New Mandera Attack 36 shot
#121 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 12:45:02 PM

urstill1 wrote:
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/why-president-uhuru-cant-sack-ole-lenku-over-insecurity

The changes are not happening due to political expediency?

The decision to suspend the changes is said to have been pushed by a key and powerful security official around the President who believes it is “not necessary and helpful”.

According to sources, this is straining the relationship between Uhuru’s TNA and Deputy President William Ruto’s URP, which has been insisting on the changes

Another senior govern- ment official said that re- moving Lenku is both a political and administra- tive decision that must be weighed carefully

Enquiries by the Star have established the political backlash that Jubilee expects from removing Lenku is also a key consideration in the matter.

The Maa political class is said to believe that the position belongs to them and they therefore do not see how there can be a CS from another part of the country in the Interior docket.

Talks with the leaders from the area are also said to have stalled after the preferred replacement, Kajiado South MP Joseph Nkaissery, allegedly declined the offer.

Yes, I said it here before and it is for those two admin posts. ODM tried a censor motion and it came to a cropper thanks to threats by the Maasai to decamp from ODM and not even attempt to step into Maasailand during the ODM Okoa Kenya campaigns.

ODM silently withdrew the censure motion.

DO NOT be fooled by their loud posturing.

For short term purposes, the President needs to demand Deputy ‪Ruto‬ nominate 1 ‪Kalenjin‬ and 1 ‪Maasai‬ from ‪URP‬ to act as replacements for ‪‎Kimaiyo‬ and ‪OleLenku‬ respectively as we continue with the mid and long term security solutions.

Now that's what I call stupidity. As long as the appointees are Kalenjin or Maasai then everything is fine!! With this kind of reasoning, we are a long way to go.

The best candidate should get the job irrespective of tribe.

Politics can't allow.
#122 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 12:45:22 PM

Quick wins:

1. Replace the CS and IG with competent individuals from their respective communities to retain political stability as you seek performers.

2. Introduce a Bill to alter the 2010 Constitution which strips the NIS of abilities to per-emptively act on intel. Draft a code of conduct to handle human rights concerns. National security will however precede all other interests.

3. Relocate the Daadab refugee camp. KDF man all entry and exit to Daadab and accord UNHCR a twelve month working period to ensure this happens.

4. Table the Homeland Security Bill in Parliament for review and adoption. Have Muslim leader representation via MPs in the House sit in an inter-party and denominational committee ahead of this. Move forward with recommendations. Enact heavily punitive laws. Any national joining a foreign force and engaging in acts of war against the state needs to be treated as a foreign combatant and will be subject to military court marshal law.

5. Have new and refresher anti-terror training for all security forces at the front of the fight against terror.

6. Have the Ministry of Immigration and Labour work heavily with NIS and all those foreign nationals from select backgrounds benefiting heavily from state tenders work as state collaborators for intel purposes.

7. Setup more military bases in the Northern Frontier as well as the Coast Province.

8. Enact a policy of collective punishment to individuals or groups benefiting from the proceeds of locals who are recipient of funding for fighting against the state.

9. Engage in economic impetus programs in the NE and Coast areas from devolution and national interests fronted by state friendly politicians from the affected areas.

It's good to see your point of view.

Now can we just deal with one of these issues at a time. Just one thing at a time

Start at Point 1

1. Replace the CS and IG with competent individuals from their respective communities to retain political stability as you seek performers.

Just point 1. Then we shall believe any other story coming up this afternoon.

Washiku, keep on posting. As you can see, they do read wazua. Post mpaka they call you on your phone to tell you no more mapishas.

@Alma, I post in an individual capacity, the insinuation above is inaccurate.

Who said otherwise? d'oh!

@urstill your posts are the solution. But its easier to blame RAO and political networks and armed bandits in this country.

Get professionals who can actually arrest those responsible. Simple and clear.
holycow
#123 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 12:46:52 PM

Maybe all non-muslims should leave that place. The locals must be selling them out. There is no way Alshabaab from Somalia will come and know where non-somalis live, which bus they board, where they work...without the co-operation of the locals. Now that the government has clearly demonstrated it cant protect them, afadhali warudi kwao. Uhuru will send Chief of Staff to plead with them to stay, then a few hours after he leaves, they will be killed.

Well said. The attackers do not just fall from the sky and commit the atrocities. The locals should tell us who these people are. Also the provincial administration e.g chief, subchief, village elders, OCPD, local police, should give us the info. 20 armed attackers cant move within a community without anyone noticing.

I have been to Mandera severally with the last visit being early November. All i can tell you is that "Down Kenya" folks stand out. Very easy to monitor their moves. Most "down Kenya" folks are involved in farming in River Daua, vehicle repairs and other works.
The Administration (Chiefs, etc) are on the wanted list of the Kebabs. There was a particular police post/Chief's camp that was sprayed thoroughly, luckily, no one was injured.
urstill1
#124 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 12:50:33 PM

urstill1 wrote:
http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/why-president-uhuru-cant-sack-ole-lenku-over-insecurity

The decision to suspend the changes is said to have been pushed by a key and powerful security official around the President who believes it is “not necessary and helpful”.

According to sources, this is straining the relationship between Uhuru’s TNA and Deputy President William Ruto’s URP, which has been insisting on the changes

Another senior govern- ment official said that re- moving Lenku is both a political and administra- tive decision that must be weighed carefully

Enquiries by the Star have established the political backlash that Jubilee expects from removing Lenku is also a key consideration in the matter.

The Maa political class is said to believe that the position belongs to them and they therefore do not see how there can be a CS from another part of the country in the Interior docket.

Talks with the leaders from the area are also said to have stalled after the preferred replacement, Kajiado South MP Joseph Nkaissery, allegedly declined the offer.

Yes, I said it here before and it is for those two admin posts. ODM tried a censor motion and it came to a cropper thanks to threats by the Maasai to decamp from ODM and not even attempt to step into Maasailand during the ODM Okoa Kenya campaigns.

For short term purposes, the President needs to demand Deputy ‪Ruto‬ nominate 1 ‪Kalenjin‬ and 1 ‪Maasai‬ from ‪URP‬ to act as replacements for ‪‎Kimaiyo‬ and ‪OleLenku‬ respectively as we continue with the mid and long term security solutions.

Now that's what I call stupidity. As long as the appointees are Kalenjin or Maasai then everything is fine!! With this kind of reasoning, we are a long way to go.

@ecstasy disagrees so I have been labeled thick headed.
#125 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 12:53:19 PM

Quick wins:

2. Introduce a Bill to alter the 2010 Constitution which strips the NIS of abilities to per-emptively act on intel. Draft a code of conduct to handle human rights concerns. National security will however precede all other interests.

3. Relocate the Daadab refugee camp. KDF man all entry and exit to Daadab and accord UNHCR a twelve month working period to ensure this happens.

4. Table the Homeland Security Bill in Parliament for review and adoption. Have Muslim leader representation via MPs in the House sit in an inter-party and denominational committee ahead of this. Move forward with recommendations. Enact heavily punitive laws. Any national joining a foreign force and engaging in acts of war against the state needs to be treated as a foreign combatant and will be subject to military court marshal law.

5. Have new and refresher anti-terror training for all security forces at the front of the fight against terror.

6. Have the Ministry of Immigration and Labour work heavily with NIS and all those foreign nationals from select backgrounds benefiting heavily from state tenders work as state collaborators for intel purposes.

7. Setup more military bases in the Northern Frontier as well as the Coast Province.

8. Enact a policy of collective punishment to individuals or groups benefiting from the proceeds of locals who are recipient of funding for fighting against the state.

9. Engage in economic impetus programs in the NE and Coast areas from devolution and national interests fronted by state friendly politicians from the affected areas.

10. Have KDF removed from the AMISOM control and act as an independent force primarily guided by national interests as was the case in the march to Kismayo. Set up a transitional authority that will oversee handover back to Somalian civilian authorities with a defined timeline of not more than five years for budgetary purposes.

11. Amend KDF communications protocol to maximise use of social media for actual and propaganda purposes.

12. Review formal coordination, command and control response to reported threats and incident levels.

13. Introduce monetary value to civilians targeting poor neighborhoods for viable actionable intel.

14. Review recruitment process for NIS officers with a view to ending the practice of hiring huge bulk of children of the well to do whose output is possibly not commensurate to perks received.

15. Increase defense spending as per agreed upon objectives.

urstill1
#126 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 12:54:05 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Politics can't allow.

Can't they get a security script from Moi!!! I don't think the old man was ever held hostage in matters political appointments.
#127 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 12:57:31 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Politics can't allow.

Exactly.

I personally wouldn't care if UK hired only Luos or Kikuyus or Kaleos so long as they did a stellar job! The value chain would be beneficial for all.

It's dishonest to complain of tribal considerations which are entrenched in a constitution you voted for! Laughing out loudly
limanika
#128 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 12:58:53 PM

Anyone with relatives in upper and lower north eastern kindly ask them to evacuate. If uhuruto didn't know when to sack his NSAC, they won't know how to guide their replacement either! I estimate our intelligence will take 1 year to catch up with that of al shabab
#129 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:02:44 PM

Now one needs to be of the right tribe and religion to escape with his sorry life.

Why can't you just embrace death and move on?
#130 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:03:02 PM

@ecstacy...please explain. Ati Uhuru is forced to select a Kalenjin or a Maasai by the constitution of Kenya?

Can we be serious for once in our lives.

If the President doesn't have the guts to remove an incompetent person because a certain tribe will complain, why don't we get another one who will?

Are you seriously saying that the President would be impeached for removing Ole Lenku from security? Then please reshuffle them to different ministries. Keep the same guys. But please remove Ole Lenku and Kimaiyo from their seats.

Yaani I can imagine someone telling Moi, "mimi mzee siwezi toka kwa sababu kabila yangu italeta nyef nyef?" The guy would hire your own son hapo hapo.
urstill1
#131 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:06:37 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Politics can't allow.

Exactly.

I personally wouldn't care if UK hired only Luos or Kikuyus or Kaleos so long as they did a stellar job! The value chain would be beneficial for all.

It's dishonest to complain of tribal considerations which are entrenched in a constitution you voted for! Laughing out loudly

In your books that is far second to the tribe of the individual. It's so disheartening that in Kenya we have been held hostage by our tribes upto a level where our tribe dictates what we do and think. We can no longer reason as independent soundly educated individuals, we reason by tribes before anything. The educated who are supposed to redeem this country are the same ones who encourage such kind of appointments in the name of politics can't allow, that's the mentality the educated/middle class have installed in their brains. The problem in this country is with the elite and the middle class. The poor and uneducated majority can not do anything.
#132 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:09:48 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Politics can't allow.

Exactly.

In your books that is far second to the tribe of the individual. It's so disheartening that in Kenya we have been held hostage by our tribes upto a level where our tribe dictates what we do and think. We can no longer reason as independent soundly educated individuals, we reason by tribes before anything. The educated who are supposed to redeem this country are the same ones who encourage such kind of appointments in the name of politics can't allow, that's the mentality the educated/middle class have installed in their brains. The problem in this country is with the elite and the middle class. The poor and uneducated majority can not do anything.

You mix issues.

Are you talking what is ideal in Kenya 2014 OR what is practical in 2014 in Kenya?

As we argue semantics here, the KDF soldiers are locked up in a serious fire fight with Al Shabaab. They don't know tribe, they fight for each other. I wish this apolitical thinking which is institutionalized there was more pervasive across Kenya.
#133 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:14:51 PM

A stage might be getting set to militarize the country.....prepare for any possibilities ladies & gentlemen.
Mtu Biz
#134 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:15:42 PM

Now one needs to be of the right tribe and religion to escape with his sorry life.

Why can't you just embrace death and move on?

Not possible where cause of death cannot be embraced.

Sola Scriptura

urstill1
#135 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:16:42 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Politics can't allow.

Exactly.

You mix issues.

Are you talking what is ideal in Kenya 2014 OR what is practical in 2014 in Kenya?

Real!!! Do you want to tell me that Uhuru can not appoint non Maasai/Kalenjin heads in the security dockets. The problem squarely lies with Uhuru and it started the day he started having tribal deals with communities. Now he is held hostage he can not to this and that coz of those agreements that do not benefit over 90% of Kenyans. As a matter of fact, they are hurting us and our economy. It is time he grew some serious steel balls and says kiume. Legacy requires steel balls and that's why Kibs has no legacy in my books and M01 is a hero to me as an ordinary Kenyan. His tactic was brutal, but worked for a majority of us.
#136 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:19:00 PM

Quick wins:

Very well put. But now, ooh I ask, which of these am I supposed to implement as an individual? Which one of these do not require the leadership/guidance by the govt?
#137 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:20:52 PM

Foolish Kenyans, can you see the twist?

#138 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:23:12 PM

What are the Imams in Mandera doing to stop the killings? They should at least talk to the youth to stop these killings which are purely based on religion.
Baratang
#139 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:27:17 PM

Foolish Kenyans, can you see the twist?

So are we supposed to cry our hearts out in protest???

And yes Ruto is responsible for the masacres!! Thanks for the info.
#140 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 1:34:43 PM

What are the Imams in Mandera doing to stop the killings? They should at least talk to the youth to stop these killings which are purely based on religion.

Talking to the youth?? The new Imams are the youth!