wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Knockoff Chinese Evoque
D32
#1 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2014 5:02:51 PM

It's called the Landwind X7, going for £14,000

The original Evoque goes for about £40,000

"Landwind is hosting the world premiere of the X7 at this week's 2014 Guangzhou Auto Show"

"... with power coming from a Mitsubishi-sourced 2.0-liter turbocharged gasoline engine producing 204PS (201hp) and 250Nm (184 lb-ft) of peak torque paired to either a 6-speed manual or an 8-speed automatic..."

Jaguar Land Rover is suing them.

More pic's http://www.carscoops.com...-chinas-range-rover.html
They tried to bury us, they didn't know we were seeds.
majimaji
#2 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2014 6:09:05 PM

fake it till you make it. i wouldn't mind buying one
#3 Posted : Monday, November 24, 2014 7:29:52 PM

8 speed transmission!!!!! Kumbe Niko nyuma mbovu. My speeds stopped at 5 and I can't wrap my oblongata round an extra 3 speeds.....Sad
XSK
#4 Posted : Tuesday, November 25, 2014 2:43:37 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
8 speed transmission!!!!! Kumbe Niko nyuma mbovu. My speeds stopped at 5 and I can't wrap my oblongata round an extra 3 speeds.....Sad

I like 'em Chinese!
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, November 26, 2014 8:57:44 PM

Watu wa genuine Range Rover Evoque waanze kuweka rivets kwa hizo ninio pronto!
#6 Posted : Thursday, November 27, 2014 9:37:45 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Na earrings kwa side mirror

Seen the complete photos, the prices is an affordabel £14,000

If it they open a branch in Kenya,I will graduate to th Landwind...I wish they had named it roverlandor just the Rover

Can you imagine if they were to manufacture their own version of vitz?It will probably go for 100K.

Ati in china,copyright is understood to mean right to copy

God bless the chinese
#7 Posted : Thursday, November 27, 2014 10:23:22 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

If it they open a branch in Kenya,I will graduate to th Landwind...I wish they had named it roverlandor just the Rover

Can you imagine if they were to manufacture their own version of vitz?It will probably go for 100K.

God bless the chinese

Will be $28,000 after KRA are through with you....
#8 Posted : Friday, November 28, 2014 1:42:47 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

God bless the chinese

This post is very entertaining smile
#9 Posted : Friday, November 28, 2014 6:02:51 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

God bless the chinese

China has a strategy... COPY until further notice. The IP system is created to defend some people not everyone. sisi Waafrika love enforcing it and kumbe they don't help/assist us.
#10 Posted : Friday, November 28, 2014 7:52:39 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

God bless the chinese

China has a strategy... COPY until further notice. The IP system is created to defend some people not everyone. sisi Waafrika love enforcing it and kumbe they don't help/assist us.

Exactly what the US did to Europe till they bypassed them in the 18th and 19th centuries.
#11 Posted : Friday, November 28, 2014 8:51:44 PM

Intellectual property should be freely shared. Monopoly hapana mzuri. Come up with a product and open factories all over to make it. Imagine if we had Rovers being made in Kenya? Or all other cars for that matter!? I can't fault the Chinese, infact mtu akinunua hiyo gari, alafu atoe label #imjustsaying

#12 Posted : Saturday, November 29, 2014 12:44:58 PM

Intellectual property should be freely shared. Monopoly hapana mzuri. Come up with a product and open factories all over to make it. Imagine if we had Rovers being made in Kenya? Or all other cars for that matter!? I can't fault the Chinese, infact mtu akinunua hiyo gari, alafu atoe label #imjustsaying

Assuming you can fit genuine Range Rover parts into this Land Wind, the spares will be more costly than the car. Uza gari ununue engine na magurundumu Laughing out loudly
#13 Posted : Saturday, November 29, 2014 3:07:30 PM

Assuming you can fit genuine Range Rover parts into this Land Wind, the spares will be more costly than the car. Uza gari ununue engine na magurundumu Laughing out loudly

#14 Posted : Sunday, November 30, 2014 10:05:10 AM

Are you kidding me???? Without Intellectual Property Rights, we would all be hundreds of years behind. No one would invest in Research and Development. In some instances research and development for a single product costs BILLIONS OF DOĹLARS! Before the first item hits the market you are Billions in the red. How do you allow people who have spent ZERO copy the item and start selling the same product. How do you compete with them? How do you ever recover your Billions?? Most importantly, Why would you want to spend a single join EVER AGAIN on Research and Development????

Your comment is extremely unfortunate. More so coming from a Wazuan!!! Intellectual Property Rights are one of the most important things in Research and Development. You feel comfortable sinking tonnes of money and hundreds of thousands of (expert) man hours in R & D knowing very well your product will be protected and you'll get a chance to recover your money and even turn in a profit if what you come up with is useful to the society. You can also license others at your discretion.
#15 Posted : Sunday, November 30, 2014 10:29:28 AM

@mukiri - Have you ever done research?? One year plus of research? The day you will do, you'll understand IP Rights!!!

Now imagine companies have spent BILLIONS of their own dollars and DECADES researching on Cancer, HIV etc. and they haven't got a cure/vaccine yet. When they do, how do you propose they recover their money???

And this happens across all industries. Look around you right now. Most of the things you see are there because someone invested time and money in R & D.

If you want something to be freely available YOU invest in it's R & D. Even YOU as @mukiri!!! If you want there to be an anti malaria vaccine that any company can manufacture freely YOU invest in it's R & D!!!!!
#16 Posted : Sunday, November 30, 2014 1:30:56 PM

@mukiri - Have you ever done research?? One year plus of research? The day you will do, you'll understand IP Rights!!!

Now imagine companies have spent BILLIONS of their own dollars and DECADES researching on Cancer, HIV etc. and they haven't got a cure/vaccine yet. When they do, how do you propose they recover their money???

And this happens across all industries. Look around you right now. Most of the things you see are there because someone invested time and money in R & D.

If you want something to be freely available YOU invest in it's R & D. Even YOU as @mukiri!!! If you want there to be an anti malaria vaccine that any company can manufacture freely YOU invest in it's R & D!!!!!

@Maich some things are better off being shared freely by the human race. Imagine if the guys who invented fire were still collecting licence fees. Or the guy who invented the wheel.
#17 Posted : Sunday, November 30, 2014 6:44:29 PM

@Maich some things are better off being shared freely by the human race. Imagine if the guys who invented fire were still collecting licence fees. Or the guy who invented the wheel.

Let's get real! Do you know how much goes into the development and refinement of EACH component of a car. You think the engine, battery, braking system, gearbox etc. perform better just by magic? Do you know the concept to market time and cost of some of these cars??? Some vehicles take years and billions of dollars between concept development and time the first car hits the market. And there are a myriad of challenges along the way that need the best minds in the industry to sort out.

On your examples, not all inventions get absolute protection. Like in the US, there are some that get a 7 year protection period within which it is expected you'll have recouped your costs and turned in a profit. And even after the protection period is over, you still enjoy the advantage of being 7 years ahead of the rest.

And start watching documentaries. Like today I was watching a Dr. Sanjay Gupta piece on CNN which illustrated why rare diseases have no cure. It is not because they are more complex than other diseases. It's because no major pharmaceutical company would dare invest in their research. They would NEVER recoup their money given the small 'market' from any drug they would develop for the disease. This would be the case with all the other diseases and everything else without IP protection.

But all is not lost. Even now you can get funding from different bodies for any important research you want to carry out and in most cases they demand that all the findings should be published and be freely available to EVERYONE! It's a win - win situation. You get handsomely paid for your effort. Your findings help the entire humanity. And the philanthropists - who are the funders - make an important contribution to mankind. This is part of their self actualization. If you are a serious researcher, go to Melinda and Bill Gates foundation or Bill Clinton foundation with a serious proposal on HIV or Malaria vaccine research and see if they will not fund it in the tune of millions of dollars. Anything that comes out of the research they make it freely available to everyone. Research is damn expensive. SOMEONE HAS TO PAY!!!
#18 Posted : Sunday, November 30, 2014 8:30:16 PM

Let's get real! Do you know how much goes into the development and refinement of EACH component of a car. You think the engine, battery, braking system, gearbox etc. perform better just by magic? Do you know the concept to market time and cost of some of these cars??? Some vehicles take years and billions of collars between concept development and time the first car hits the market. And there are a myriad of challenges along the way that need the best minds in the industry to sort out.

On your examples, not all inventions get absolute protection. Like in the US, there are some that get a 7 year protection period within which it is expected you'll have recouped your costs and turned in a profit. And even after the protection period is over, you still enjoy the advantage of being 7 years ahead of the rest.

And start watching documentaries. Like today I was watching a Dr? Sanjay Gupta piece on CNN which illustrated why rare diseases have no cure. It is not because they are more complex than other diseases. It's because no major pharmaceutical company would dare invest in their research. They would NEVER recoup their money given the small 'market' from any drug they would develop for the disease. This would be the case with all the other diseases and everything else without IP protection.

But all is not lost. Even now you can get funding from different bodies for any important research you want to carry out and in most cases they demand that all the findings should be published and be freely available to EVERYONE! It's a win - win situation. You get handsomely paid for your effort. Your findings help the entire humanity. And the philanthropists - who are the funders - make an important contribution to mankind. This is part of their self actualization. If you are a serious researcher, go to Melinda and Bill Gates foundation or Bill Clinton foundation with a serious proposal on HIV or Malaria vaccine research and see if they will not fund it in the tune of millions of dollars. Anything that comes out of the research they make it freely available to everyone. Research is damn expensive. SOMEONE HAS TO PAY!!!

@Maichblack come slowly bwuana. If you were God you sound like you would be selling us oxygen Laughing out loudly
Wacha Hii kitu ikuje tuendeshe!
#19 Posted : Sunday, November 30, 2014 9:07:42 PM

@sparkly - No comment. I'm trying to give a logical explanation based on facts while you on the other hand....
#20 Posted : Sunday, November 30, 2014 10:17:20 PM

@sparkly - No comment. I'm trying to give a logical explanation based on facts while you on the other hand....

@Maichblack not to slight your arguments... But you surely know that Henry Ford, he who brought affordable cars to the mass market did so without a licence. At that time the patent for all kerosine/ gasoline cars ( Selden Patent) was held by the Association of Licenced Manufacturers (ALAM). Ford applied for a licence and was denied but went ahead anyway creating the Model T and taking on ALAM for close to 10 years.

If the Chinese are want to give us Range Rover technology at Mobius prices, I say they are following well in the footsteps of Henry Ford... away with patents, let the common man drive a Range