wazua Sat, Sep 28, 2024

alibaba ipo
urstill1
#21 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 10:48:29 PM

Nabwire wrote:
By the way Hisah there's a Japanese bank that owns a huge chunk of Alibaba, I cant think of the bank's name right, just google it.

It is not a bank but it is called Softbank
Nabwire
#22 Posted : Saturday, September 20, 2014 9:18:58 AM

Thanks I just know there was bank in their name. Anyways so what do they do? Its interesting that US investors don't actually get to own shares of the company, but instead have licensing rights to Alibaba group which is a Cayman Island entity that was created to go around China's refusal to let foreigners own their shares. By doing this Jack Ma has maintained ownership of Alibaba while infusing more money into the company. I am just wondering how a teacher with a BA in Arts was able to pull this of, and how in the heck does Alibaba control 80% of China's Ecommerce?!
hisah
#23 Posted : Sunday, September 21, 2014 10:01:55 PM

Played out as expected with a high of $99.70

Now I expect the Dow to skid by at least 1000pts very soon!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
hisah
#24 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 4:32:55 PM

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#25 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 8:44:45 PM

urstill1 wrote:
Nabwire wrote:
By the way Hisah there's a Japanese bank that owns a huge chunk of Alibaba, I cant think of the bank's name right, just google it.

It is not a bank but it is called Softbank
LQTM
Nabwire
#26 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 11:45:07 PM

What does LQTM mean?

Wewe Hisah wacha kudanganya your followers, Alibaba is a great stock! Just dont buy it at the IPO price! Hope for the worst first, then get in at the very bottom. And your Infographic is misleading, at the thumbs up point, it says dont ever buy single stocks! That's a load of BS, no one ever got wealthy by buying mutual funds or 401k's or any of those "Lets huddle together and pay someone to manage our money for us" herd mentality funds!!
mnandii
#27 Posted : Wednesday, October 01, 2014 9:14:47 AM

hisah wrote:

Sept. 18-21st was a very important time for stocks. It marked the tops of major indexes and stocks.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
hisah
#28 Posted : Wednesday, October 08, 2014 5:51:12 PM

hisah wrote:

Yep, heading down by 1000pts this Dow...
hisah
#29 Posted : Tuesday, October 14, 2014 11:15:59 AM

hisah wrote:

Dow comes within a whisker of the 1000pts fall from 17279 to 16295. Time to look for longs for xmas santa rally.
hisah
#30 Posted : Friday, October 31, 2014 7:08:26 PM

hisah wrote:

Dow comes within a whisker of the 1000pts fall from 17279 to 16295. Time to look for longs for xmas santa rally.

spx and dow all time highs. Hope guys loaded on the shakeout smile
urstill1
#31 Posted : Monday, November 10, 2014 6:34:00 PM

Dahatre wrote:
@urstill1..Best to wait a few months and sometimes a year or so

This is how it works:
1.Owners get shares for $10/share

2.Bank bringing stock to IPO get them at $20/share

3.Bank sells shares to its biggest clients (usually hedge funds and big pension funds etc) at $30/share

4.Family and buddies get a shot at $40/share

5.IPO is offered to the walalahoi's at $85/share

Everyone from 1-4 above sells on opening day==>Stock tanks to $30/share==>People panic and sell==>More tanking

Cycle may go on for long time before stock recovers.
urstill1 wrote:
I just want to buy 10 shares. I hear in the US IPO's are for the big shot or institution or the connected. Sisi walala hoi we have to wait for the trading day. I have some $1000 to dip into this.

Na tunaendela kupanda as Single's day (11/Nov) approaches. Records to be broken.
#32 Posted : Wednesday, November 12, 2014 7:36:24 AM

urstill1 wrote:
Dahatre wrote:
@urstill1..Best to wait a few months and sometimes a year or so

This is how it works:
1.Owners get shares for $10/share

2.Bank bringing stock to IPO get them at $20/share

3.Bank sells shares to its biggest clients (usually hedge funds and big pension funds etc) at $30/share

4.Family and buddies get a shot at $40/share

5.IPO is offered to the walalahoi's at $85/share

Everyone from 1-4 above sells on opening day==>Stock tanks to $30/share==>People panic and sell==>More tanking

Cycle may go on for long time before stock recovers.
urstill1 wrote:
I just want to buy 10 shares. I hear in the US IPO's are for the big shot or institution or the connected. Sisi walala hoi we have to wait for the trading day. I have some $1000 to dip into this.

Na tunaendela kupanda as Single's day (11/Nov) approaches. Records to be broken.

@urstil, you were spot on here. I had never heard of singles day but alibaba's sales topped $9.3bn in 24hours.

That's more than what our beloved govt generates in a year. I know its capitalism but it doesn't sound fair.

Dahatre
#33 Posted : Thursday, August 06, 2015 10:10:37 PM

BABA retracing to below IPO levels $78.80

along with all other Chinese stocks