wazua Tue, Jun 23, 2026

3 Pages<123
Tenants to pay part of rent to KRA in new taxation plan
#21 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 8:42:14 PM

Someone correct me, but wasn't it said that employees in companies already remitting tax on their behalf don't have to file tax returns? As their taxes have already been paid?

OI!poor heavily taxed Kenyans,no wonder we have trams like Ethiopia,organised developments,sidewalks for cyclists/ pedestrians on foot and no garbage littering our roads and estates.
I wish they tax commercial properties and leave residential buildings alone, otherwise, I denounce the demon of tenancy and declare kagizzardship by yr.2015.

We have a very cordial tenant-landlord relationship,let NO government put asunder.

yaaaawn.
#22 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 9:12:10 PM

Someone correct me, but wasn't it said that employees in companies already remitting tax on their behalf don't have to file tax returns? As their taxes have already been paid?

OI!poor heavily taxed Kenyans,no wonder we have trams like Ethiopia,organised developments,sidewalks for cyclists/ pedestrians on foot and no garbage littering our roads and estates.
I wish they tax commercial properties and leave residential buildings alone, otherwise, I denounce the demon of tenancy and declare kagizzardship by yr.2015.

We have a very cordial tenant-landlord relationship,let NO government put asunder.

yaaaawn.

Welcome to the club...be warned that by the time you are through with the construction, your hair shall all be white at the age of 40...

You shall also be required to know two or three bouncers whose services you will need occasionally...and when I say bouncers, I mean the "Koroga" type not the gym ones...

You may also need the doors removal fellows who can remove five metallic doors in five minutes without damaging them...

Lastly, don't forget, never visit your tenants for rent collection at any time between 11:00am to 2:00pm and 6:00pm to 9:00pm if you will be collecting the rent yourself....

Hey something else....get yourself a good psychiatrist if you don't have one already...

By the way we love our tenants with all our hearts. In fact we do everything possible to make our tenants lives as comfortable as humanely possible and you can confirm this...but some things like rent increase and convernment's interference are beyond our control.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 1:54:28 AM

Kaigangio wrote:

Lastly, don't forget, never visit your tenants for rent collection at any time between 11:00am to 2:00pm and 6:00pm to 9:00pm if you will be collecting the rent yourself....

why?

#24 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 8:36:38 AM

Kaigangio wrote:

why?

You see @kysse those are the times that the tenants who are at home having their meals. Can you imagine this, Ms kysse has not paid me for two months (obviously for lame reasons that she wants the landlord to listen to) and probably there are others within the same compound who haven't for varying reasons. As i knock on her door at 7:30pm, she opens with a broad smile on her face and ushers me to join her and her boyfriend for supper/dinner.
Right on the dinning table are 8 sufurias each having different delicacies, a glass bowl full of fruit salad and a plate of dessert...this is a full buffet dinner almost similar to the oneI had before I started the construction of those rentals!!!
You see I don't eat like this at home because my bank account is always dry...Kysse and others pay their rents and the building financier scoops almost everything in that account and as such i find myself eating githeri with lots of beans mixed with spinach and a little pilipili and may be when I have had a good day, i could have ugali and sukuma-wiki & matumbo.
So what will prevent me from asking kysse to vacate my premises immediately after that buffet in her flat. The fact is tenants eat a much better diet than the landlords who are starving most of the time!!!
Wamunyota
#25 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 9:29:36 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
How will they know i am a tenant........ will there be some form of registration. Paye there is PIN for both employer and employee, VAT there is registration and all other levies e.g training etc

When you make your returns (in the last page) you say whether you are a tenant or in own house. If former you give the landlord's PIN. Ama wewe hapana fanya annual returns to KRA - the one that has all kenyans cue at Times Tower every year on 30th June?

There was an amendment in the finance act that reverted to the employee filing returns at the end of the financial year.This is because there are some employers who deduct the PAYE but do not remit it to the KRA.KRA needs to reconcile employees returns to that of the employer.If there is any discrepancy then KRA will do an audit.
Requesting the tenant to remit rental tax directly is unfair because:
a)The Landlord will not reduce the rent to cater for the tax and therefore the tenant will bear the burden.
b)The demand surpasses supply of houses and therefore the price is high.
c)The government has no control on the rent and therefore left to the forces of demand and supply.
d)They want to scrap the allowable deductions and therefore the tax amount could go up.
It will be difficult to enforce the law because most landlords do not have the tenants records and vise versa and also most kenyans do not file returns.
The other question is who is liable for non remittance of the tax.Landlord or tenant?
Hutia Mundu!!
#26 Posted : Wednesday, December 17, 2014 1:28:21 PM

Kaigangio wrote:

why?

You see @kysse those are the times that the tenants who are at home having their meals. Can you imagine this, Ms kysse has not paid me for two months (obviously for lame reasons that she wants the landlord to listen to) and probably there are others within the same compound who haven't for varying reasons. As i knock on her door at 7:30pm, she opens with a broad smile on her face and ushers me to join her and her boyfriend for supper/dinner.
Right on the dinning table are 8 sufurias each having different delicacies, a glass bowl full of fruit salad and a plate of dessert...this is a full buffet dinner almost similar to the oneI had before I started the construction of those rentals!!!
You see I don't eat like this at home because my bank account is always dry...Kysse and others pay their rents and the building financier scoops almost everything in that account and as such i find myself eating githeri with lots of beans mixed with spinach and a little pilipili and may be when I have had a good day, i could have ugali and sukuma-wiki & matumbo.
So what will prevent me from asking kysse to vacate my premises immediately after that buffet in her flat. The fact is tenants eat a much better diet than the landlords who are starving most of the time!!!

3 Pages<123