7 Pages«<4567>
Wizi wa ngawira..
Layman
#101 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:08:00 PM

impunity,maybe you are using the wong insurer or you took the wrong policy. Are you insured by the Matatu insurers,insure your car with insurers who dont insurer matatus,better still,insure through a broker and specify whihc insurer you prefer. Do not use agents (brokers are better) ? A tracking device only reduced the excess amount or the percentage you pay to your insurer if your car is stollen,otherwise,read your policy document in full.

The future is already here!
nanfor
#102 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:17:00 PM

@Impunity,no need to get mad with me. I was just asking from a position of ignorance. I haven't dealt with Kenyan insurance companies so I was just asking.

If that is the situation I will then continue using the matatu outside my house for a few more months. for a moment there I thought it was the attachment to the car stuff that mkenya was alluding to.

From my experience,no one takes those track devices coz no one wants a useless lemon being sent back to them by the insurance company. If the insurance company won't pay,then why even pay the premium. I am sorry impunity but if your insurance company is not paying you,then you should get another one.

If you tell me its one of those Kenyan things,then you deserve what you get for not agitating for a better insurance company. Oh,I forgot,you are so busy writing diatribes here you forgot to deal with real issues like why your insurance company does not pay you when you have a legitimate claim.

Waria
#103 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:21:00 PM

@nanfor most jackers will normally take you to the ATM drain out your acoounts,sometimes clobber you or even seriously maim/kill someone. before taking off with the car

So you need the tracking device to catch the mfkers

Also claiming insuarance for a stolen Mvehicle is a lengthy bureaucracy

Me first,U next
nanfor
#104 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:22:00 PM

ok waria,I get you. No wonder guys are so mad with track it.
#105 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:35:00 PM

@waria thanks alot.......this is all what THOMASES need to know :

'lengthy bureaucracy'

And that lengthy can be really loooooong...infact longer than the land-row cases...!!!

Which is more dirty,the pig or Kenyan mp?

#106 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 12:47:00 PM

@chaka - most people take the cheapest insurance optionsthe so-called 'third party,fire and THEFT' Therefore ALL stolen cars are paid for by the insurer

@nanfor-the reason is the discount extended on the premium if the car has a tracking device. Also,the so-called 'theft excess' that the client has to pay before the insurer releases the compensation chequeI can never understand why!

Anyway: If your car is worth sh3m,the standard comprehensive cover may come to about sh150k (at 5% declared value). The theft excess if not fitted with a tracking device may be 15%,or sh450k.

Now,the insurer tells you that if you fit the device and you can pay 3% premium (sh90ksaving sh60k) and/or they will waive the theft excess - potentially saving you sh450k in case your car is stolen kabisa.

Clearly then,if (like me) you are driving a sh500k mtumba,this tracking device would be a waste of money. What I have is an alarm-cum-immobiliser and that saves me the theft excess (potential sh75k saving from a sh6k device).
Jokimy
#107 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 1:08:00 PM

@all

There is no security system that is fool-proof. While its excellent and 'safer' to know the location of your car,when the jackers (the pros) strike,it may not help.

Last year our company lost a vehicle fitted with car-track (GSM based) and GPS tracking system monitored from the office. By the time the staff was released (naked and phoneless) by part of the jacking party to report the vehicle had crossed into TZ.

The plans of the diligent lead surely to plenty,but those of everyone who is hasty,surely to poverty.
Feish
#108 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 1:27:00 PM

What about the former prezzie range rover stolen from showroom.....ama pia ilikuwa fitted na TRACK IT........

life is an endless adventure
nanfor
#109 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 1:46:00 PM

@mukiha,that is the most detailed answer I have ever got on SK without getting personal.

we are made from the same cloth as I honestly believe some people do things for things other than logical financial thought. This car track thing is one of them.

Ok another question from ignorance. I assume a car worth 3m is normally on a loan. Isn't the bank going to pay for the excess. At 450k,the bank should be invested in you paying the excess. In this I mean an insurance product for the excess. I know banks even cover for the loss of value. Are these products available?

So put it plainly for me. I have no intention of buying a worthless thing like a car on a loan. I am also not going to install any tract gadgets. I think it can only be useful to my boyfriend.

If I wanted to buy a car worth between 600k to 1m and wanted to insure it comprehensively,how much would it range at? Are there monthly payment plans? any possible discounts especially female driver discounts? How long do legit claims take? And please,can you suggest a good insurance company? Preferably not owned by track it,car track,ktn,or the standard group. lol
Layman
#110 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 2:09:00 PM

On average a private car insurance costs about 4.5% of the value of the car,then add 10% for Radio value and 10% for windscreen value. that should give you the total cost of the insurance pa. In kenya insurance prem must be paid upfront in full,unless a bank/employer pays for you and then you repay the bank/employer in agreed instalments.

Damage and injury claims take shorter,between one month to three month. but can take longer if parts are to be imported by repairer. Lost cars taka average of three months coz logocally some investigation need be done by insurer appointed investigator. You know more than 50% of motor claims in kenya are fraudulent like driving your car to TZ then coming back to claim it was stollen from your parking yard,etc.

ETC

The future is already here!
#111 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 2:09:00 PM

@Nancy.....aka nanfor.....In Kenya,the comprehensive insurance ranges between 4 to 5.5% of the stated value of the car.There is nothing for lady drivers...Suppose your hubby takes ua car one evening to go and water his throat one evening and on his way back the expected happens?

Which is more dirty,the pig or Kenyan mp?

Joni
#112 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 2:39:00 PM

@ Impunity if you approach Real Insurance Co Ltd they have special terms for ladies and the benefits attached thereto can only accrue (at the time of a claim) if the lady owner/driver had control of the vehicle at the time of loss otherwise the normal claim terms apply for anyother driver.

Generally when your car is fitted with an approved tracking device the Theft excess is either lower than 10% (normal) or NIL. The reasoning here is that such devices reduce the theft risk.

What we are yet to know is what happens that now Track IT has been cornered. Is this story going to affect the contracts entered between insurance cos and the Rogue firm. I think it should but lets wait and see.

Ever wondered how Car Track which was considered superior that Tract IT in the early almost 6years ago is now almost unknown. I am tempted to refer Car Track to the Zain of the tracking companies and Track IT the Safaricom of the same world.

Nway that notwithstanding,what recourse does one have in this matter?

'What do we live for,if it is not to make life less difficult to each other?' George Elliot
PONDI
#113 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 2:44:00 PM

@feish... that moi range rover was not stolen. it had been sold to that buru shady biz chap called mike .... who owns many fancy mats on route 58 and casurina bar. infact he wants to sue some media house over that story.

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
nanfor
#114 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 4:35:00 PM

KTN READ SK!

I said there needed to be more evidence. What they showed in the final episode of 'track it vs car track' was totally unfair.

I have sold nyanya a long time and I have driven on that road they were talking about. Does that mean I am a car thief? Ati the cop did not ask about who owned the car and even seemed drunk....This is one time I will support these cops. If a cop asked that question everyday,365 days a year,how many thieves would he catch? aiii!

I was not for track it but this is plain and simply a HACK JOB.

Ati their evidence since monday is two guys whose cars were stolen,and one guy who lied (a pastor who lies) that his car had been stolen. (i guess track it can see his car in his house and won't bother).

The most compelling evidence to KTN buffs is that cars have disappeared after being installed with the device. I am not stupid but I am 100% sure that no one can guarantee that your car cannot be stolen. There is no safety device that crooks can not break. None. NADA. In fact,they should tell us how many Car track cars have disappeared.

This was a hack job and my view of KTN cannot be saved by watching The Amazing Race on Friday. Anything else is seriously,flawed.

They may have been offered a bribe,but for what purpose,how much and by whom is something that needs more investigations.

I still ask,How Many Cars have been stolen that Have Car Track systems vs Track it?
#115 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 5:06:00 PM

Am I the only one who got the unfounded attempt to link Track It with car jackings? From the whole of the report (assuming it is true) there is nothing to justify questioning whether Track It is somehow involved with the car jackers. That in my view is defamatory.

namcast.com - free .ke emails
nanfor
#116 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 7:01:00 PM

This is a study in bad journalism and terrible management. This is my view about what happened. I know someone from KTN is reading this seeing that they edited the 7pm stories to remove the items I was totally against especially the police issues.

Some time back someone from track it was fired. When fired,they illegally left with customer private data. KTN got a hold of the data. In their greed to come out with a half baked story,they forgot to do due dilligence especially when it comes to being in possession of information that was obviously illegally acquired.

Please follow the illegally part,you will understand KTN's dilema.

In their haste to produce this story,they forgot to get independent verification of their claims. In their advertising of the said expose KTN asserted the following:

Track it did not install their gadgets in half their vehicles,
track it gm bribed them to hide this story,
track it were in collusion with thugs to steal people's cars

Some lawyer hired at KTN was not doing their job. Those are serious allegations that deserve serious investigative tools that should include independent verification. If you want to know what that is all about,go to Youtube and watch a 60 minutes program.

The first allegation is due for a lawsuit. That is the reason you see them coming up with people who's cars may or may not have been stolen 3 years ago. Stating that on TV is terrible journalism and they did not need to do it. It is easily proven true or untrue. The list that Moha illegally acquired has the cars,test them all. If 90% are fitted,it can be claimed the fired employee did not install them. All with the help of Car Track aka KTN.

The second allegation is also easy to prove. however,KTN again have not proved that the envelopes contained,20k dollars yesterday and today 12500 dollars. That is a lawsuit. I put it to you that the reason that KTN are asking that stupid question on whether to take the now $12500 to the police or their mercy train is simple. Some lawyer has told them that if taken to the police,their complicity in getting the bribe will be under scrutiny. Including how they got the customer list in the first place. Second how do we know these 3 guys did not share out more than 12500 dollars

if the money goes to charity,this case dies a slow death as Track it is destroyed for free. My take,if the money is stolen,take it to the courts,then we can know what the involvement of Car Track is all this.

The third scenario is a lawsuit. Going to Loitokitok and claiming that you met drunk policemen is a serious issue. I was waiting to see track director talking to a policeman at the border to allow Ruto's car to pass the border. As for the road they took,only they can tell us where they were but of course,track it can not confirm that.

I am sorry guys,KTN messed up big time and are now trying to cover their asses by refusing to take the so called evidence to Kaca. My evidence is simple. All this cry baby,'I was doing it for all those car jacking victims',is a sign of trying to cover up for a major goof up on their part. Wanna bet no one is going to court and Car Track aka KTN gets all track it customers?

HACK JOB BY KTN! Sorry I was so long but this is damn interesting to say the least.

#117 Posted : Wednesday, April 15, 2009 7:39:00 PM

Am very disappointed,this expose didnt end....or even begin the way KTN had exaggeratedly made us believe it's going to be over Easter(preview time). What was their point?They were unable to prove or rather provide any connection between Track-it and carjackings or anything incriminating other than the bribe part. And why couldnt they come up with facts...like interview the 50% of car owners whose cars had not been allegedly fitted with the tracking device?

@Nanfor,i totally agree with you totally on this one

Advice is what we ask for when we already know the answer but wish we didn't..
Sasha
#118 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 5:23:00 AM

The 9pm story was also bogus! They cut the part about the crossing to Tz using the Tarakea area! And the road they were showing! OMG! Why would any car theif use such a road? Even lorries can't navigate through there?

The most disappointing thing is how they kept trying to sensationalise it! Ati 'after the expose, we will bring you stories of people who've been conned by the company'! Then they bring a walalo who lost his car 1.5 years ago and some other guy who lost his 3 years ago and said ati his car was spotten in Kajiado! Absolute hogwash!

However much I dislike him, I wish this expose had been done by Robert Nagila! He's more thorough!

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
B.Timer
#119 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 6:49:00 AM

KTN was probably worried of diminishing viewership - then their spin doctors went on overdrive in an attempt to lure back viewers.
Of course the trick has worked big time,given the way guys here couldnt wait to view each episode. Even those who may not have known of the existence of the 'expose' were persuaded in this forum to make a point of not missing it.
If any statistics of percentage viewership per TV station were done during those times,KTN would probably be leading the pack.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
across
#120 Posted : Thursday, April 16, 2009 7:11:00 AM

they remind me of cobra squad.