wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Knockoff Chinese Evoque
smallfama
#21 Posted : Sunday, November 30, 2014 10:49:20 PM

They should make fake elephant ivory also, that way they'll stop the killing of our jumbos. This game of faking stuff beat them though when they made condoms using Chinese measurements and shipped them to Africa.
#22 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 3:04:39 PM

@mukiri - Have you ever done research?? One year plus of research? The day you will do, you'll understand IP Rights!!!

Now imagine companies have spent BILLIONS of their own dollars and DECADES researching on Cancer, HIV etc. and they haven't got a cure/vaccine yet. When they do, how do you propose they recover their money???

And this happens across all industries. Look around you right now. Most of the things you see are there because someone invested time and money in R & D.

If you want something to be freely available YOU invest in it's R & D. Even YOU as @mukiri!!! If you want there to be an anti malaria vaccine that any company can manufacture freely YOU invest in it's R & D!!!!!

@Maich some things are better off being shared freely by the human race. Imagine if the guys who invented fire were still collecting licence fees. Or the guy who invented the wheel.

Let's get real! Do you know how much goes into the development and refinement of EACH component of a car. You think the engine, battery, braking system, gearbox etc. perform better just by magic? Do you know the concept to market time and cost of some of these cars??? Some vehicles take years and billions of collars between concept development and time the first car hits the market. And there are a myriad of challenges along the way that need the best minds in the industry to sort out.

On your examples, not all inventions get absolute protection. Like in the US, there are some that get a 7 year protection period within which it is expected you'll have recouped your costs and turned in a profit. And even after the protection period is over, you still enjoy the advantage of being 7 years ahead of the rest.

And start watching documentaries. Like today I was watching a Dr? Sanjay Gupta piece on CNN which illustrated why rare diseases have no cure. It is not because they are more complex than other diseases. It's because no major pharmaceutical company would dare invest in their research. They would NEVER recoup their money given the small 'market' from any drug they would develop for the disease. This would be the case with all the other diseases and everything else without IP protection.

But all is not lost. Even now you can get funding from different bodies for any important research you want to carry out and in most cases they demand that all the findings should be published and be freely available to EVERYONE! It's a win - win situation. You get handsomely paid for your effort. Your findings help the entire humanity. And the philanthropists - who are the funders - make an important contribution to mankind. This is part of their self actualization. If you are a serious researcher, go to Melinda and Bill Gates foundation or Bill Clinton foundation with a serious proposal on HIV or Malaria vaccine research and see if they will not fund it in the tune of millions of dollars. Anything that comes out of the research they make it freely available to everyone. Research is damn expensive. SOMEONE HAS TO PAY!!!

@Maichblack come slowly bwuana. If you were God you sound like you would be selling us oxygen Laughing out loudly
Wacha Hii kitu ikuje tuendeshe!

Applause Applause Applause They should open a factory in Keniasmile

@MB, You sound like you fart wisdom, and everyone should be lucky to smell it. Wasn't it you, who kept shouting that loans are bad and everyone should save, for capital?

I found that as laughable, as I find your 'wisdom' on this matter.

Say your truth pole pole. You are as much entitled to your opinion, as everyone else is... but don't infringe on anyone elses. Donge

#23 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 6:26:09 PM

@mukiri - Have you ever done research?? One year plus of research? The day you will do, you'll understand IP Rights!!!

Now imagine companies have spent BILLIONS of their own dollars and DECADES researching on Cancer, HIV etc. and they haven't got a cure/vaccine yet. When they do, how do you propose they recover their money???

And this happens across all industries. Look around you right now. Most of the things you see are there because someone invested time and money in R & D.

If you want something to be freely available YOU invest in it's R & D. Even YOU as @mukiri!!! If you want there to be an anti malaria vaccine that any company can manufacture freely YOU invest in it's R & D!!!!!

@Maich some things are better off being shared freely by the human race. Imagine if the guys who invented fire were still collecting licence fees. Or the guy who invented the wheel.

Let's get real! Do you know how much goes into the development and refinement of EACH component of a car. You think the engine, battery, braking system, gearbox etc. perform better just by magic? Do you know the concept to market time and cost of some of these cars??? Some vehicles take years and billions of collars between concept development and time the first car hits the market. And there are a myriad of challenges along the way that need the best minds in the industry to sort out.

On your examples, not all inventions get absolute protection. Like in the US, there are some that get a 7 year protection period within which it is expected you'll have recouped your costs and turned in a profit. And even after the protection period is over, you still enjoy the advantage of being 7 years ahead of the rest.

And start watching documentaries. Like today I was watching a Dr? Sanjay Gupta piece on CNN which illustrated why rare diseases have no cure. It is not because they are more complex than other diseases. It's because no major pharmaceutical company would dare invest in their research. They would NEVER recoup their money given the small 'market' from any drug they would develop for the disease. This would be the case with all the other diseases and everything else without IP protection.

But all is not lost. Even now you can get funding from different bodies for any important research you want to carry out and in most cases they demand that all the findings should be published and be freely available to EVERYONE! It's a win - win situation. You get handsomely paid for your effort. Your findings help the entire humanity. And the philanthropists - who are the funders - make an important contribution to mankind. This is part of their self actualization. If you are a serious researcher, go to Melinda and Bill Gates foundation or Bill Clinton foundation with a serious proposal on HIV or Malaria vaccine research and see if they will not fund it in the tune of millions of dollars. Anything that comes out of the research they make it freely available to everyone. Research is damn expensive. SOMEONE HAS TO PAY!!!

@Maichblack come slowly bwuana. If you were God you sound like you would be selling us oxygen Laughing out loudly
Wacha Hii kitu ikuje tuendeshe!

Applause Applause Applause They should open a factory in Keniasmile

@MB, You sound like you fart wisdom, and everyone should be lucky to smell it. Wasn't it you, who kept shouting that loans are bad and everyone should save, for capital?

I found that as laughable, as I find your 'wisdom' on this matter.

Say your truth pole pole. You are as much entitled to your opinion, as everyone else is... but don't infringe on anyone elses. Donge

Post ignored:

Reason: Detected.....

#24 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 6:35:06 PM

#25 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 11:40:57 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Okei. I didn't know a child was reading my comments.

Our taxes should help fund research. The profits our tertiary education systems can help fund research. I fail to see how companies make billions in profits, and not better the lives of its clients... from same profits. Maneno of hoarding, God-given brain-power, hapana mzuri. Yes, the car was 'researched' in the UK, fungua factory in China, and Kenia and manufacture it at reasonable prices... so that even the baby reading this comment, can get himself one. Ama?

meme
#26 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 7:26:58 AM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Okei. I didn't know a child was reading my comments.

Our taxes should help fund research. The profits our tertiary education systems can help fund research. I fail to see how companies make billions in profits, and not better the lives of its clients... from same profits. Maneno of hoarding, God-given brain-power, hapana mzuri. Yes, the car was 'researched' in the UK, fungua factory in China, and Kenia and manufacture it at reasonable prices... so that even the baby reading this comment, can get himself one. Ama?

MB.... wachana na kanyari. He just doesnt get it...
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
#27 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 10:24:24 AM

meme wrote:

@Meme you also belief that research equates to discovery of new knowledge for which the discoverer should have absolute monopoly??
meme
#28 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 4:35:52 PM

meme wrote:

@Meme you also belief that research equates to discovery of new knowledge for which the discoverer should have absolute monopoly??

@sparkly....Yes! I have reservations though. It does seem immoral, but hard work has to be recognized and rewarded.

Now in a more specific case like this one at hand... there are no 2 ways about it. You cannot simply clone someones design and ride of its glory. hehe
Patience. You cannot have a baby in one month by impregnating nine women....
Fomoney
#29 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 5:05:40 PM

@Sparkly if driving a fake range distracts them from poverty then go for it. Maichblack was just trying to state the real side of IP and why it matters. It's ironical that this argument is happening through tech that happened due to IP laws e.g comps,smartphone etc. And copy right laws don't protect for life. Copying is just foul, like people won't know junk with makeup.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 6:27:05 PM

ati IP ya gari, its like preventing watu wa mutindwa from making tables just because some guys at ikea hired marangi to paint their tables rainbow colors, and got the wazua resident engineer to fix nuts and bolts instead of using the black coated nails from kayole. smile
#31 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 7:44:36 PM

ati IP ya gari, its like preventing watu wa mutindwa from making tables just because some guys at ikea hired marangi to paint their tables rainbow colors, and got the wazua resident engineer to fix nuts and bolts instead of using the black coated nails from kayole. smile

Ile Mobius iko na IP?d'oh!
#32 Posted : Wednesday, December 03, 2014 5:48:47 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Ile Mobius iko na IP?d'oh!

lazima, otherwise very soon utapata knock offs hapo kariobangi light industries smile
#33 Posted : Wednesday, December 03, 2014 6:48:22 PM

When is this Landwin coming to Kenya???What will the cost be for an eight year old in 2022????????????????
#34 Posted : Saturday, December 06, 2014 3:06:51 AM

I hope they can also fake a Bugatti!

Anxious Anxious

D32
#35 Posted : Sunday, December 07, 2014 3:27:55 AM

Anxious Anxious

They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
#36 Posted : Sunday, December 07, 2014 11:00:25 AM

D32 wrote:

Anxious Anxious

#37 Posted : Monday, December 08, 2014 2:04:29 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
D32 wrote:

Anxious Anxious