5 Pages<1234>»
CHEAPER POWER: Electricity cost is set to drop by 30%
#21 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 10:11:44 AM

wanyee wrote:
[quote=Impunity]The government is retiring its diesel plants.
Which are these plants?
Do the plants include the Iberafrica and Watsila?
What is the fate of the our bros and sizs employed in those companies?

I dont care about the workers fate.However what will happen to the Thika Power Company which is along Thika Road, there is another power plant which is under construction just past Athi River??????????

Are these all Diesel powered generators?

Yes,they are.Meanwhile an interesting article.
http://tommakau.com/2014...capacity-will-backfire/[/quote]
Its trendy nowadays to appear skeptic..which is being confused as wit...the guy has minimalist view ..and he is wearing welding goggles akin to David Ndii and the ilk..see nothing good until a certain Babu is in power

By the way the REv david Ndii ni kabila ipi? He has been opposing anything @Kibaki, @Uhulu and @kiukish!
Could he be a mole?

#22 Posted : Monday, September 22, 2014 4:10:13 PM

#23 Posted : Monday, September 22, 2014 4:34:36 PM

Acha tungojee kwa hamu na ghamu...
#24 Posted : Monday, September 22, 2014 4:41:11 PM

The DP passionately explained the same yester-night on citizen. It is a major leap to saving our wallets.
#25 Posted : Monday, September 22, 2014 4:49:47 PM

Uongo. The media is SCHEWPID! They can't even analyse a household electricity bill and spot the lies!

Wacha Utaona hii ni UONGO!

#26 Posted : Monday, September 22, 2014 5:28:24 PM

This is very good news for many households and all businesses
#27 Posted : Friday, October 03, 2014 6:50:24 PM

The DP passionately explained the same yester-night on citizen. It is a major leap to saving our wallets.

We really need to sort this ASAP...kibao manufacturing companies are closing shop and prefer to have their factories in Egypt.
#28 Posted : Saturday, October 04, 2014 3:19:35 AM

Had to share this picture that was posted by Bill Gates on his FB page.

#29 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 9:34:52 AM

Connection costs to drop down to 30K
#30 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 9:44:23 AM

I wish we could get exact launch dates of the initiatives instead of the many plans that are announced every other day!!!!
#31 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 10:05:39 AM

The figures and numbers DPORK keeps throwing around in interviews and mashujaa day are they correct mpaka now 1+1>2!
#32 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 11:02:14 AM

The figures and numbers DPORK keeps throwing around in interviews and mashujaa day are they correct mpaka now 1+1>2!

It's just that the DP is being selective with the info, but if you check your September bill,you will note a huge drop in the fuel cost and the FX component.The electricity drop will only happen in these two components(I read somewhere that,the target is to eliminate these two components from your bill completely by 2015).The other components of your bill will not change!
rryyzz
#33 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 1:09:20 PM

It's just that the DP is being selective with the info, but if you check your September bill,you will note a huge drop in the fuel cost and the FX component.The electricity drop will only happen in these two components(I read somewhere that,the target is to eliminate these two components from your bill completely by 2015).The other components of your bill will not change!

If we can eliminate the fuel cost, the better. It forms a very big % of the bill we pay , in the past months its been higher than the actual energy/electricity cost.

Lakini, we should always remember that politicians will always say what will make the masses happy.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
Ericsson
#34 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 1:44:09 PM

Fuel cost will be in the ksh.3 range in November.
With the heavy rains pounding the country by december we should be in the ksh.2 b range
Wealth is built through a relatively simple equation
Wealth=Income + Investments - Lifestyle
#35 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 1:44:36 PM

rryyzz wrote:

If we can eliminate the fuel cost, the better. It forms a very big % of the bill we pay , in the past months its been higher than the actual energy/electricity cost.

Lakini, we should always remember that politicians will always say what will make the masses happy.

For the prepaid meters, how much has the number of units you pay changed for a given amount?
limanika
#36 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 7:40:58 PM

Uongo. The media is SCHEWPID! They can't even analyse a household electricity bill and spot the lies!

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you By the way, did anybody check when the charges last went up? if we are being played, then i expect KP to have raised some of the charges by 30% maybe a year ago and now lower by 30%. Back to zero sum game. Are you by any means insinuating that something like this is the case???? Who can check the facts and report back????
holycow
#37 Posted : Wednesday, October 22, 2014 8:11:43 PM

I beg to differ. Areas like Garissa, Wajir, Mandera, Laisamis and Marsabit are off the grid. The electricity in these areas is diesel generated. In the spirit of "harambee", the folks in other parts of Kenya pay/share the cost of fuel used in generation.
The component won't be off the bill anytime soon unless these areas are connected to the National Grid.
Atalaku
#38 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 5:49:05 AM

limanika wrote:

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you By the way, did anybody check when the charges last went up? if we are being played, then i expect KP to have raised some of the charges by 30% maybe a year ago and now lower by 30%. Back to zero sum game. Are you by any means insinuating that something like this is the case???? Who can check the facts and report back????

Thugs...it is just like the way they raise fuell prices by 6 shillings and lower it the following month by 3 shillings. Why did they lower oil prices this month with a neglible margin when international oil prices have really come down?
rryyzz
#39 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 8:58:05 AM

rryyzz wrote:

For the prepaid meters, how much has the number of units you pay changed for a given amount?
I'll make my comparison when I purchase the units then get back to you. I buy units once a month.
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
#40 Posted : Thursday, October 23, 2014 9:17:01 AM

holycow wrote:

I beg to differ. Areas like Garissa, Wajir, Mandera, Laisamis and Marsabit are off the grid. The electricity in these areas is diesel generated. In the spirit of "harambee", the folks in other parts of Kenya pay/share the cost of fuel used in generation.
The component won't be off the bill anytime soon unless these areas are connected to the National Grid.

Holycow,The fact is even some of the power on the grid is diesel generated especially during the dry season,the point here is that the overall cost of fuel will come down(i assume KP or kengen usually averages the cost of diesel) since only a few towns like Garissa,mandera and lamu will only depend on fuel generated power unlike in the past when almost all the country depended on it during the dry season