President Uhuru Answers Critics Umefanya Nini?
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Swenani wrote:tycho wrote:washiku wrote:This was funny, almost rude  but ni sawa tu. But at least he agrees with us Let's just say @washiku, @Alma, your ideas about citizenship are inadequate. You really need to stop thinking that your taxes and votes are all we need to have a good life. Ehe,what should they do? A citizen's first role is to exercise the responsibilities implied by the bill of rights. And to promote the responsibility to other citizens and in all activities.
tycho wrote:Swenani wrote:tycho wrote:washiku wrote:This was funny, almost rude  but ni sawa tu. But at least he agrees with us Let's just say @washiku, @Alma, your ideas about citizenship are inadequate. You really need to stop thinking that your taxes and votes are all we need to have a good life. Ehe,what should they do? A citizen's first role is to exercise the responsibilities implied by the bill of rights. And to promote the responsibility to other citizens and in all activities. Boss, by asking my president to play his role, I am just exercising one of my RESPONSIBILITIES(Note its not RIGHTS but RESPONSIBILITY) as per the Bill of Rights Kenyans have the responsibility to ensure Executive authority is exercised in a manner that serves them and for their well-being and benefit.http://info.mzalendo.com/info/citizens-rights
Quote:Responsibilities
Regardless of the presence of elected representatives:
Every citizen has an obligation to respect, uphold and defend Kenya’s sovereignty.
Citizens also have a responsibility to live out the national values and principles of: patriotism, national unity, sharing and devolution of power, the rule of law, democracy and participation of the people. They are to uphold human dignity, equity, social justice, inclusiveness, equality, human rights, non-discrimination and protection of the marginalized.
In addition, citizens should ensure good governance, integrity and accountability are upheld.
Every Kenyan has the responsibility to uphold the rights and fundamental freedoms in the Bill of Rights and to ensure they are observed in making social, economic and cultural policies. Every person has a duty to cooperate with the State to protect and conserve the environment and the country’s natural resources and ensure sustainable development is carried out.
Citizens are expected to monitor how state officers are functioning to ensure the guiding principles of leadership and integrity are respected and maintained. The guiding principles include:
Selection based on personal integrity, competence and suitability or election in a free and fair election; Objectivity and impartiality in decision making and in ensuring decisions are not influenced by nepotism, favouritism and other improper practices; Selfless service based on public interest is maintained; Accountability to the public for decisions and actions; and Discipline and commitment in service to the people. Citizens should promote the realization of the principles of the electoral system. The electoral system principles include:
a) Freedom of citizens to exercise their political rights;
b) Not a more than two thirds of the members of the elective public bodies shall be of the same gender;
c) Fair representation of persons with disabilities;
d) Universal suffrage based on the aspiration for fair representation and equality of vote; and
e) Free and fair elections which are:
By secret ballot; Free from violence, intimidation, improper influence or corruption; Conducted by an independent body; Transparent; and Administered in an impartial neutral, efficient, accurate and accountable manner. Adult Kenyans are expected to vote the right people to office by participating in elections.
The electorate has the right and responsibility to recall their Member of Parliament before the end of their term in office.
Citizens can also petition Parliament to consider matters within its authority and enact, amend or repeal legislation. Citizens also have an obligation to ensure presidential candidates meet the qualifications for the post. Kenyans have the responsibility to ensure Executive authority is exercised in a manner that serves them and for their well-being and benefit.
County assemblies should facilitate public participation and involvement in the legislative and other business of the assembly including its committees. Public participation in the public finance process is expected and the government has to maintain openness and accountability through the structure to promote an equitable society.
Members of the public must be involved in the public-service policymaking process. The public must also hold all public service institutions accountable for their work.
Citizens have to ensure the government protects its people rights and freedoms and the country against internal and external threats to its territorial integrity and sovereignty.
Citizens are obligated to ensure the constitution is interpreted in a manner that promotes its purposes, values and principles, advances rule of law, human rights and Bill of Rights, permits development of the law and contributes to good governance.
tycho wrote:Swenani wrote:tycho wrote:washiku wrote:This was funny, almost rude  but ni sawa tu. But at least he agrees with us Let's just say @washiku, @Alma, your ideas about citizenship are inadequate. You really need to stop thinking that your taxes and votes are all we need to have a good life. Ehe,what should they do? A citizen's first role is to exercise the responsibilities implied by the bill of rights. And to promote the responsibility to other citizens and in all activities. As usual talking in parables that make absolutely no sense. Going by your statement thus far, Washiku and I have promoted responsibility in a citizen no less as the President of Kenya. We have said that the security team needs to do more. A person no less than the President tweeted back and agreed with us. We have highlighted an irresponsible tweet from whoever was tweeting in the name of our president, and the President has removed that offensive tweet. What have you done Mr. responsible citizen. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
These tweets suggest the big man is squirming. There is discomfort in the house on the hill which is a big surprise to me as UK has advisors who consider themselves the sharpest in Kenya. What happened. "The purpose of bureaucracy is to compensate for incompetence and lack of discipline." James Collins
 Was msthandlicious thandered?the look by the two guys behindis priceless If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
@alma, @washiku, what you've done so far, is to show us what the constitution says with regard to what the responsible citizen should do with regards to the body politic. That's good and acceptable but as I repeat again, that's not enough to promote a good life. The wrong man using the right way will surely botch things up.
I hope alma you know how to read, the bill of rights is about pre-political rights, and these rights come with a responsibility that can't be written in a constitution. It's when one knows and executes these responsibilities that he/she is capable of being a responsible citizen. And that's the only time offices in the body politic can be efficient. But because you mass men think this is a parable you can't understand you want the government to play your role, and it can't. And when told the truth you take offence.
tycho wrote:@alma, @washiku, what you've done so far, is to show us what the constitution says with regard to what the responsible citizen should do with regards to the body politic. That's good and acceptable but as I repeat again, that's not enough to promote a good life. The wrong man using the right way will surely botch things up.
I hope alma you know how to read, the bill of rights is about pre-political rights, and these rights come with a responsibility that can't be written in a constitution. It's when one knows and executes these responsibilities that he/she is capable of being a responsible citizen. And that's the only time offices in the body politic can be efficient. But because you mass men think this is a parable you can't understand you want the government to play your role, and it can't. And when told the truth you take offence. Hehehe...ati Mass men? Hiyo ni kumaanisha wanono ama? Anyway, this is what you wrote: tycho wrote: A citizen's first role is to exercise the responsibilities implied by the bill of rights. And to promote the responsibility to other citizens and in all activities.
Then I used the same to show how I am doing what you are saying I do. By the way, what are you doing yourself as a responsible Mass man? ama wewe sio Mass kama sisi?
washiku wrote:tycho wrote:@alma, @washiku, what you've done so far, is to show us what the constitution says with regard to what the responsible citizen should do with regards to the body politic. That's good and acceptable but as I repeat again, that's not enough to promote a good life. The wrong man using the right way will surely botch things up.
I hope alma you know how to read, the bill of rights is about pre-political rights, and these rights come with a responsibility that can't be written in a constitution. It's when one knows and executes these responsibilities that he/she is capable of being a responsible citizen. And that's the only time offices in the body politic can be efficient. But because you mass men think this is a parable you can't understand you want the government to play your role, and it can't. And when told the truth you take offence. Hehehe...ati Mass men? Hiyo ni kumaanisha wanono ama? Anyway, this is what you wrote: tycho wrote: A citizen's first role is to exercise the responsibilities implied by the bill of rights. And to promote the responsibility to other citizens and in all activities.
Then I used the same to show how I am doing what you are saying I do. By the way, what are you doing yourself as a responsible Mass man? ama wewe sio Mass kama sisi? Fortunately am no mass man. And it seems you hardly know the 'responsibilities implied by the bill of rights' besides, as I have distinguished, those that are stipulated concerning political office. If you want to know who 'mass man' is find Ortega ý Gasset 'rebellion of the masses'. http://en.m.wikipedia.or...The_Revolt_of_the_Masses
At least Washiku you understood what he said. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
President Uhuru Answers Critics Umefanya Nini?