CHEAPER POWER: Electricity cost is set to drop by 30%
#61 Posted : Sunday, November 09, 2014 12:34:02 PM

My 3000 gave me 148 units compared to 137 unit earlier.

Maybe we need to know the standard/fixed charges vs variable costs and calculate to confirm if the sameby 30%.

But I ddoubt.My presi is becoming populist making pronouncements hapa na kule.

Lets wait for Nov and Dec

hii ni ya nyumba or factory? big chick are you supplying the estate or hawking tokens?smile

There isn't much change. 2 months ago my postpaid bill was 4600 for 207 units, and current one is 4450 for 210 units.

na weeewe,do you have a brewery in your house,jameni.
what are you cooking?

power saving tips

1. Use the neighbour's security light.
2. Switch off fridge at night
3. Avoid hot water shower.
4. When using toaster shikanisha 4 slices. At one go you are toasting 16 slices.
5.Convince yourself that microwave causes cancer
6. Iron fast
8. Boil and preserve hot water in flask. Sio kuwashawasha kettle all the time.
9. Play or sing music,don't switch on radio.
10.Watch kbc or local channels only, avoid international channels.

brb. time to switch off fridge...smile

Nice advice ya kuzima fridge overnight. Nimeizima saa hii.......plus security lights.

whats the difference in the electricity not used when it is off and the compressor needing energy to bring it back to the same temperature it was before the switch off?
#62 Posted : Sunday, November 09, 2014 12:42:43 PM

mkenyan wrote:

Maybe we need to know the standard/fixed charges vs variable costs and calculate to confirm if the sameby 30%.

hii ni ya nyumba or factory? big chick are you supplying the estate or hawking tokens?smile

There isn't much change. 2 months ago my postpaid bill was 4600 for 207 units, and current one is 4450 for 210 units.

what are you cooking?

power saving tips

4. When using toaster shikanisha 4 slices. At one go you are toasting 16 slices.
6. Iron fast

Nice advice ya kuzima fridge overnight. Nimeizima saa hii.......plus security lights.

whats the difference in the electricity not used when it is off and the compressor needing energy to bring it back to the same temperature it was before the switch off?

I don't know. Just switch it off. It works.smile
Boris Boyka
#63 Posted : Sunday, November 09, 2014 1:33:53 PM

mkenyan wrote:

what are you cooking?

power saving tips

6. Iron fast

I don't know. Just switch it off. It works.smile

@mkenyan Hiyo physics unauliza @kysee hajui. I haven't calculated exactly but switching on again would require more electrozete to bring back the compressor to normal temp. If the fridge will be off for many hours say 12 & above then its okay but if less then needless to turn it of. Rem @kysee the bi-metallic principle applies to the fridge.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#64 Posted : Sunday, November 09, 2014 3:10:57 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:

I haven't calculated exactly but switching on again would require more electrozete to bring back the compressor to normal temp. If the fridge will be off for many hours say 12 & above then its okay but if less then needless to turn it of. Rem @kysee the bi-metallic principle applies to the fridge.

bla bla bleat bleat boyka,just switch off the damn fridge!!smile
anyway,mine's off from 9pm to 6 am and is sanyo made.smile calculate the electrozete using the bi- bla principle.

Various techniques such as riveting, bolting, fastening can be used to bond two layers of diverse metals in a bimetallic strip. However the most commonly used method is welding. Since two metals are employed to construct a bimetallic strip, hence they are named so

smile says google.
#65 Posted : Sunday, November 09, 2014 4:12:00 PM

Atalaku wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:

what are you cooking?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Kama si chomerea (welding) ni chips corner; janesse

@kysse...wacha siku ile utapata watoto...Lakini fridge ndio inakunywa stima...The bigger... the more...

Ala... Yani @Kysse hana watoto?

she is expecting a swenanilet in July 2015, we are hoping for twins
#66 Posted : Sunday, November 09, 2014 5:59:40 PM

Atalaku wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:

what are you cooking?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Kama si chomerea (welding) ni chips corner; janesse

@kysse...wacha siku ile utapata watoto...Lakini fridge ndio inakunywa stima...The bigger... the more...

Ala... Yani @Kysse hana watoto?

she is expecting a swenanilet in July 2015, we are hoping for twins

Exactly no big difference in the bill...
Boris Boyka
#67 Posted : Sunday, November 09, 2014 9:57:37 PM

@kysee bi-metallic principles are used in thermostats and a fridge is one of the appliances with a thermostat.
Quote " Thermostats are usually located inside the
refrigerator and have a knob or control panel
that allows users to adjust them. Most older
appliances have just one thermostat for the
entire device, but some newer models allow
for different settings in different areas: users
might choose to keep the main chamber
cooler than one or more drawers, for
instance. Once a user sets the desired
temperature, the thermostat maintains that
temperature by sensing internal fluctuations
and prompting the compressor to turn on or
off in response to those changes. When the
refrigerator is appropriately adjusted to the
designated temperature, the THERMOSTAT STOPS THE FLOW OF ELECTRICITY to the compressor,
effectively stopping it from cooling the
appliance."
www.wisegeek.org/what-is...rigerator-thermostat.htm Acha kutuonyesha hukufanya/hukumbuki Form two physics or unasoma nusunusu. just pick a text book Kwa jirani.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#68 Posted : Sunday, November 09, 2014 10:37:07 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
@kysee bi-metallic principles are used in thermostats and a fridge is one of the appliances with a thermostat.
Quote " Thermostats are usually located inside the
refrigerator and have a knob or control panel
that allows users to adjust them. Most older
appliances have just one thermostat for the
entire device, but some newer models allow
for different settings in different areas: users
might choose to keep the main chamber
cooler than one or more drawers, for
instance. Once a user sets the desired
temperature, the thermostat maintains that
temperature by sensing internal fluctuations
and prompting the compressor to turn on or
off in response to those changes. When the
refrigerator is appropriately adjusted to the
designated temperature, the THERMOSTAT STOPS THE FLOW OF ELECTRICITY to the compressor,
effectively stopping it from cooling the
appliance."
www.wisegeek.org/what-is...rigerator-thermostat.htm Acha kutuonyesha hukufanya/hukumbuki Form two physics or unasoma nusunusu. just pick a text book Kwa jirani.

You have been undertaking mammoth tasks of late. I applaud you, though the person who uttered the words was different.

As for me, a cow is a cow is a cow!

Caramba
#69 Posted : Sunday, November 09, 2014 11:38:12 PM

Acha tungojee kwa hamu na ghamu...

The DP passionately explained the same yester-night on citizen. It is a major leap to saving our wallets.

Paid 500/= and got a measly 23.6 units today. When did they say the reductions kick in, 2050?
#70 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 8:34:09 AM

Why Geothermal has failed to cut electricity prices

Though the additional cheaper geothermal cut electricity costs by 26 per cent since August, homes have seen little changes when the comparison is stretched to 12 months ago, given households consuming 50 kilowatt hour (kWh) paid Sh521 last month compared to Sh517 in December 2013.

There is zero change when one compared current power prices to those that prevailed in 2013,” said a source at the Energy Regulatory Commission who spoke on condition of anonymity.

“The cut in fuel cost adjustments on bills due geothermal power were offset by review of tariffs due Kenya Power and the new VAT charges. The new geothermal only stopped the escalation in billings that started in May because of rising fuel cost charges

The fixed charge for domestic consumers rose to Sh150 per month from the Sh120 while the energy charge per kWh for those consuming above 50 units increased to Sh13.68 from Sh8.10, a Sh5.58 rise.

The Sh5.58 increase is higher than the Sh2.32 gain. The inclusion of the impact of fixed charge and the four percentage increase on VAT further diminishes the impact of the additional geothermal power
#71 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 8:46:40 AM

Paying a bill of 7350 today...I wonder why people were so overly excited....
#72 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 8:56:43 AM

Maybe something is wrong with your meter or some exceptional over-use in the course of that month.

This month my usual 3000/- got me 170.5 units up from 165 units last month and 138units on September 2014.
Um Sayala
#73 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 8:59:00 AM

Kwani you didnt even go for xmass holiday, hata kama ni ushago. Anyway watoto walikwa nyumbani na Tom and Jerry. Pole lakini. And Happy new year
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
#74 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 8:59:58 AM

Do you own Bamburi cement plant? KTDA and BIDCO paid Kshs 5,000 for the electricity bill for last month
#75 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 9:22:16 AM

HowHow now?
#76 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 9:26:10 AM

HowHow now?

That is way excess for a household unless that is for the office!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#77 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 9:28:07 AM

HowHow now?

That is way excess for a household unless that is for the office!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
#78 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 9:46:04 AM

HowHow now?

Maka is undermining the authority of Jubilee gava
klan
#79 Posted : Tuesday, January 06, 2015 10:20:22 AM

Maybe something is wrong with your meter or some exceptional over-use in the course of that month.

This month my usual 3000/- got me 170.5 units up from 165 units last month and 138units on September 2014.

BIg chick I think then KPLC is not consistent. On 2nd December I got 136.9 units for ksh 3000. this month i.e 5th January I got 121.8 units for ksh 2500. what is the catch?
#80 Posted : Tuesday, May 26, 2015 1:23:25 PM

Min of Energy is daring you. Who is willing to take the challenge?