7 Pages123>»
Wizi wa ngawira..
#1 Posted : Saturday, April 11, 2009 7:49:00 AM

This is interesting..........Anyone with more details on how we've risked our lives,families,friends and cars with this car-tracking company(ies)?.

Guka wa bijuti...
PONDI
#2 Posted : Saturday, April 11, 2009 5:17:00 PM

boss am floating.... elaborate

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
Kwanini
#3 Posted : Saturday, April 11, 2009 6:22:00 PM

the chutes have already moved to get the story put on ice,rumours say Meli was offered on metre,but decided otherwise coz NTV are hot on a full blow by blow account on the stolen motis. Soaps dont come any better!! Be near your TV today at 7.30 !!!

I am the master and the captain of my fate,roll the dice,let the chips fall where they may!
"For i am the master and the captain of my fate"
#4 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2009 5:31:00 AM

@Guka
Am really waiting to watch this thing in details kesho...aki Kplc wasifanye the obvious! Do you know i almost fell for this Track it thing kumbe ni scam? Enyewe Kenya is sooo full of scandals! lets wait and see what jicho pevu has to shock us with on this. Are akina Stoic also scams?

@Pondi
Nunua Tv.... Jicho pevu will have this 'track it' scam on jicho pevu from kesho jioni to wednesday after news....seems interesting. At some point serious dirty cash changes hands......draaama!

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
deadmau5
#5 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2009 6:19:00 AM

Guys,
So what was the feature about???
#6 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2009 6:28:00 AM

@Deadmau,

To be aired for three days starting tommorrow on KTN.....It's about that car track device in your car and how the same cars cross into TZ never to be found courtesy of the same car tracking companies.

Guka wa bijuti...
#7 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2009 7:14:00 AM

...was the recovery of that Toyota Harrier somewhere in Kabete a ploy? I have always wondered if it is neccessary to go to the pains of fitting your vehicles with all these gadgets (alarms,gearlocks,key locks,track it,etc etc) if it is properly insured? Insurance companies just want a car to have an alarm and that's all!
#8 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2009 7:46:00 AM

@Magigi,

Possibly so.To keep the customers coming and of course show some confidence to owners of cars with this system.Meantime,ten hybrid cars will disappear between then and the next 'recovery'.........and you keep asking where all this money is coming from?

Guka wa bijuti...
#9 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2009 9:17:00 AM

So which is a LEGITIMATE firm in Kenya?
And who are the politicians covering/protecting the crook?

No wonder politicians like baks are hating on KTN

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
aristocrats
#10 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2009 9:48:00 AM

@all,I won't be surprised if KTN withdraws the story,tomorrow,over some 'technical delays' or some other vague excuse. What will stop the chuti from calling the SG bigshots for a million dollar bribe and bury the story??

I dont know,therefore I ask.
#11 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2009 1:14:00 PM

...i don't think the story has anything to do with the comapany,but rather what happens afew hours after your vehicle vanishes and those who are involved (of course the cops can't miss here...) If the story has anything to do with the company,the KTN boys (read Melly) would rather have concrete facts or else they will pay a hefty sum of money for scandalising a company. Anyway,let's not speculate too much,but wait and see what it is all about.
deadmau5
#12 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2009 5:10:00 PM

@Ngunje.
I thought the issue was the guys that tell you that they've kitted your motz when hakuna kitu. Isn't it said that even the car owners don't know where the gadget is put?
Now,if i dunno,there's no way i can tell if my moti is fitted and hence pay for a non-existent 'chip'.
Then the theory that these guys assess a car and look at the probability of it being jacked and those with near zero probability (5 series,CLs,etc that have custom security features from source) are invoiced but nothing is fitted.
deadmau5
#13 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2009 5:13:00 PM

@Magigi.
I second that. Facts ni muhimu if KTN are to point fingers at anyone.
I hope this thing will be worth the watch!
#14 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2009 5:57:00 PM

@[deadmau5: How daft can one be to be told that your vehicle has been fitted with the track gadget and u just pick your car and head home. Anything,everything has to be tested. OK,if they fitted my car with that gadget,I have to drive somwhere out of town,hide my car and tell them to get it - just to test!!!.
#15 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2009 6:52:00 AM

@Magigi,

As we wait,why would the owner of the company want to give Kshs 1.5M?......

Guka wa bijuti...
#16 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2009 7:32:00 AM

@Njung'e: A good question...which i dont have the answer. But one thing I know is that the story has been edited and re-edited so many times. Since last week,when KTN said it will air the story,so much has taken place,this being the Kenya I know! There might not even be the mention of the 1.5 M. The 2 brave KTN boys will just be given a script to read,quite different from what they researched on. They either read that or else..... This is Kenya!!! But I think I will be proven wrong.
Djinn
#17 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2009 11:41:00 AM

Njunge,I think KTN will show some teeth - John Allan Namu is unlikely,as an individual,to see that story axed or diluted. As it were,the preview already exposes TOO much and cutting the story will be noticed and the station's rep will drop. And I am sure they have already given the details to the cops.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Djinn
#18 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2009 11:49:00 AM

On a different note,just buy a mobile phone,hide it somewhere in the car and keep it charged - thats a cheap tracking device if you like. Works like GPS except it uses cellular base stations and if the cops request your operator to traingulate,you can locate your car - these devices are going to become redundant in a while - like the pager. Now even some phones have GPS capability - like a blackberry 8310 - if you can fork out 40K for a BB for the car,and another for yourself,you can even track your car (or spouse as long as GPS is on and battery is good). Just name the car BB with your car number and pair it with the one you own. Now with google maps created locally,its even MUCH faster.

I was able to navigate out of Ukambani with a Blackberry and Google maps - went in near Katangi from Machakos road side and emerged on Garissa Road.

Someone asked who is more reputable - I think it remains CARTRACK. Track it or f*** it?

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#19 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2009 1:44:00 PM

@djinn,my sons were on google maps all the way from Kisii to Nbi yesterday. The thing works quite fine and with a little ingenuity,like having the car charge the phone,it should kill of those tracker companies. By the way,I thought KTN and C**tr**k had the same major shareholder???
#20 Posted : Monday, April 13, 2009 4:18:00 PM

....wa wa wa wa wa....!!!! I was dead wrong. Mhindi (Track It) yuko taabani kabisa.