wazua Sun, Mar 22, 2026

PIN certificates & banks
#1 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 9:40:48 AM

CFC Stanbic wants a certified copy of my PIN certificate for my almost (10yrs+) dormant account.

1) Do all banks require PIN certs?

2) How does Equity Bank open so many accounts coz I find it hard to believe all those rural Kenyans have PIN certs (unless KRA has reached all corners)

3) How do students open accounts since PIN certs are only available to 18yrs+ (or am I mistaken)?

4) Has your bank asked for a PIN cert? If yes or no, please indicate Y or N & which bank.
Kamaa
#2 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 10:05:31 AM

@ vvs

i thought PIN certificate is asked by banks when borrowing?
When you hear what I say, you will not understand. When you see what I do, you will not comprehend
#3 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 10:28:39 AM

@VVS: Since you say the account is dormant, why not just close it and forget about the matter?
#4 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 10:29:29 AM

....better still, ask them for a court warrant!!!

BTW; "certified" by whom?
#5 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 11:02:44 AM

mukiha wrote:
@VVS: Since you say the account is dormant, why not just close it and forget about the matter?

Almost dormant. I still use it when I get a chq from CFCFS. Or some jamaa who has a CFCStanbic account.

But... yes, that is where I am headed. I look at it as my emergency fund as well. Just in case I have no other cash...
#6 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 11:04:31 AM

mukiha wrote:
....better still, ask them for a court warrant!!!

BTW; "certified" by whom?

Certified by an attorney. Seriously, 99.9999% of those attorneys/lawyers sitting in those small offices don't know me from the guy next door YET his 'certification' counts for more than sending them an 'uncertified' scanned copy?

Suppose I even got it certified. So what value does that have? IMHO, most lawyers will help sell your soul to the devil as long as they get a cut...
#7 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 11:05:35 AM

Kamaa wrote:
@ vvs

i thought PIN certificate is asked by banks when borrowing?

I can understand a PIN cert when borrowing funds coz am I legit? Do I owe KRA money?

Lakini this is 100% a deposit account.
#8 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 11:13:01 AM

I have a similar issue with Stanbic. My old mama has had an account with CFC for years and years, now they want her to get a pin. She is 75 years old, has no income. Further, she is not Kenyan, but a dependant here. Where will I get a PIN for her?
#9 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 11:25:05 AM

Aiiii.!!.....Hii ni mpya!!...Or they want to give you driving licenses??..lol...As Mukiha says,hama.Why stress yourself?
chaliwong
#10 Posted : Friday, January 22, 2010 11:39:15 AM

Could it be a Business Current account that you want to re-activate?