wazua Wed, Jul 1, 2026

Tenants to pay part of rent to KRA in new taxation plan
#11 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 12:43:51 PM

Waiting to see how long it will take Admin to merge this and thread in the blue section. Ama anaona za sieke tu?
#12 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 2:14:47 PM

space not for sale
brb..

To edit? smile smile

you could be right or wrong.smile
But pave way for a Landlord,wapi kagizzard,implications?
utaongeza rent nihame?

@ kysse...Here I am clearly watching as the circus unfold. For now:

1. I will thank the convernment for not letting me lay my hands on that rental tax.

2. You will not touch my money young lady!!!Calculate the tax based on the monthly rent that you pay and remit it to the kra, but leave the rent intact...and blame the convernment for increasing your rent by an amount equal to the value of rental tax!!!

3. I will be far too willing to increase the rent by half the value of the tax, just for you to declare that you live in my property for FREE and that the only thing that you pay for is water and electricity...Aucho!!!
#13 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 5:37:06 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
space not for sale
brb..

To edit? smile smile

utaongeza rent nihame?

1. I will thank the convernment for not letting me lay my hands on that rental tax.

2. You will not touch my money young lady!!!Calculate the tax based on the monthly rent that you pay and remit it to the kra, but leave the rent intact...and blame the convernment for increasing your rent by an amount equal to the value of rental tax!!!

3. I will be far too willing to increase the rent by half the value of the tax, just for you to declare that you live in my property for FREE and that the only thing that you pay for is water and electricity...Aucho!!!

Ngai! Ngai! Ngai! Ngai!! See what evil Kagizzard is up to?Pray

Can't you as Landlords protest to the government for potential loss of Income MUWACHANE na sisi?

Na hii tax..will it increase the value of your property or what? like will my rented house grow into a storeyed one with a flag and cheese on top?

#14 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 5:47:25 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
space not for sale
brb..

To edit? smile smile

utaongeza rent nihame?

Can't you as Landlords protest to the government for potential loss of Income MUWACHANE na sisi?

Na hii tax..will it increase the value of your property or what? like will my rented house grow into a storeyed one with a flag and cheese on top?

Hiyo maswali uliza serikali. Here's the thing, if something has the potential of reducing someone's income, and they have the ability to pass it to another, that's what they'll do. If not, they'll look for ways to maintain the same level of income.
#15 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 6:01:15 PM

You see Mr.Landlord, I can accept such an arrangement if it goes into some credible reserve that will enable me to become a landlord like you in the near future.But that is already in place.

Look here na utoe kofia na koti kuuubwa,
My income has been taxed,before I pay your rent,so unataka Watax what has been taxed?

All I am saying is this, don't pass a bad idea down to us.Fight it at the top.otherwise...

Dec 26: Countrywide Protest March
By: Tenants
Theme:My rent my choicesmile no government interference.
Dress code:Black

Munakaribishwa na usijfanye landlord kama kagizzard.We know you.smile
#16 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 6:18:32 PM

How will they know i am a tenant........ will there be some form of registration. Paye there is PIN for both employer and employee, VAT there is registration and all other levies e.g training etc

When you make your returns (in the last page) you say whether you are a tenant or in own house. If former you give the landlord's PIN. Ama wewe hapana fanya annual returns to KRA - the one that has all kenyans cue at Times Tower every year on 30th June?
thuks
#17 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 6:24:31 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
How will they know i am a tenant........ will there be some form of registration. Paye there is PIN for both employer and employee, VAT there is registration and all other levies e.g training etc

When you make your returns (in the last page) you say whether you are a tenant or in own house. If former you give the landlord's PIN. Ama wewe hapana fanya annual returns to KRA - the one that has all kenyans cue at Times Tower every year on 30th June?

The 'security amendments' require landlords to maintain a register of tenants.
I care!
#18 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 6:44:55 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Someone correct me, but wasn't it said that employees in companies already remitting tax on their behalf don't have to file tax returns? As their taxes have already been paid?
#19 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 8:10:34 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
space not for sale
brb..

To edit? smile smile

utaongeza rent nihame?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly I am gland this time round it is the convernment which is increasing the rent for us....landlords here are very innocent!

On a light note, like I said in another thread a while back, if you deduct the tax from my rent, then I will be forced to dig deeper into my pocket to pay for the construction loan...It would mean at some point that I will be unable to honour my loan obligation...What next...auctioned...then mutaanza kunichekelea ati "Kiangarie kimefirisika kabisa"!!!

The tax will not raise the value of the property and neither will it benefit the landlord in any way...My only worry would be if you stayed for a whole year and you move to an unknown part of the city without remitting the tax...can't imagine the KRA coming to my resident na wapite na mlango, after that they demand the keys to my datsun pickup KAT 137, 1962 model at hammer point...
#20 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2014 8:21:41 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
space not for sale
brb..

To edit? smile smile

utaongeza rent nihame?

Hiyo maswali uliza serikali. Here's the thing, if something has the potential of reducing someone's income, and they have the ability to pass it to another, that's what they'll do. If not, they'll look for ways to maintain the same level of income.

@Jus Blazin...That is very true. You see when a landlord concludes how much rent will be paid on a property, this rent includes many things such us, the basic return on investment, the maintenance, the care takers salary, the soldier's salary, the garbage collector's fees...So introduction of any charges that are meant to reduce the value of the prevailing rent would mean that may be the caretaker's and the soldier;s salaries and the garbage collection fees will not be available...the rent will not be reduced and even the convernment knows it!!