6 Pages<12345>»
Thomas Sankara
#21 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 5:21:49 PM

Yaani you people can support a guy who who took power via a coup, banned political parties and trade unions, and nationalized natural resources. That was another tin pot communist dictator in the making. Good that they took him out early enough. Reminds me of Le General Mobutu Sese Seko Kuku wa Nzambanga of Zaire. Sad.

Agreed. He was a maverick who was headed nowhere.
People get enchanted with the dead people whose mission in life could have been different if they had lived. Case in point is the Kenyan minister who was murdered in the late eighties who would surely have faded into political oblivion were it not for his assassination.

coz wewe ndio nguata francis wa people's lives? you are some foreteller? What he did in 4 years was undeniable! if you don't know it's mavericks that change this world

No I am no fortune teller,I am just guided by history and commonsense. For example I know Kenya politics favors opportunists.
Most of the Dictators actually started quite well.There was jubilation in the streets when Idi Amin took over in Uganda.Kwame Nkrumah would have preserved his position if he had served only for a limited period. Murtala Mohammed started well but could have probably gone the way of Abacha if he had stayed on.

#22 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 5:32:20 PM

marko wrote:
Yaani you people can support a guy who who took power via a coup, banned political parties and trade unions, and nationalized natural resources. That was another tin pot communist dictator in the making. Good that they took him out early enough. Reminds me of Le General Mobutu Sese Seko Kuku wa Nzambanga of Zaire. Sad.

Agreed. He was a maverick who was headed nowhere.
People get enchanted with the dead people whose mission in life could have been different if they had lived. Case in point is the Kenyan minister who was murdered in the late eighties who would surely have faded into political oblivion were it not for his assassination.

coz wewe ndio nguata francis wa people's lives? you are some foreteller? What he did in 4 years was undeniable! if you don't know it's mavericks that change this world

My god. Some people never cease to amaze me. Is it the anonymity or just plain foolishness? @jaggernaut @kaka2za I just cant get my head around it.

It's so difficult to uphold hero worship because the worshipper must become the worshipped.

Then there's the question of what's to be worshipped.

In a sense I wonder, isn't Mobutu, Sankara?

#23 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 5:40:23 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Alba wrote:
France was likely responsible for killing Sankara. Its amazing that the person who actually led the coup that killed him and dismembered his body is still president. Kweli Africa kuna mambo

@Masukuma, its a tragedy that we see ourselves through the eyes of others - West. Ask about Patrice Lumumba, Abdel Nasser, Nyerere and Muamar Kaddaffi. Real liberators of this continent who were branded dictators and assassinated by the our "donor partners".

Luckily kamwana is now playing ballLaughing out loudly
#24 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 5:41:58 PM

yet again we delve into 'what could have beens' yet it's all guess work about his future... don't we love to forget the likes of Jerry Rawlings? anyway here are some FACTS
He inspired many -
-food sufficiency in 4 years for a country that is in the sahel (heck Sahel was taken from a state in Burkina faso)
-banned the use of expensive cars for government officials and forced the to use the cheapest car around.
-the citizens built a railway with their own hands
-he promoted the one thing i believe will determine our dignity as a people i.e. FOR US BY US.
- he outlawed the display of his portrait.
- he refused to have air conditioning since majority of the population did not have it.
- he owned one car, 4 motorbikes and a guitar (which he used to compose the national anthem)

everything else is what you guess would have happened and the French stooge that cleared and forwarded him is still in power until today.
#25 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 5:56:25 PM

“’Where is imperialism?” Look at your plates when you eat. These imported grains of rice, corn, and millet - that is imperialism.”
Thomas Sankara

meanwhile people are fighting for croissants in ke
Alba
#26 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 8:21:49 PM

Sankara was exceptional but is DEAD.
When you die it is all over.Nice guy poor politician.
Compaore ,bad guy ,alive and still ruling.

Are you suggesting that people should be forgotten once they are dead? People who do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it. Based on your logic I suppose you think history is a useless subject?
Alba
#27 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 8:28:23 PM

Sometimes a coup is justified especially when democractic elections are not an option or are forbidden. Many coups in African have made the country better. The coups against Iddi Amin and Obote made Uganda better.

There are also several military rulers who after the coup, peacefully handed over the reigns to elected civilian rulers e.g. Obasanjo in 1979.

The coups that make African countries worse are usually those done at the behest of western countries.

And your prediction about him are baseless. It shows you haven't the slightest clue. There is literally nothing comparable between Mobutu and Sankara. In fact they are polar opposites: Sankara paid himself a monthly salary of $450 per month. Contrast this with Mobutu who looted everything in sight. You speak like someone who knows literally nothing about African history and is just making generalizations.
#28 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 9:23:15 PM

Alba wrote:

Are you suggesting that people should be forgotten once they are dead? People who do not learn from history are doomed to repeat it. Based on your logic I suppose you think history is a useless subject?

No Sir. The crux of my argument is that being a good guy is useless if hastens your liquidation. Sankara was a good guy who trusted everybody and expected them to see things in black n white.
I love history because it teaches me never to trust my friends especially those who seem to be indispensable.
There is no gain in being exceptional but dead.
#29 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 9:53:54 PM

Alba wrote:

Sometimes a coup is justified especially when democractic elections are not an option or are forbidden. Many coups in African have made the country better. The coups against Iddi Amin and Obote made Uganda better.

There are also several military rulers who after the coup, peacefully handed over the reigns to elected civilian rulers e.g. Obasanjo in 1979.

The coups that make African countries worse are usually those done at the behest of western countries.

And your prediction about him are baseless. It shows you haven't the slightest clue. There is literally nothing comparable between Mobutu and Sankara. In fact they are polar opposites: Sankara paid himself a monthly salary of $450 per month. Contrast this with Mobutu who looted everything in sight. You speak like someone who knows literally nothing about African history and is just making generalizations.

admin wapi functionality ya 'like'? i need to like this post multiple times
#30 Posted : Friday, October 17, 2014 10:45:02 PM

Alba wrote:

No Sir. The crux of my argument is that being a good guy is useless if hastens your liquidation. Sankara was a good guy who trusted everybody and expected them to see things in black n white.
I love history because it teaches me never to trust my friends especially those who seem to be indispensable.
There is no gain in being exceptional but dead.

there are many who were 'ordinary' and are dead.....
6 Pages<12345>»