndio umalize marathon, kitu ambayoyo haitawahi kukusaidia maisha, upatie bibi @Swenani, ndio apate haki yake

#16 Posted : Sunday, December 21, 2014 12:53:13 AM

Alafu kama unazimeza ndio umalize marathon, kitu ambayoyo haitawahi kukusaidia maisha, upatie bibi @Swenani, ndio apate haki yake

Laughing out loudly I change my mind
#17 Posted : Sunday, December 21, 2014 7:28:12 PM

Alba wrote:
kizee1 wrote:

Sad Grim picture. I want to believe in my country.

And a staggering Kshs 54 million potential payday goes up in smoke.
Now race directors all over the world will be wary of inviting Kenyan runners except those with a consistent and squeaky clean testing history, the prize packets reduced,...misery all round.
Waah!!!!
kizee1
#18 Posted : Sunday, December 21, 2014 11:58:59 PM

Alba wrote:
kizee1 wrote:

1. As regards fans, they will support winners, you can say what you want but sport is never fair

2. THE CHAMP WILL ALWAYS BE THE CHAMP, at the point you make it to the 100m finals of a major games you have the genetic disposition to be a champ, drugs give you that extra allowing you to train harder recover faster, funny u mention ben johnson, well every single athlete in the 88 100m finals failed a test before or after that race, including carl lewis

note this: drugs merely are the icing on the cake they allow you to train harder recover faster...steroids are actually said to slow an athlete in an explosive sport down

3. Laughable that you say people like those who win by natural ability? what is natural ability isn't testosterone natural? what is more natural a wind contoured bike and suit or testosterone?

i had the same deluded view point most have on PEDs in sports until i watched the docu BIGGER STRONGER FASTER...watch it and see what i mean
Alba
#19 Posted : Monday, December 22, 2014 4:08:34 AM

kizee1 wrote:

1. As regards fans, they will support winners, you can say what you want but sport is never fair

Eti people only support winners. Then how come many of us here on Wazua support Harambee stars yet they are perennial losers? How come people here support Arsenal yet they havent won a league title in a decade. Do you know that Arsenal has the highest number of fans in Africa?
If people only supported winners then no one would support such loser teams.
Wacha mzaha bana
The fact that sport is never fair does not mean cheats should be allowed to prosper. Based on your poor logic then since life is never fair, then the police should just allow criminals to steal

2. THE CHAMP WILL ALWAYS BE THE CHAMP, at the point you make it to the 100m finals of a major games you have the genetic disposition to be a champ, drugs give you that extra allowing you to train harder recover faster, funny u mention ben johnson, well every single athlete in the 88 100m finals failed a test before or after that race, including carl lewis

I have already provided examples of people who admitted that without doping they could never win anything.
Read Kelli White's story here
- She was not good enough to qualify for the world indoors
- She never had won a California title in high school or a conference or NCAA title

yet when she started doping she won the 100- and 200-meter titles in the U.S. championships in June and the world championships in Paris in August2003.

And ask yourself, why were East German women winning every medal in the 1970s and 1980s yet they cant win any medal nowadays.

So your notion that the champ will always be the champ is bogus.

note this: drugs merely are the icing on the cake they allow you to train harder recover faster...steroids are actually said to slow an athlete in an explosive sport down

This must be a joke. EPO which Jeptoo took works by increasing red blood cell count. EPO also increases oxyten intake (V02 Max)

In addition to helping recovery, steroids increase muscle mass and muscle strength. Thats why its used in baseball where hitting the ball further is important. In sprinting, larger muscle mass propels you further which makes you run faster.

3. Laughable that you say people like those who win by natural ability? what is natural ability isn't testosterone natural? what is more natural a wind contoured bike and suit or testosterone?

Testosterone is natural but artifically elevated levels of testosterone are a sign of cheating. Thats how the biological passport now used by IAAF works. They measure your typical testosterone levels then monitor any spikes.

Some people are more naturally talented than others. Some people like David Rudisha, Michael Phelps, Usain Bolt and Shaquille O'Neal are genetic outliers. Why is it so difficult for you to understand what natural ability is?

i had the same deluded view point most have on PEDs in sports until i watched the docu BIGGER STRONGER FASTER...watch it and see what i mean

You are still delusional. That documentary has has misled you.
#20 Posted : Monday, December 22, 2014 12:32:48 PM

In addition to helping recovery, steroids increase muscle mass and muscle strength. Thats why its used in baseball where hitting the ball further is important. In sprinting, larger muscle mass propels you further which makes you run faster.

aai!