7 Pages«<34567>
StanChart Marathon 2014!
Mo
#81 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 9:01:31 AM

Naaaa....did akina ZZE123, McReggae, Euge, Mo, Gekko etc survive the challenge? They haven't been seen around here after marathon...

hey guys, congrats to the club 42, that's a feat!! I survived 21, had aimed to stop the clock under 2 and was working fine until the last mile. i came down the NIC hill full speed aiming for the gates only to realise that there was an extra loop to the roundabout and back, that part was a mental torture! i just took water and walked-run-walked and stopped at 2.09
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
#82 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 9:59:24 AM

Mo wrote:
Naaaa....did akina ZZE123, McReggae, Euge, Mo, Gekko etc survive the challenge? They haven't been seen around here after marathon...

hey guys, congrats to the club 42, that's a feat!! I survived 21, had aimed to stop the clock under 2 and was working fine until the last mile. i came down the NIC hill full speed aiming for the gates only to realise that there was an extra loop to the roundabout and back, that part was a mental torture! i just took water and walked-run-walked and stopped at 2.09

that part seems to have killed most of us.... roundabout from westi rounda to nyayo and back then the sliproad and back into the stadium was the killer.
#83 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 10:52:39 AM

Mo wrote:

that part seems to have killed most of us.... roundabout from westi rounda to nyayo and back then the sliproad and back into the stadium was the killer.

The same stretch did me in last year, it's the toughest part of finishing the half marathon!!!....@masukuma, did you manage sub 3hrs?
kivairu
#84 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 11:43:19 AM

quicksand wrote:
finished my first 21km... kumbe ni mbali hiyo...

Apparently had not read the map too well, so coming up, ..is it Aerodrome Road? I see people coming down the other way to check into the stadium, and I think....just a few metres...Ole! Kumbe there is the corner and dropping to Msa road and back up, my psyche got smashed up like a cheap glass...-hauling ass to the finish line from that point was great torture Sad
All the same, good run.

@ Quicksand. Running shouldn't be experienced as 'torture'. you shud actually enjoy running! congrats!

Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value. –Albert Einstein.
winston
#85 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 12:31:09 PM

Finished the 21km...it was pure torture. But maximum respects to Washiku and all the other 42ers!
#86 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 12:34:32 PM

kivairu wrote:
quicksand wrote:

Apparently had not read the map too well, so coming up, ..is it Aerodrome Road? I see people coming down the other way to check into the stadium, and I think....just a few metres...Ole! Kumbe there is the corner and dropping to Msa road and back up, my psyche got smashed up like a cheap glass...-hauling ass to the finish line from that point was great torture Sad
All the same, good run.

@ Quicksand. Running shouldn't be experienced as 'torture'. you shud actually enjoy running! congrats!

Thanks man smile ...mental strength is important in these things.
In other news, my feet really hurt. I am limping slightly today. I am used to grass and dirt trails. Tarmac is a killer!
#87 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 12:39:00 PM

most likely they cowed. after finishing its hard to not to talk about it

Please read post #56....
#88 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 12:44:19 PM

Mo wrote:

The same stretch did me in last year, it's the toughest part of finishing the half marathon!!!....@masukuma, did you manage sub 3hrs?

Oh yes....i did it in 2hrs 20 mins. I could have done much better considering I did my last 2kms in 10:44mins per km and 8:40 mins per km respectively. I think my 13km run on monday last week malizad me... I could have done better but isorite... happy I run the race.
Boris Boyka
#89 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 12:50:20 PM

quicksand wrote:
kivairu wrote:
quicksand wrote:

All the same, good run.

In other news, my feet really hurt. I am limping slightly today. I am used to grass and dirt trails. Tarmac is a killer!

@quicksand true running on tarmac has great effect on feet magoti na other joints. you must have good sports shoes(nice sole) to absorb the shock. running on rugged terrain,treadmill,track,tarmac are all different
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#90 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 1:08:53 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
quicksand wrote:
kivairu wrote:
quicksand wrote:

All the same, good run.

@quicksand true running on tarmac has great effect on feet magoti na other joints. you must have good sports shoes(nice sole) to absorb the shock. running on rugged terrain,treadmill,track,tarmac are all different

Are there specific running shoes? I am told there is need to consider the shape of one's foot when buying. Are there shoes advisors?
#91 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 1:14:27 PM

Euge wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
quicksand wrote:
kivairu wrote:
quicksand wrote:

All the same, good run.

Are there specific running shoes? I am told there is need to consider the shape of one's foot when buying. Are there shoes advisors?

I made the biggest mistake and ran with brand new shoes…. Now my toes are full of blistersSad Sad Sad
#92 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 1:17:40 PM

Euge wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
quicksand wrote:
kivairu wrote:
quicksand wrote:

All the same, good run.

I made the biggest mistake and ran with brand new shoes…. Now my toes are full of blistersSad Sad Sad

Ooh No!!! How could you? Anyway, its glad you finished and you wont repeat that mistake. It could cause you a bad injury.
#93 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 1:28:40 PM

A few lessons I learnt:

1. Mental energy is as important as the physical energy. The kind of 'self-motivation' you have to do to yourself is too much. Same reason I think those loops should be done away with. They totally kill the mental strength.

2. On physical energy, it may be too much to run for 42kms purely on water. One needs some energy boosters along the way. I realized Urban Swaras had placed guys strategically along the way to serve their members with energy drinks. That must have made their journey much easier.

3. Train hard, win easy. One must have trained thoroughly well to have it easy for this thing. I was able to run for about 30kms non-stop(didnt stop even at water points, took water as I continued). That means had I been on the 21kms, I would have done the whole journey non-stop. But the moment you start stopping, the body starts shouting to you on the pain you are feeling and the rest of the journey is nothing but torture.

4. The best strategy would be identifying a speed you are comfortable at and maintain it for very long, instead of running too fast at the beginning only to run out of energy too soon.

5. A pace setter can help you go places. If you identify a guy who can help you overcome the temptation to slow down, one who can help you push yourself just a little bit to maintain the speed identified above, one can win easier. I realised once you stop even for 2mins the guys you were with leaves you very far back and its almost impossible to catch up again.
#94 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 1:44:13 PM

A few lessons I learnt:

1. Mental energy is as important as the physical energy. The kind of 'self-motivation' you have to do to yourself is too much. Same reason I think those loops should be done away with. They totally kill the mental strength.

2. On physical energy, it may be too much to run for 42kms purely on water. One needs some energy boosters along the way. I realized Urban Swaras had placed guys strategically along the way to serve their members with energy drinks. That must have made their journey much easier.

3. Train hard, win easy. One must have trained thoroughly well to have it easy for this thing. I was able to run for about 30kms non-stop(didnt stop even at water points, took water as I continued). That means had I been on the 21kms, I would have done the whole journey non-stop. But the moment you start stopping, the body starts shouting to you on the pain you are feeling and the rest of the journey is nothing but torture.

4. The best strategy would be identifying a speed you are comfortable at and maintain it for very long, instead of running too fast at the beginning only to run out of energy too soon.

5. A pace setter can help you go places. If you identify a guy who can help you overcome the temptation to slow down, one who can help you push yourself just a little bit to maintain the speed identified above, one can win easier. I realised once you stop even for 2mins the guys you were with leaves you very far back and its almost impossible to catch up again.

I squeezed some orange juice and was very useful yesterday. Learnt the tactic from First Lady.
Taking note of all these for the First Lady's run in March.

Was wondering what it takes to volunteer in such an event. Is it as easy as contacting the event organizer or wako na watu wao.
Wakanyugi
#95 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 2:25:27 PM

quicksand wrote:

All the same, good run.

Let me tell you my Bro, the worst mental torture they have done to us in the 42 is you run all the way from Nyayo to Vitafoam, past Panari, you can back to Nyayo, then back to Vitafoam and then back to Nyayo to finish. For mental peace, I would prefer running all the way to Mlolongo and back than that loop. Hujuma... Mateso.

You are right.

Hii ni hujuma kabisa.

Someone had told me they got rid of that lookp from Nyayo stadium. So I get to Panari (loop 1) I feel I have a lot of energy, nikafungulia. Only to get to Nyayo to be told I have to go back for another 10K. My race almost ended there.

Something has to be done about that loop.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Wakanyugi
#96 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 2:32:20 PM

babaroy wrote:
Today,paramedics arrived late for duty in Kenyatta national hospital. I was waiting for an x-ray...and the guy arrived late....thanks to the barricading of roads due to the marathonShame on you Shame on you Shame on you

This was the biggest mistake the Stanchart organizers made, according to me. Shutting the road to the Kenyatta round about affected people trying access the hospital. It also block runners from accessing Upperhill, where many of them park their cars. I couldn't understand the logic of this decision.

Then the idea of sticking first aid teams to water points, with no roving units was another mistake. A lady who was doing the wheel cycle race collapsed near NIC and it took a long time to get help to her. I hope she is OK.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#97 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 2:41:52 PM

Mo wrote:

Oh yes....i did it in 2hrs 20 mins. I could have done much better considering I did my last 2kms in 10:44mins per km and 8:40 mins per km respectively. I think my 13km run on monday last week malizad me... I could have done better but isorite... happy I run the race.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Good stuff, now you got to work on sub 2hrs!!!
Mo
#98 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 2:54:56 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
babaroy wrote:
Today,paramedics arrived late for duty in Kenyatta national hospital. I was waiting for an x-ray...and the guy arrived late....thanks to the barricading of roads due to the marathonShame on you Shame on you Shame on you

This was the biggest mistake the Stanchart organizers made, according to me. Shutting the road to the Kenyatta round about affected people trying access the hospital. It also block runners from accessing Upperhill, where many of them park their cars. I couldn't understand the logic of this decision.

Then the idea of sticking first aid teams to water points, with no roving units was another mistake. A lady who was doing the wheel cycle race collapsed near NIC and it took a long time to get help to her. I hope she is OK.

yes, even I thought it was plain shupid not to have a mobile first aid team, I saw the lady at NIC bleeding seriously on the face, the stewards didnot even have first aid kit. even at forest road a dude collapsed and there was no first aid!, cops took in the guy into their pick-up, such a shame!
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
#99 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 3:08:39 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
babaroy wrote:

The sight of blood oozing from her forehead sent a chill in my spine. I was so scared. Blood is the last thing you want to see when you have more than 20kms to go.
#100 Posted : Monday, October 27, 2014 3:16:06 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
babaroy wrote:

The sight of blood oozing from her forehead sent a chill in my spine. I was so scared. Blood is the last thing you want to see when you have more than 20kms to go.

I also saw people on the road side nursing their muscle pulls and all. I felt there should be a system to call for quick response.