7 Pages<12345>»
StanChart Marathon 2014!
#41 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 7:55:54 PM

Euge wrote:
kivairu wrote:
There is about 2 and a half weeks to the marathon. Is this adequate time for someone to train for the 21KM. d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Someone who last exercised over a year ago

Sure you can. Train twice a week. Do some light mid-week run. Then train better over the weekend.

I am encouraged. I must finish the 21km no matter how long it will take me

That's the spirit!!!

21km ni ndogo sana usiongope.
#42 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 8:07:16 PM

I will be there to take photos and sell glucose.
#43 Posted : Friday, October 10, 2014 12:21:24 AM

Euge wrote:
kivairu wrote:
There is about 2 and a half weeks to the marathon. Is this adequate time for someone to train for the 21KM. d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! Someone who last exercised over a year ago

Sure you can. Train twice a week. Do some light mid-week run. Then train better over the weekend.

I am encouraged. I must finish the 21km no matter how long it will take me

That's the spirit!!!

21km ni ndogo sana usiongope.

Ati nini? Gathered courage so far.
rryyzz
#44 Posted : Monday, October 13, 2014 5:06:43 PM

rryyzz wrote:
Nikooooo.....am doing 42kms. So help me God.

Wow, all the best and congrats for the confidence!!!

Thanchu...Target this time is just to finish. Regardless of how long it will takesmile smile

Washiku,I think you can do three and half hours.

Yes, you drove me to it. But 3.5? NOOO! Dont trust me too much. smile smile Target is just finish this year. Lets talk about time next year, God willing.

We will be cheering you on,42kms isn't for the fainthearted, i just love your determination and courageApplause Applause Applause Applause .I still think you can do under 4hrs,lets wait and seePray Pray .
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
#45 Posted : Monday, October 13, 2014 5:12:58 PM

nimejisajili!
#46 Posted : Monday, October 13, 2014 8:47:03 PM

washiku.
Wakanyugi
#47 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 11:24:32 AM

washiku.

I want to commend all those Wazuans who intend to take part in the Stanchart Marathon. It is for a good cause, and also good for yousmile

I intend to do the 42Km (again).

I have a lot of respect for anyone who is doing either 21K or 42K for the first time. It is a brave decision. I recall how scared I was when I laced up for my first full marathon.

All the best.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
winston
#48 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 4:24:51 PM

...hata mimi niko...kwa 21km...

#49 Posted : Saturday, October 25, 2014 8:16:11 PM

All the best team Wazua. See you at the finish line.
#50 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2014 11:47:24 AM

done. see you on 8 March for beyond zero round 2
#51 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2014 11:58:38 AM

finished my first 21km... kumbe ni mbali hiyo...
#52 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2014 12:13:27 PM

Apparently had not read the map too well, so coming up, ..is it Aerodrome Road? I see people coming down the other way to check into the stadium, and I think....just a few metres...Ole! Kumbe there is the corner and dropping to Msa road and back up, my psyche got smashed up like a cheap glass...-hauling ass to the finish line from that point was great torture Sad
All the same, good run.
#53 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2014 12:15:18 PM

Well done to you all who participated in the race . Congrats na makofi zaidi kwa wote waliomaliza mkondo.

I cheered you on at the water point along forest road.
#54 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2014 1:32:42 PM

Hongera to the participants.Applause Applause Just learnt that a dear friend who was also participating collapsed and was rushed to hospital. So far, scans show a clot in the right side of the brain.Pray Pray
#55 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2014 2:30:42 PM

#56 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2014 2:34:23 PM

Unofficial 2h 47m. Time gets worse every year, but then again, I'm getting older and heavier......
#57 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2014 2:39:45 PM

quicksand wrote:

Apparently had not read the map too well, so coming up, ..is it Aerodrome Road? I see people coming down the other way to check into the stadium, and I think....just a few metres...Ole! Kumbe there is the corner and dropping to Msa road and back up, my psyche got smashed up like a cheap glass...-hauling ass to the finish line from that point was great torture Sad
All the same, good run.

Let me tell you my Bro, the worst mental torture they have done to us in the 42 is you run all the way from Nyayo to Vitafoam, past Panari, you can back to Nyayo, then back to Vitafoam and then back to Nyayo to finish. For mental peace, I would prefer running all the way to Mlolongo and back than that loop. Hujuma... Mateso.
#58 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2014 2:50:26 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Hongera to the participants.Applause Applause Just learnt that a dear friend who was also participating collapsed and was rushed to hospital. So far, scans show a clot in the right side of the brain.Pray Pray

Pray Pray Hizo clots hutoka wapi daktari? How can they be avoided/prevented?
#59 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2014 3:05:33 PM

quicksand wrote:

All the same, good run.

same script... when i turned from nairobi west round-about i just looked and said to myself.... what the hell? i took two bottles of water and walked down to nyayo stadium and went up to nairobi west rounder using a mix of running and walking. i finshed the race in a run lakini. just thinking.... hiyo ni nusu ya 42 km... washiku.... and all other finishers of 42km are giants living amoung men.
#60 Posted : Sunday, October 26, 2014 3:23:19 PM

quicksand wrote:

All the same, good run.

Let me tell you my Bro, the worst mental torture they have done to us in the 42 is you run all the way from Nyayo to Vitafoam, past Panari, you can back to Nyayo, then back to Vitafoam and then back to Nyayo to finish. For mental peace, I would prefer running all the way to Mlolongo and back than that loop. Hujuma... Mateso.

Wow! That is rough. To see and bypass the end, not once but twice! Eish. Congratulations bwana, 42km is an extraordinary feat.