wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

3 Pages<123
The truth about 14 seater Matatu phase out
murenj
#41 Posted : Thursday, February 23, 2012 6:46:57 PM

Nobby wrote:
chiaroscuro wrote:
I will always remember the scene I witnessed one evening a few years ago at the Ambassadeur and route 58 (Accra rd) bus stops. This was during the days of the KBS Metro Shuttle.

At Accra road, there was a long queue of Matatus running all the way back to River Road. Very few passengers and the matatus were charging Sh20 to Buruburu.

At Ambassadeur, there was a long queue of passengers running all the way round the building - down to Ronald Ngala Street and up Tom Mboya st. They were waiting for the Metro Shuttle which was charging Sh40.

Now what does that tell you?

All it takes is a serious businessperson to focus on passenger safety and comfort ahead of profit and the whole transport system will change.

For this planned phase-out of the 14 seaters to fully succeed, the government must be involved by offering an alternative transport system. The most appropriate thing to do would be to set up a subsidized transport company that will compete directly with the matatus or partner with the other players to offer a new solution.

there used to be a NYAYO BUS SERVICE..........then there was thisSMART BUS thing....... Clearly Kenyan's peculiar habits .......
zip*
#42 Posted : Thursday, February 23, 2012 9:50:09 PM

And talking about buses, how come our companies cannot design modern and comfortable buses like those in developed countries?

Well, there are a number of reasons why that will not happen soon. I work for a bus fabrication company,this is my experience..

1. You can tell that the bus from the first world has a smooth finish. That smooth finish comes at a dear cost. Now,the people who buy these buses are businessmen. They are after recouping their investment. Even if the local manufacturer's bought the machines to do such a fine job, they wouldn't find people to sell their expensive buses to.
There is also a monopoly in this glass industry and if one designs a bus with a unique type of glass,the glass people will make you wait for weeks so that they can make some "template" for this NEW glass type. The only other alternative is importing the glass. Most people aren't willing to wait, it's a business and they need it to have their buses on the road soonest.The cost of maintaining the sleek bus is also much higher in comparison to the other.

2. Like someone said, the glass is too much. It looks pretty but I can tell you businessmen aren't willing to buy such a bus and leave them in the hands of their employees. Let's accept this, the matatu industry isn't the smoothest. Even with the blacksheet(mabati), the buses still get scratches and dents all the time, I can only imagine if that was glass, they would be in and out of workshops atleast thrice a week.

3.Our roads are bad. Yes, most of the roads are now much better but we are not yet there. I can tell you most people who decide to go the asian way, especially after an experience with the local buses usually end up "coming back home" in the end. For some reason, these buses from developed countries are quite weak, they just don't survive our roads like our local buses.

All that said, there are definitely much better looking buses than the one pictured here. It is definitely NOT a good representation of locally manufactured buses.Sad
Thiong'o
#43 Posted : Thursday, February 23, 2012 10:07:10 PM

Interesting discussion on NTV on public transport.. now
#44 Posted : Friday, February 24, 2012 10:10:39 AM

zip* wrote:
And talking about buses, how come our companies cannot design modern and comfortable buses like those in developed countries?

Well, there are a number of reasons why that will not happen soon. I work for a bus fabrication company,this is my experience..

1. You can tell that the bus from the first world has a smooth finish. That smooth finish comes at a dear cost. Now,the people who buy these buses are businessmen. They are after recouping their investment. Even if the local manufacturer's bought the machines to do such a fine job, they wouldn't find people to sell their expensive buses to.
There is also a monopoly in this glass industry and if one designs a bus with a unique type of glass,the glass people will make you wait for weeks so that they can make some "template" for this NEW glass type. The only other alternative is importing the glass. Most people aren't willing to wait, it's a business and they need it to have their buses on the road soonest.The cost of maintaining the sleek bus is also much higher in comparison to the other.

2. Like someone said, the glass is too much. It looks pretty but I can tell you businessmen aren't willing to buy such a bus and leave them in the hands of their employees. Let's accept this, the matatu industry isn't the smoothest. Even with the blacksheet(mabati), the buses still get scratches and dents all the time, I can only imagine if that was glass, they would be in and out of workshops atleast thrice a week.

3.Our roads are bad. Yes, most of the roads are now much better but we are not yet there. I can tell you most people who decide to go the asian way, especially after an experience with the local buses usually end up "coming back home" in the end. For some reason, these buses from developed countries are quite weak, they just don't survive our roads like our local buses.

All that said, there are definitely much better looking buses than the one pictured here. It is definitely NOT a good representation of locally manufactured buses.:-(

Why don't you post the best design the local assemblers have come up with?
#45 Posted : Wednesday, November 05, 2014 2:10:17 PM

I see Ohuru has lifted the planned ban!!!
smallfama
#46 Posted : Wednesday, November 05, 2014 10:24:43 PM

I have always wondered why we cant have a PPP for bus rapid transport system in NBI which is comfortable, reliable and convenient for personal car drivers....see what they did in Bogota, Colombia here http://www.streetfilms.o...s-rapid-transit-bogota/

Then I realize that Kanjo need the parking money to eat.
taka jua
#47 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 7:42:28 AM

I see Ohuru has lifted the planned ban!!!

The more things change the more they stay the same, road side declarations zimerudi.

or did he cave in to pressure from matatu owners for them to accepts cashless payment
geofreygachie
#48 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 8:18:50 AM

smallfama wrote:
I have always wondered why we cant have a PPP for bus rapid transport system in NBI which is comfortable, reliable and convenient for personal car drivers....see what they did in Bogota, Colombia here http://www.streetfilms.o...s-rapid-transit-bogota/

The Bogota system is amazing.Infact no need for elevated highways.Wonderful.Applause
Divers - can you laugh in scuba gear, or will you drown? I was wondering. - James May.
#49 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 9:15:00 AM

smallfama wrote:

Mkulima,

Simple answer. Enterprise...

So many small investors (and their employees) would quickly need to find somewhere else to invest. A BRT would kill the Matatu industry in Nairobi quite quickly.

Rem during MOI days there would be all manner of laws targeting the sector - from speed governors etc - which would always be suspended by the president at the last minute? The reality is that Matatus employ all manner of people across the entire country. Any gava killing this industry would soon find itself very unpopular in no time.
#50 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 10:14:21 AM

Robinhood wrote:
smallfama wrote:

Mkulima,

So many small investors (and their employees) would quickly need to find somewhere else to invest. A BRT would kill the Matatu industry in Nairobi quite quickly.

Rem during MOI days there would be all manner of laws targeting the sector - from speed governors etc - which would always be suspended by the president at the last minute? The reality is that Matatus employ all manner of people across the entire country. Any gava killing this industry would soon find itself very unpopular in no time.

Any student of Public Transportation will tell you that successful transit systems can't be modeled along profit making enterprises. All functioning systems, including the Bogota one shown here are heavily subsidized by the state and can't be left to the whims of capitalism. The sooner we realize that the better off we will be. I think HE Kidero has seen the point, but is being weighed back by populist 14 seater proclamations. (14 seaters however do have a place in the transport ecosystem, like the bicycles in Bogota serving a spoke and hub system, but even they have to be owned by the metro council). And truth be told, what value will a cashless system add to the city passenger apart from ensuring that the capitalist pig gets all his returns, thereby fueling more greed?
jerry
#51 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 12:24:43 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Robinhood wrote:
smallfama wrote:

Mkulima,

Any student of Public Transportation will tell you that successful transit systems can't be modeled along profit making enterprises. All functioning systems, including the Bogota one shown here are heavily subsidized by the state and can't be left to the whims of capitalism. The sooner we realize that the better off we will be. I think HE Kidero has seen the point, but is being weighed back by populist 14 seater proclamations. (14 seaters however do have a place in the transport ecosystem, like the bicycles in Bogota serving a spoke and hub system, but even they have to be owned by the metro council). And truth be told, what value will a cashless system add to the city passenger apart from ensuring that the capitalist pig gets all his returns, thereby fueling more greed?

"which would always be suspended by the president at the last minute?" I really hated Nyayo for that but then I have never liked politicks!

The cashless system has a lot of value to Uhuru as it will end up with a smooth means of ensuring all taxes are paid/remitted.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#52 Posted : Thursday, November 06, 2014 2:13:40 PM

smallfama wrote:

haiya, sasa all the others who are not personal car drivers can continue with the uncomfortable, unreliable and inconvenient system. Sad