A wedding before buying a car!
#21 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 11:03:14 AM

muganda wrote:
Hmmmn... Julia wa Wanjiku speaks.

Is a car more important than a wife?
Is there a difference between a marriage and a wedding?
Should a woman marry a man who does not have an automobile?

If she thinks a motorvehicle is very valuable, she is in for a shock.i remember once we swapped cars with a friend while out drinking, i took his jeep Grand Cherokee 2014 while he took my Mitsubishi Lancer.After some drinks we headed to hunt for fish near Yaya.He was ahead and started negotiating with the fish, I arrived after 3 minutes and all the fish swam and left him alone with the Lancer while they came to negotiate with me totally ignorant that the guy is moneyed than me.

A man with money can be seen by his outwordly things........Cars, house, blings, cologne etc.

The fish at yaya were in business and therefore were going to sell to the highest bidder.The man with a bigger and more flashy car was obviously the one with more money so they flocked there.

As they say "Mwanaume ni pesa" and that will hold true for generations to come.The other truth is that those with money do not necessarilly make better companions/husbands..so for ladies its a choice between he has money and is likely to take you through some serious heartache or he has no money and will shower you with love.When there is no food you are willing to sleep hungry so long as you feel loved and adored.

Very few have both.

Are you implying that I'm not a better companion/husband? smile smile
#22 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 11:07:52 AM

muganda wrote:

Buying a car is one the worst decisions a young man/couple could make, that is unless they have alot of resources. The costs associated with ownership are immense and that money would rather be used elsewhere to secure the young couples financial future.

So lets assume he buys a car, then these will be his costs every year:
-purchase price (subaru, premio, golf etc) = 1.2m,

Costs:
-Interest on car loan @18% = 216,000
-insurance at 7.5% = 90,000
-fueling @ 700bob per day, 5 days a week = 182,000
-parking fee @300 bob a day = 81,000
-car depreciation = 400k per year
-servicing 4 times pyr, @10000 = 40,000
-spares = 40,000
-tyres (2 per yr) = 30,000
Total cost = Ksh 1,079,000 per year.

For 3 years of ownership that will be a cost of Ksh 3,237,000, an amount enough to buy an apartment (hapo mombasa road) cash. And the car will be worth just 450k. There are better ways to invest such cash instead of literary "burning it inside your car's 1500cc engine".

If that stupid girl had advised her new husband to buy appreciating assets like land or stocks lets see hjow the situation would be:

So instead of buying car, buy stocks or land kitengela 1.2m. Also, instead of using 1,079,000 on car every year, use the money to buy more land, thus 3,237,000 bob land after 3yrs. Therefore after 3yrs total assets will be 4,437,000. And the land will be appreciating at 30% each year i.e 1,331,100 pa.

In conclusion the one who buys the car will have an "asset" worth 450k after 3 years, while the one who chose to invest elsewhere will be having assets worth 4.3m, which are appreciating by 1.3m per year. So the choices that one makes early in life have very serious consequences on our future financial well being.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 11:16:26 AM

muganda wrote:

Buying a car is one the worst decisions a young man/couple could make, that is unless they have alot of resources. The costs associated with ownership are immense and that money would rather be used elsewhere to secure the young couples financial future.

Costs:
-spares = 40,000

For 3 years of ownership that will be a cost of Ksh 3,237,000, an amount enough to buy an apartment (hapo mombasa road) cash. And the car will be worth just 450k. There are better ways to invest such cash instead of literary "burning it inside your car's 1500cc engine".

If that stupid girl had advised her new husband to buy appreciating assets like land or stocks lets see hjow the situation would be:

So instead of buying car, buy stocks or land kitengela 1.2m. Also, instead of using 1,079,000 on car every year, use the money to buy more land, thus 3,237,000 bob land after 3yrs. Therefore after 3yrs total assets will be 4,437,000. And the land will be appreciating at 30% each year i.e 1,331,100 pa.

In conclusion the one who buys the car will have an "asset" worth 450k after 3 years, while the one who chose to invest elsewhere will be having assets worth 4.3m, which are appreciating by 1.3m per year. So the choices that one makes early in life have very serious consequences on our future financial well being.

Weren't you taught never to include depreciation when evaluating investments options since it doesn't involve cashflow outlay?
#24 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 11:30:22 AM

muganda wrote:

Costs:
-spares = 40,000

Weren't you taught never to include depreciation when evaluating investments options since it doesn't involve cashflow outlay?

You should focus on the bigger picture.
#25 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 11:33:22 AM

Lets not catch feelings.

We all have our hearts desires and should be free to express them.That is why she has some people agreeing with her.

For meback then my prayer and hearts desire was not to get a baby before I get a car.I did not like the idea of labour then taxi/matatu or neighbours car.And I talked about it alot and yes some people did not like it . Sometimes we need to set targets so that we work towards them.God does answer your prayers.

@bigchick, it's okay to have ambition and desires... For example yours about having a car before child arrived. But you never went around "HATING" thoise women who went to deliver a child by taxi or neighbour's car or matatu, right? So what is stupid about this lady's comment is her foolishness of assuming everybody is able to have a car before marriage! Marriage is an institution which will give you legal sex (which is basic need) and children, It's like you must have a car before you eat (another basic need).

Exactly...having ambitions is good,but hating on others and demeaning them just because they have not achieved your set standards is absolutely wrong,life is indeed funny fortunes can change really fast...one year you may not have,the next you have in plenty or one year you have in plenty the next you lack...I wish her the best in life and hope her husband always has that car she longs for...
MKWASI
#26 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 1:10:38 PM

On the flip side, I think the lady meant there is no need of doing a 1 million wedding when you do not have a vehicle. Buy motor gari first and rush to the AG.

Does it make sense? I do not know.
Buster
#27 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 1:23:34 PM

MKWASI wrote:
On the flip side, I think the lady meant there is no need of doing a 1 million wedding when you do not have a vehicle. Buy motor gari first and rush to the AG.

No. She meant don't get married to a guy who won't be able to drive you around in his own car. A big percentage of Kenyans get married at the Ag's Chambers...
gmg
#28 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 2:24:03 PM

everytime i dont have a car i find myself very liquid. I like the liquidity more than comfort of the car.
muganda wrote:

Costs:
-spares = 40,000

gmg
#29 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 2:27:30 PM

muganda wrote:

Costs:
-spares = 40,000

everytime i dont have a car i find myself very liquid. I like the liquidity more than comfort of the car.
Seq Lu
#30 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 2:31:33 PM

MKWASI wrote:

exactly Applause
They keep moving the cheese

stolen from opensuse forums :)
#31 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 2:32:48 PM

Inakaa unapenda kunyeshewa?

gmg wrote:
muganda wrote:

Costs:
-spares = 40,000

#32 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 2:45:42 PM

Inakaa unapenda kunyeshewa?

gmg wrote:
muganda wrote:

Costs:
-spares = 40,000

Leaving his car at home saves him Ksh 1000 each day in fuel and parking fees (or lets say 850bob after deducting matatu fare). If it rains, which happens rarely, he can use the 1k he had 'saved' to hire a taxi to take him home.
#33 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 2:57:51 PM

Leaving his car at home saves him Ksh 1000 each day in fuel and parking fees (or lets say 850bob after deducting matatu fare). If it rains, which happens rarely, he can use the 1k he had 'saved' to hire a taxi to take him home.

Wewe @Jaggernaut,you appear to be a very mean person to yourself,kids, wife and your family.I suspect you always advise your wife to buy mahindi choma for supper to save on the cost of buying flour, meat,nyanya,kitunguu,sufuria,gas,electricity,water etc.

#I'mlookingatthebiggerpicture#
#34 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 3:05:15 PM

Hii ni nugu ..
#35 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 3:06:57 PM

Wewe @Jaggernaut,you appear to be a very mean person to yourself,kids, wife and your family.I suspect you always advise your wife to buy mahindi choma for supper to save on the cost of buying flour, meat,nyanya,kitunguu,sufuria,gas,electricity,water etc.

#36 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 3:24:10 PM

MKWASI wrote:

How does she know the kind of wedding one did?
Kihara joni
#37 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 3:39:20 PM

She actually has a point, once you get married some things you will have to put on hold until kids are through school,and again why spend 2 million ( fund raised)on a wedding? buy that toyota IST and drive to AG chambers and get it over with, the balance invest or better still EAT IT slowly.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 3:47:57 PM

#39 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 3:55:56 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
She actually has a point, once you get married some things you will have to put on hold until kids are through school,and again why spend 2 million ( fund raised)on a wedding? buy that toyota IST and drive to AG chambers and get it over with, the balance invest or better still EAT IT slowly.

@kihara.... This betrays her background. Humble. Her lack of financial sophistication and brazen materialist inclination, marriage is about love and sex not money and material things which are bye products.
#40 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 4:01:25 PM

By the way @jaggernaut, do you have a car?