wazua Tue, Jun 23, 2026

21 Pages<12345>»
Special Session of Parliament - Nkaissery+Security Bill
#21 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2014 12:17:26 PM

Don't always fight to win. Its the spirit in the fight that tells your opponent what you are really fighting for, not over.

"Success in life consists not in not falling alone, but in rising every time you fall."
#22 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2014 12:21:01 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly so this time round ni sawa, jeeez!!!

TAZ always has selective memory.

So selective he forgets to mention that we all support the security bill. But we all want those sections on our rights in the constitution to remain.

Just as those "foreigners" who mess around with our "sovereignty" are always doing.

TAZ ION

#23 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2014 12:21:24 PM

This alternative government is a far cry to the days when the combined opposition had less than 100 MPs.

How I miss the astuteness of James Orengo ,Muite, Mukhisa et al
thuks
#24 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2014 12:25:08 PM

Lol!!! So this is what Wetangula was calling secret weapon!!! Seriously. Were the amendments articulated? What were the changes?

They were demanding the whole bill be withdrawn! what nonsense!

Why not bring amendments to the offensive clauses? I thought they had lined up many suggestions?

Stop being rational and you've the answer.
I care!
#25 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2014 12:25:52 PM

@Alma......CORD want the security bill to be withdrawn not amended, so wacha kusema "everyone".
#26 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2014 12:26:52 PM

hopefully lunch means guys stop fighting in parliament for the afternoon session.

Waiting to see what the Jubilee hawks and the ODM hawks will spin this time. Eagerly waiting.

I wish they could just leave this to me and washiku. We'd have a security bill and one without trampling on my rights in the constitution.

We would not fight. I would have Viceroy, Washiku would have water.
#27 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2014 12:32:37 PM

JOINT PUBLIC STATEMENT ON THE KENYAN SECURITY LAWS (AMENDMENT) BILL, 2014

NAIROBI, KENYA, DECEMBER 17, 2014 – Below is a joint Public Statement by the listed Heads of Mission.

Over the past two years, Kenya has faced extraordinary security challenges. As international partners and long-time friends, we stand with Kenya in the fight to defeat al-Shabaab and terrorism.

In light of al-Shabaab’s attacks and ongoing threats, we welcome the effort by the Government of Kenya to revise and update the country’s security legislation. We encourage Kenya's elected officials to take the time to review carefully the bill now before the National Assembly and to consult broadly to build consensus. It is important that the legislation, while strengthening security, respects human rights and international obligations. Protecting Kenya’s Constitution and upholding civil liberties and democracy are among the most effective ways to bolster security.

We also urge Kenya to continue implementing broader reforms to strengthen its security services, including their ability to collaborate across agency lines and carry out operations with full respect for human rights and the rule of law. Building trust between communities and the security services is also critical.

As Kenya’s international partners, we underscore again our commitment to work with the Government and people of Kenya to meet this country’s challenges, including those related to security. We are committed to our friendship and to assisting Kenya as it works to build a more secure and prosperous nation.

Signed:
Ambassador of the United States to Kenya Robert F. Godec
High Commissioner of the United Kingdom to Kenya Dr. Christian Turner
High Commissioner of Australia to Kenya Geoff Tooth
Ambassador of the Netherlands to Kenya Joost Reintjes
Ambassador of Germany to Kenya Andreas Peschke
Ambassador of Denmark to Kenya Geert Andersen
Ambassador of France to Kenya Rémi Maréchaux
Ambassador of Sweden to Kenya Johan Borgstam
High Commissioner of Canada to Kenya David Angell
#28 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2014 12:35:00 PM

@Alma......CORD want the security bill to be withdrawn not amended, so wacha kusema "everyone".

Does it matter, njumbiree wants it passed as it is, they got the numbers.....so?
#29 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2014 12:36:29 PM

I'm appreciating the updates from all of you. Thank you.
#30 Posted : Thursday, December 18, 2014 12:38:36 PM

@Swenani....I think majority of Kenyans (hata the President) have acknowledged that certain sections of the Bill need to be amended but CORD don't want that, they want the Bill to be withdrawn in totality....hiyo ni upuzi!
21 Pages<12345>»