Shabaab suspects ambush bus near Mandera, kill 28
Rank: Veteran Joined: 4/27/2010 Posts: 951 Location: Nyumbani
mawinder wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:mawinder wrote: There is no we are one campaign and no redcross soliciting for donations unlike Westgate because those killed were poor people.
Spot on!!!!! Even for the Kapedo massacre and Lamu. They should attack Lavington and Runda more instead of poor people!!!!!!!!!! And then people will run to wazua and start saying i knew sijui who and who on the list.
Kratos wrote:Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:Kratos wrote:The way i understand it, is we have homegrown terrorists and those coming from Somalia and lastly their sympathizers right here. To improve the security situation in the country there needs to be more effort from the citizenry to come forward with information no matter how irrelevant they think it is. Case in point, during the lamu attacks it is well documented that some of the attackers spoke fluent Swahili. That means some were Kenyans. From which families, neighbourhoods and clans did they come from? Is it possible that none of their relatives and friends never noticed that they had become militant? Then there are the sympathizers who provide logistical support e.g how did the foreign bandits gain entry into the country. A good example on how to fight this evil is to use similar tactics as used on the mungiki and sdlf. Let the local communities support the operation without coming up with excuses about profiling and human rights. If they're not willing round everyone up and weed them out and gather information on those with suspected links. The buggers must be celebrating on how we have turned on each other instead of focusing on them.My two Zim dollars @kratos, in summary, the major challenge is that there is no one to coordinate a response to the issues as you have detailed above. In my view the main challenge is that as a society we need to do more than just wait for the government or anyone else for that matter. Its the little things that we can do personally. Remember that video footage of a bag left at JKIA unattended? No one cared enough to let the authorities know, in fact no one noticed anything wrong with the picture. I believe that the main reason as to why its harder to attack countries like the US is that the citizenry there distrust strangers. To join a club you need to be introduced, to move into a neighbourhood there is some sort of background check. Here we call it profiling, there they call it collecting intelligence(information). You don't necessarily need a good police chief to report suspicious activity or report your relative anonymously whom you suspect is into the business of terror. I think if as a society we have done our part only then can we point fingers outwards. The day someone will come out and say "hey! I called the police regarding those guys there and nothing was done about it" Point home. I know like in countries like Switzerland if you want to build a house or buy one, the neighbors are asked their opinion. As you say in Kenya it's profiling. There will be loud mouths like Hassan Omar and Alphdoti who will claim they are targeting muslims. They forget the gov is not going to check on the Kambas in mayakos for problems happening in Mbsa.But if its to report, whom do you report to ? call 999 ? is there a number for the antiterrorist police unit that is know to the public? Will they respond? like the example you gave above on the bag left at JKIA or jobless corner. Its Kenyan culture the police are busy doing other stuff like collecting tax, just like some civil servant who would rather go check on their farms or matatus instead of being in the office doing what they are paid to do.
kiash wrote:mawinder wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:mawinder wrote: There is no we are one campaign and no redcross soliciting for donations unlike Westgate because those killed were poor people.
Spot on!!!!! Even for the Kapedo massacre and Lamu. They should attack Lavington and Runda more instead of poor people!!!!!!!!!! And then people will run to wazua and start saying i knew sijui who and who on the list. and what has exactly stopped characters like this complainant @mawinder from initiating a #WeAreOne on this episode he feels so dear about?...it's very easy to come yap on Wazua about what else others should do yet you have done zero about what you complaining about.
So what santuri is going to be played for Kenyans today? It's all very nice shouting and screaming how Alphdoti and the so called homegrown terrorists are finishing Kenyans. Kweli you think this santuri has not been played before? It's like copy pasting from the republican party and removing the name Osama with Al-Shabaab. The question today is Are you safe? Second question is ok, seriously, like in seriously. As in really seriously, where is the President of Kenya when half the teachers in a a district are massacred? Sometimes in life, PR and massive tweets by Ole Itumbi don't work. I actually have massive respect for the fellow. It's rather difficult trying to run a social media campaign when the leader of a country is persona non grata. Can we stop wasting time talking about Alphdoti? He was not in Mandera and if he was and he's still posting on Wazua then you can see we have more serious problems in matters security than we had imagined before. Kenyans are killed. Someone in gov't says, that the people who did it were killed. Only to find out later that this may not be 100% accurate. In the meantime, the President. Anyone found him yet? Ole Lenku has drawn a red line now with green dots for emphasis. Al -Shabaab is still tweeting. We are one Santuri has scratches on it. Let's get another one shall we? Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
ecstacy wrote:kiash wrote:mawinder wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:mawinder wrote: There is no we are one campaign and no redcross soliciting for donations unlike Westgate because those killed were poor people.
Spot on!!!!! Even for the Kapedo massacre and Lamu. They should attack Lavington and Runda more instead of poor people!!!!!!!!!! And then people will run to wazua and start saying i knew sijui who and who on the list. and what has exactly stopped characters like this complainant @mawinder from initiating a #WeAreOne on this episode he feels so dear about?...it's very easy to come yap on Wazua about what else others should do yet you have done zero about what you complaining about. I have lost 4 constituents and as a parliamentary candidate and humane Kenyan I have offered to assist the families with a small token.A point to note is that majority of those killed were Kisiis and Luhyas.This time tyrrany was left out.If it were a Brookhouse school bus that had been attacked, millions would have been raised, but because the dead are poor people from Ogembo and Nyamataro, shauri yao!!!!!!!!!!!!!
alma wrote:So what santuri is going to be played for Kenyans today?
It's all very nice shouting and screaming how Alphdoti and the so called homegrown terrorists are finishing Kenyans. Kweli you think this santuri has not been played before? It's like copy pasting from the republican party and removing the name Osama with Al-Shabaab.
The question today is
Are you safe?
Second question is
ok, seriously, like in seriously. As in really seriously, where is the President of Kenya when half the teachers in a a district are massacred?
Sometimes in life, PR and massive tweets by Ole Itumbi don't work. I actually have massive respect for the fellow. It's rather difficult trying to run a social media campaign when the leader of a country is persona non grata.
Can we stop wasting time talking about Alphdoti? He was not in Mandera and if he was and he's still posting on Wazua then you can see we have more serious problems in matters security than we had imagined before.
Kenyans are killed. Someone in gov't says, that the people who did it were killed. Only to find out later that this may not be 100% accurate.
In the meantime, the President. Anyone found him yet? Ole Lenku has drawn a red line now with green dots for emphasis. Al -Shabaab is still tweeting.
We are one Santuri has scratches on it. Let's get another one shall we? Anajienjoy...Tuselfies huko mayuu 
But seriously, terrorism is a serious threat to whichever country. We don't have any country yet that have been able to subdue it completely. Even the super powers still find themselves attacked. However, how we respond as Kenya is what leaves a lot to be desired. The general perception is that our current security heads are incompetent. They do not inspire any confidence in the nation(something that a leader should be able to disseminate regardless of the situation). They duo are currently the most popular for public ridicule simply coz jokes are all Kenyans can attribute them to. Even the president's men, akina Kindiki and that other lawyer from Rift, are no longer defending them. They want them out. Big question: Why is it too hard to have them step aside? In fact, why should they even wait to be fired? And as all this was happening, the President was out of the country taking selfies!!! I remember the Westgate attack...the DP asked to be allowed back to come assist the president handle the situation. Those were only four terrorists. When we have more than 100(If their statement is anything to go by) of them on our soil terrorizing our fellow brothers and sisters, the president can voluntarily afford to be away. That inspires a lot of confidence, does it?
@Washiku, if the President was at the ICC rather than on an F1 selfie trip, do you think he would have asked the judges to come back home to deal with serious matters of state? Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:@Washiku, if the President was at the ICC rather than on an F1 selfie trip, do you think he would have asked the judges to come back home to deal with serious matters of state?
Definitely.
washiku wrote:But seriously, terrorism is a serious threat to whichever country. We don't have any country yet that have been able to subdue it completely. Even the super powers still find themselves attacked. However, how we respond as Kenya is what leaves a lot to be desired. The general perception is that our current security heads are incompetent. They do not inspire any confidence in the nation(something that a leader should be able to disseminate regardless of the situation). They duo are currently the most popular for public ridicule simply coz jokes are all Kenyans can attribute them to. Even the president's men, akina Kindiki and that other lawyer from Rift, are no longer defending them. They want them out. Big question: Why is it too hard to have them step aside? In fact, why should they even wait to be fired?
And as all this was happening, the President was out of the country taking selfies!!! I remember the Westgate attack...the DP asked to be allowed back to come assist the president handle the situation. Those were only four terrorists. When we have more than 100(If their statement is anything to go by) of them on our soil terrorizing our fellow brothers and sisters, the president can voluntarily afford to be away. That inspires a lot of confidence, does it? Not defending anyone but please explain how people stepping aside will stop terrorists from their next attack. "We" just love that word don't we? “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
jaggernaut wrote:guru267 wrote:jaggernaut wrote:guru267 wrote:maka wrote:D32 wrote:@UhuruKenyatta We know that you picked some of those guys to run those jobs, please listen to some wise words by John C. Maxwell
"A man must be big enough to admit his mistakes, smart enough to profit from them, and strong enough to correct them." They should not last another week...Al Shaabab claim that non of their Mujaheedens were killed by the govt...Ruto should just shut up...Crap. But who does Ruto think he is kidding... Those Shabaab had already vanished into thin air before the government even knew what was happening. I dare him to produce one body... And not some poor herdsmen claiming they are Shabaab! Kenya should use the Israeli tactics. When one Jew is killed, 1000 Palestinians pay for it. Right now as we speak, all villages in Somalia within a 30km radius from mandera should have been ccarpet bombed and wiped off the map. Then it would be up to the UN or Red cross to tell us how many of the thousands killed were alshabab. That way future attacks are forestalled since every one knows the consequences. Since 1948 how have these actions helped Israel?? They still go to bed every night knowing that anytime they could be bombed or butchered in the street by a Palestinian... Is that peace or security? thinking that true Muslims are scared of a small thing called death is naive! Continue rejoicing, but know that if things continue like this, a time will come in the not too distant future when kenyan non muslims will get tired of these killings, and will take the law in their hands, and also start stopping buses and moving from house to house, and give out similar "justice". Those church members who have borne the brunt of this Mandera attack ,,, well ,,,, will do nothing of the sort. And most likely nothing like the 'humanitarianism' of Nairobi's better known disaster responses will be done for them.
Kratos wrote:washiku wrote:But seriously, terrorism is a serious threat to whichever country. We don't have any country yet that have been able to subdue it completely. Even the super powers still find themselves attacked. However, how we respond as Kenya is what leaves a lot to be desired. The general perception is that our current security heads are incompetent. They do not inspire any confidence in the nation(something that a leader should be able to disseminate regardless of the situation). They duo are currently the most popular for public ridicule simply coz jokes are all Kenyans can attribute them to. Even the president's men, akina Kindiki and that other lawyer from Rift, are no longer defending them. They want them out. Big question: Why is it too hard to have them step aside? In fact, why should they even wait to be fired?
And as all this was happening, the President was out of the country taking selfies!!! I remember the Westgate attack...the DP asked to be allowed back to come assist the president handle the situation. Those were only four terrorists. When we have more than 100(If their statement is anything to go by) of them on our soil terrorizing our fellow brothers and sisters, the president can voluntarily afford to be away. That inspires a lot of confidence, does it? Not defending anyone but please explain how people stepping aside will stop terrorists from their next attack. "We" just love that word don't we? Kratos, let me explain to you since you seem to have taken the mantle of the government pseudo apologist on wazua. There is nothing great or wonderful that comes out reading an early morning newspaper to find out the 28 people were removed from a bus and shot in the head. There is nothing great or wonderful to wake up and find that a whole town was razed to the ground and the police did not show up until the next day There is nothing super great or wonderful to go about your business then hear that people are being killed in a Mall. These things are things that happen and they are not great or wonderful But what is disgusting is to hear stories about red lines, local politicians killing locals, watching a President smiling in a Selfie when Kenyans are dying. That's absolutely disgusting. If he won't fire them, then he can be assured that he will be fired. People can only take so many matching white shirts and red ties before they start noticing that you are sweating in the armpits. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:So what santuri is going to be played for Kenyans today?
It's all very nice shouting and screaming how Alphdoti and the so called homegrown terrorists are finishing Kenyans. Kweli you think this santuri has not been played before? It's like copy pasting from the republican party and removing the name Osama with Al-Shabaab.
The question today is
Are you safe?
Second question is
ok, seriously, like in seriously. As in really seriously, where is the President of Kenya when half the teachers in a a district are massacred?
Sometimes in life, PR and massive tweets by Ole Itumbi don't work. I actually have massive respect for the fellow. It's rather difficult trying to run a social media campaign when the leader of a country is persona non grata.
Can we stop wasting time talking about Alphdoti? He was not in Mandera and if he was and he's still posting on Wazua then you can see we have more serious problems in matters security than we had imagined before.
Kenyans are killed. Someone in gov't says, that the people who did it were killed. Only to find out later that this may not be 100% accurate.
In the meantime, the President. Anyone found him yet? Ole Lenku has drawn a red line now with green dots for emphasis. Al -Shabaab is still tweeting.
We are one Santuri has scratches on it. Let's get another one shall we? So long as collaborators and sympathizers are among us it does not matter whether we remove kdf from somalia, change the security team or even elect a new president the script will not change. Don't kid yourself. While you are here complaining about PR, al kebabs are celebrating that they have exceed their target. Yes lets fight amongst ourselves whilst our enemies continue to recruit among US. One thing Kenyans think is that they are the center of the universe and averse to things like terrorism. The fight begins with US. “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
Kratos wrote:washiku wrote:But seriously, terrorism is a serious threat to whichever country. We don't have any country yet that have been able to subdue it completely. Even the super powers still find themselves attacked. However, how we respond as Kenya is what leaves a lot to be desired. The general perception is that our current security heads are incompetent. They do not inspire any confidence in the nation(something that a leader should be able to disseminate regardless of the situation). They duo are currently the most popular for public ridicule simply coz jokes are all Kenyans can attribute them to. Even the president's men, akina Kindiki and that other lawyer from Rift, are no longer defending them. They want them out. Big question: Why is it too hard to have them step aside? In fact, why should they even wait to be fired?
And as all this was happening, the President was out of the country taking selfies!!! I remember the Westgate attack...the DP asked to be allowed back to come assist the president handle the situation. Those were only four terrorists. When we have more than 100(If their statement is anything to go by) of them on our soil terrorizing our fellow brothers and sisters, the president can voluntarily afford to be away. That inspires a lot of confidence, does it? Not defending anyone but please explain how people stepping aside will stop terrorists from their next attack. "We" just love that word don't we? If those people are removed, then someone like our very own Guru267 is put, she will use her connections, knowledge, affiliations to somehow convince the fighters of better targets elsewhere say in Jordan or Lebanon or Saudi Arabia etc. Targets that will yield more bonga points in heaven than killing poor Seventh Day Adventists.
alma wrote:Kratos wrote:washiku wrote:But seriously, terrorism is a serious threat to whichever country. We don't have any country yet that have been able to subdue it completely. Even the super powers still find themselves attacked. However, how we respond as Kenya is what leaves a lot to be desired. The general perception is that our current security heads are incompetent. They do not inspire any confidence in the nation(something that a leader should be able to disseminate regardless of the situation). They duo are currently the most popular for public ridicule simply coz jokes are all Kenyans can attribute them to. Even the president's men, akina Kindiki and that other lawyer from Rift, are no longer defending them. They want them out. Big question: Why is it too hard to have them step aside? In fact, why should they even wait to be fired?
And as all this was happening, the President was out of the country taking selfies!!! I remember the Westgate attack...the DP asked to be allowed back to come assist the president handle the situation. Those were only four terrorists. When we have more than 100(If their statement is anything to go by) of them on our soil terrorizing our fellow brothers and sisters, the president can voluntarily afford to be away. That inspires a lot of confidence, does it? Not defending anyone but please explain how people stepping aside will stop terrorists from their next attack. "We" just love that word don't we? Kratos, let me explain to you since you seem to have taken the mantle of the government pseudo apologist on wazua. There is nothing great or wonderful that comes out reading an early morning newspaper to find out the 28 people were removed from a bus and shot in the head. There is nothing great or wonderful to wake up and find that a whole town was razed to the ground and the police did not show up until the next day There is nothing super great or wonderful to go about your business then hear that people are being killed in a Mall. These things are things that happen and they are not great or wonderful But what is disgusting is to hear stories about red lines, local politicians killing locals, watching a President smiling in a Selfie when Kenyans are dying. That's absolutely disgusting. If he won't fire them, then he can be assured that he will be fired. People can only take so many matching white shirts and red ties before they start noticing that you are sweating in the armpits. As usual anyone with an opposing view has to be labelled right? We all have to conform to your way of thinking otherwise we are government moles right? In fact what you're proposing by your insinuations is just PR. Like i said previously the way to win this war in my view is to use the same tactics as used on Mungiki and SLDF. The problem with that is the collaborators will be here in droves complaining of human rights My question still has not been answered. Will firing the security team stop terrorist attacks? I believe not. “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
Kratos I hope that you realise that your statement about collaborators and Muriel's statements about knowldgeable Guru are the problem. It's very confused to be honest. You see, over the weekend, at dawn, 28 Kenyans were killed. We are now on Tuesday, no one has been arrested. That is what we mean by giving the public a sense of security. Someone, should have been arrested. Not more PR stunts and News clips about turning stones to be unturned or something in that direction. That's what we mean by security. Give us anything at all to prove to Kenyans that they are safe in a bus going to Mandera. Something, anything. Not a selfie and not another tweet. I dare you to tell your sister to go get the jobs that are now available in Mandera. If you are really honest tell me what the gov't has done for you lately to prove that it is safe for a Kenyan to work in Mandera. Do so without mentioning Nyumba Kumi and without the need of fake photos from 2012, a selfie or a red line being crossed. I'm waiting. In the meantime I remain yours trully, tired of stories just action. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Atalaku wrote:guru267 wrote:jaggernaut wrote:guru267 wrote:jaggernaut wrote:guru267 wrote:maka wrote:D32 wrote:@UhuruKenyatta We know that you picked some of those guys to run those jobs, please listen to some wise words by John C. Maxwell
"A man must be big enough to admit his mistakes, smart enough to profit from them, and strong enough to correct them." They should not last another week...Al Shaabab claim that non of their Mujaheedens were killed by the govt...Ruto should just shut up...Crap. But who does Ruto think he is kidding... Those Shabaab had already vanished into thin air before the government even knew what was happening. I dare him to produce one body... And not some poor herdsmen claiming they are Shabaab! Kenya should use the Israeli tactics. When one Jew is killed, 1000 Palestinians pay for it. Right now as we speak, all villages in Somalia within a 30km radius from mandera should have been ccarpet bombed and wiped off the map. Then it would be up to the UN or Red cross to tell us how many of the thousands killed were alshabab. That way future attacks are forestalled since every one knows the consequences. Since 1948 how have these actions helped Israel??
They still go to bed every night knowing that anytime th ey could be bombed or butchered in the street by a Palestinian... Is that peace or security?thinking that true Muslims are scared of a small thing called death is naive! Continue rejoicing, but know that if things continue like this, a time will come in the not too distant future when kenyan non muslims will get tired of these killings, and will take the law in their hands, and also start stopping buses and moving from house to house, and give out similar "justice". Be my guest.. What's stopping you from starting your "justice" now?! To threaten a Muslim with death... Really??? ...yeah @guru is right. Muslims dont fear death...and that is the trag edy of our times...And only fools go looking for death! I think comparing the two countries is uncalled for. The only similarity we have is terrorism but different causes.We went to Somalia to give them peace unlike Israel who went to Gaza for reasons known to everyone. So for kebabs attacks to Kenya are different from Hamas attacks on Israel.
Shabaab suspects ambush bus near Mandera, kill 28