wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

Kevin Omondi: South Africa is not heaven
#1 Posted : Saturday, November 15, 2014 7:39:44 AM

Harambee Stars midfielder Kevin Omondi has been banned from entering South Africa. According to documents received by The Nairobian, Omondi was declared an 'undesirable person in the republic of South Africa (SA) as from October 29, 2014.'

Omondi received the shocking news on arrival at Oliver R Tambo International Airport while leaving for Nairobi.

"When I got to the airport, the immigration staff took my passport then gave me papers to sign saying that I had outlived my welcome by months. I tried talking to the immigration officials about the contractual obligations between me and Moroka Swallows but they could not listen.

“Wanafikiria huko kwao ni heaven. Wanaona nikama hapa Kenya, sisi tunateseka sana (they think their country is heaven and behave as if we are suffering in Kenya),” a seething Omondi told this writer.

Shida za kujitakia.

He should have sent the club's messenger to the Immigration department for that stamp, and all this could have been avoided.

#2 Posted : Saturday, November 15, 2014 1:26:57 PM

Harambee Stars midfielder Kevin Omondi has been banned from entering South Africa. According to documents received by The Nairobian, Omondi was declared an 'undesirable person in the republic of South Africa (SA) as from October 29, 2014.'

Omondi received the shocking news on arrival at Oliver R Tambo International Airport while leaving for Nairobi.

"When I got to the airport, the immigration staff took my passport then gave me papers to sign saying that I had outlived my welcome by months. I tried talking to the immigration officials about the contractual obligations between me and Moroka Swallows but they could not listen.

“Wanafikiria huko kwao ni heaven. Wanaona nikama hapa Kenya, sisi tunateseka sana (they think their country is heaven and behave as if we are suffering in Kenya),” a seething Omondi told this writer.

Shida za kujitakia.

He should have sent the club's messenger to the Immigration department for that stamp, and all this could have been avoided.

Look at how we display our ignorance to the world and cry nyef nyef. Since when did contractual obligations supercede visa rules.
smh huyu hata congo atafukuzwa

Alba
#3 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2016 6:43:50 PM

Kevin Omondi "Ade" may have not succeeded in South Africa.

But his former clubmate Ali Abondo "Teargas"appears poised for a good career in SA

Good for teargas, he deserves his place there. Also playing in SA is Kevin Kimani and Brian mandela Onyango.
Alba
#4 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2016 6:51:36 PM

With regard to Ade, I feel his pain. SA embassy officials are sometimes very rude towards Africans traveling to SA. The Kenya women's football team was treated poorly by SA embassy officials even when they had legit reasons to travel to SA to play a qualifier.

This is from the article

“We went there in good faith to collect our Visas. Instead, the management called security who started shoving us out of the facility. Now they are telling us to come and collect the visas on Friday, and yet the game is on Saturday. I have been left wondering whether this is a tactic to frustrate us,” Mwikali told Nairobi News.
#5 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2016 6:54:03 PM

What was undesirable about him?
#6 Posted : Friday, May 06, 2016 7:43:22 PM

Why do we need visas in Africa? C'mon Africans! By the way SA will be the Africa's Greece in not so long to come.
kayhara
#7 Posted : Saturday, May 07, 2016 11:34:24 AM

Why do we need visas in Africa? C'mon Africans! By the way SA will be the Africa's Greece in not so long to come.

If I were to be asked Kenya needs to only take the requirements other countries impose on Kenyans to enter their countries, change the heading and require the same for their citizens reciprocate everything.
To Each His Own
#8 Posted : Saturday, May 07, 2016 11:47:08 AM

kayhara wrote:

If I were to be asked Kenya needs to only take the requirements other countries impose on Kenyans to enter their countries, change the heading and require the same for their citizens reciprocate everything.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Mwamba ngoma huvuta pande yake! We are a tourist destination and we are not known to be tourists. We want to encourage tourists to come here (tunavuta pande yetu). They don't want random workers from our countries going to those countries (wanavuta pande yao). it would be stupid to decide that our interest in random workers going to random european places trump those of having tourists come spend their dollars/pounds/euros here! It will be the most stupid move ever if we decided our interests are the same as theirs.
#9 Posted : Saturday, May 07, 2016 12:54:24 PM

Ooh kenyans and getting butt hurt about visa rejections. A few home truths.

1. Entering a foreign country is a privilege, not a right.

2. Visa handlers are usually govt workers. Govt workers, of any country, are usually of the lowest quality in its economy's workforce. They will not think, weigh or use discretion. The first mistake on your application and they will toss it in the trash. Ever been to Nyayo House regarding your passport? Its those same guys on the other side. Cross your Ts and dot your Is.

3. But I am representing Kenya in an official capacity you say. See #2 above. A govt worker in say the ministry of sports, trade, foreign affairs is supposed to work with the other side to ensure a smooth conveyance for the delegation. You assume they will be fast (at least timely) and proficient about the task. Again, see #2 above. Follow it up yourself.

4. Kenya is a shit country. It is so because every election, we vote in our robber tribesmen. These fellows concentrate on pillaging the nation during their terms and are not capable of formulating and implementing policy. So we remain a shit country. If we were not a shit country, other nations perhaps would not require that we apply for visas before travelling because they would be confident that we are not exporting refugees and criminals to their country. At least they would not insult our citizens with such abandon because they know repercussions would be coming.
Tanzania mishandled and detained a full Kenyan Cabinet Secretary just a few weeks ago. Hehehe. What hope do you, an ordinary citizen have?

5. You can do everything right and still be rejected. See #1 and #2. Move on, its not the end of the world. If there is damage to your interests, say you have invested there, there are procedures in many countries for legal redress. Use those. Bitching in social media, or anywhere, will not help, unless you have prodigious writing talent like that Bikozulu fellow.
Alba
#10 Posted : Saturday, May 07, 2016 2:52:59 PM

What was undesirable about him?

Football teams all over the world are notorious for not honoring contracts. They always insert wording that will allow them to terminate the contract prematurely. Remember what they did to Blackberry in Denmark?

In both cases, the coach may have decided that said players though talented do not fit into his team tactics or do not fit into the style of play he is implementing. Kevo is most useful when making runs down the flanks. If the coach does not want wingers, then he is toast.
#11 Posted : Saturday, May 07, 2016 5:38:14 PM

kayhara wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Mwamba ngoma huvuta pande yake! We are a tourist destination and we are not known to be tourists. We want to encourage tourists to come here (tunavuta pande yetu). They don't want random workers from our countries going to those countries (wanavuta pande yao). it would be stupid to decide that our interest in random workers going to random european places trump those of having tourists come spend their dollars/pounds/euros here! It will be the most stupid move ever if we decided our interests are the same as theirs.

I disagree. Our priorities are upside down, we decry insecurity yet open our borders with loose visa regulations. SA gets more tourists than Ke yet...UAE the same Egypt,Tunisia etc. Our border protection systems and policies are deliberately loopsided due to intricate corruption networks at Interior docket.
#12 Posted : Saturday, May 07, 2016 5:47:29 PM

quicksand wrote:

2. Visa handlers are usually govt workers. Govt workers, of any country, are usually of the lowest quality in its economy's workforce. They will not think, weigh or use discretion. The first mistake on your application and they will toss it in the trash. Ever been to Nyayo House regarding your passport? Its those same guys on the other side. Cross your Ts and dot your Is.

3. But I am representing Kenya in an official capacity you say. See #2 above. A govt worker in say the ministry of sports, trade, foreign affairs is supposed to work with the other side to ensure a smooth conveyance for the delegation. You assume they will be fast (at least timely) and proficient about the task. Again, see #2 above. Follow it up yourself.

4. Kenya is a shit country. It is so because every election, we vote in our robber tribesmen. These fellows concentrate on pillaging the nation during their terms and are not capable of formulating and implementing policy. So we remain a shit country. If we were not a shit country, other nations perhaps would not require that we apply for visas before travelling because they would be confident that we are not exporting refugees and criminals to their country. At least they would not insult our citizens with such abandon because they know repercussions would be coming.
Tanzania mishandled and detained a full Kenyan Cabinet Secretary just a few weeks ago. Hehehe. What hope do you, an ordinary citizen have?

5. You can do everything right and still be rejected. See #1 and #2. Move on, its not the end of the world. If there is damage to your interests, say you have invested there, there are procedures in many countries for legal redress. Use those. Bitching in social media, or anywhere, will not help, unless you have prodigious writing talent like that Bikozulu fellow.

Ukweli... sio lazima nchi fulani ikulet in.... juzi I had to wait sijui kama 45mins in passport control of some random country many people have not have cared about...why? Coz of our blue passport. Everyone else left the airport isipokuwa Mimi...patiently waiting and answering random questions... mwishowe walinipitisha. So let's stop feeling entitled to enter any country... it's their discretion not to let you in. Hata hapa south sudan na shida zao zote watakukazia ukikuja na ujeuri.
#13 Posted : Saturday, May 07, 2016 7:14:42 PM

quicksand wrote:

Ukweli... sio lazima nchi fulani ikulet in.... juzi I had to wait sijui kama 45mins in passport control of some random country many people have not have cared about...why? Coz of our blue passport. Everyone else left the airport isipokuwa Mimi...patiently waiting and answering random questions... mwishowe walinipitisha. So let's stop feeling entitled to enter any country... it's their discretion not to let you in. Hata hapa south sudan na shida zao zote watakukazia ukikuja na ujeuri.

you miss the bigger picture.
Alba
#14 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 9:38:09 PM

quicksand wrote:

I agree with most of what you said especially the part about Kenya being a country run by robber tribalists.

However from a strictly footballing perspective, harambee starlets were justified in camping at the SA embassy until they were given visas. FIFA statutes require the host country to provide visas for visiting referees, and acredited officials including referees.

As for Kevin Omondi, he was just unhappy because SA officials treat other Africans with disdain. Being denied a visa is one thing but when a person is treated shabbily, they have every reason to lash out
#15 Posted : Sunday, May 08, 2016 10:59:51 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
kayhara wrote:

I disagree. Our priorities are upside down, we decry insecurity yet open our borders with loose visa regulations. SA gets more tourists than Ke yet...UAE the same Egypt,Tunisia etc. Our border protection systems and policies are deliberately loopsided due to intricate corruption networks at Interior docket.

our insecurity is not from people we give visas! of course you know this! Secondly, each of the countries you have mentioned has something they dangle for the tourists. Remember our tourists are not the same as those going to visit the pyramid! Dubai has one of the loosest visa regimes - like for 72 hrs! (unless of course ulete ujeuri and those to sheiks with white kanzus ask for your passport....mara hiyo hiyo utarudi kwenu!). I suggest we decide where "pande yetu" iko kwa hii puzzle and we vuta! Tourism destinations like those tu funny islands on the indian ocean let everyone in - visa on arrival. coz they know where their bread is buttered and by whom!
#16 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2016 10:05:33 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
kayhara wrote:

our insecurity is not from people we give visas! of course you know this! Secondly, each of the countries you have mentioned has something they dangle for the tourists. Remember our tourists are not the same as those going to visit the pyramid! Dubai has one of the loosest visa regimes - like for 72 hrs! (unless of course ulete ujeuri and those to sheiks with white kanzus ask for your passport....mara hiyo hiyo utarudi kwenu!). I suggest we decide where "pande yetu" iko kwa hii puzzle and we vuta! Tourism destinations like those tu funny islands on the indian ocean let everyone in - visa on arrival. coz they know where their bread is buttered and by whom!

We don't need tourists when we have Euro bond to earn us the much needed foreign reserves and also to fill in the revenue shortfalls smile smile smile smile

Let's reciprocate on visa, we are sovereign after all
kayhara
#17 Posted : Monday, May 09, 2016 2:09:12 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
kayhara wrote:

We don't need tourists when we have Euro bond to earn us the much needed foreign reserves and also to fill in the revenue shortfalls smile smile smile smile

Let's reciprocate on visa, we are sovereign after all

we need tourists but that does not mean we open our legs for every tom DICK and harry, no we can have special VISAS for tourists even have a special counter at JKIA to receive tourists, but require them to show duration of visit, spending power, good conduct, proof of return ie return ticket, vaccination, letter from chief of their village etc
To Each His Own
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 11:14:16 AM

kayhara wrote:

we need tourists but that does not mean we open our legs for every tom DICK and harry, no we can have special VISAS for tourists even have a special counter at JKIA to receive tourists, but require them to show duration of visit, spending power, good conduct, proof of return ie return ticket, vaccination, letter from chief of their village etc

quick question : how many of our security problems have come from people who we gave visas to?
#19 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 11:18:46 AM

kayhara wrote:

quick question : how many of our security problems have come from people who we gave ID's to?

#20 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2016 9:07:49 PM

kayhara wrote:

quick question : how many of our security problems have come from people who we gave ID's to?

exactly!! so it follows that upping your visa game will not help you! you are eloquently giving a correct answer to a question that has not been set! Visas limit workers not terrorists.