Building a house with Prefabricated concrete Wall Panels - very cost effective
#41 Posted : Monday, November 25, 2013 7:20:05 PM

thanks @a4

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
#42 Posted : Tuesday, September 16, 2014 5:17:28 PM

Now that we have even more companies coming in with the prefabs, and they claim it will reduce the construction cost by almost 60% (apparently a 2 bedroom house would cost 700,000 which would cost 3.5m if using the conventional building materials), what are your views Bwana Architect? Any Wazuans who has used this new technology yet and what's the experience?
Francisnjuguna
#43 Posted : Tuesday, September 16, 2014 5:21:36 PM

Are Kenyans easy to change their altitude.How hard is it easy for intruders(thieves) to hit those cheap materials and penetrate inside the house ?Kama nyumba ya mabati ama bao
njuguna1
a4architect.com
#44 Posted : Wednesday, September 17, 2014 8:19:45 AM

@wendz, currently, cost of prefab is same as cost of using normal conventional methods such as stone, at around kes 30k per m2.
@francisnjuguna, true. in kenya where security is a concern, prefabs are less competitive than stone houses. solutions to this such as gated communities, cctv etc can make prefab neighbourhoods safer.
As Iron Sharpens Iron, So one Man Sharpens Another.
kenyan_qs
#45 Posted : Friday, September 19, 2014 6:37:59 PM

@Wendz. The math does not add up. A 80sq.m house will cost about 2.4m. At 60% of the ordinary house,the prefab should cost about 1.44m and not 700k. Beware of marketing gimmicks since the cost of the roof, finishes, plumbing electrical etc remain the same.
#46 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2014 1:03:02 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@wendz, currently, cost of prefab is same as cost of using normal conventional methods such as stone, at around kes 30k per m2.
@francisnjuguna, true. in kenya where security is a concern, prefabs are less competitive than stone houses. solutions to this such as gated communities, cctv etc can make prefab neighbourhoods safer.

you are right. I went to see a sample house at Mlolongo on Saturday and they told me the cost would be 2.5m for a 90m2 house. so that makes roughly 28k per m2.
a4architect.com
#47 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2014 1:18:46 PM

@wendz, most prefab technology only zero in on walling, which is like 10% of total overall construction cost. This means even 50% savings on walling will only make a very tiny overall reduction of costs since the rest of the elements i.e foundation, roof, windows, doors, finishes remain constant and make 90% of total costs,
XSK
#48 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2014 4:27:57 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@wendz, most prefab technology only zero in on walling, which is like 10% of total overall construction cost. This means even 50% savings on walling will only make a very tiny overall reduction of costs since the rest of the elements i.e foundation, roof, windows, doors, finishes remain constant and make 90% of total costs,

so I guess this basically implies we are still stuck with brick/stone houses for the long haul especially when seen from the security perspective.
You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
a4architect.com
#49 Posted : Tuesday, September 23, 2014 5:30:00 PM

@xsk, yes, but not for long since juja,kedowa and kilifi quarries are in the verge of drying out completely in the next 5 years. other forms of walling, especially prefab types, will then start playing centre stage as its done in usa, europe and china.
JkMwatha
#50 Posted : Wednesday, September 24, 2014 1:27:07 PM

a4architect.com wrote:

How about prefab for the interior walls only? Does this address security?
a4architect.com
#51 Posted : Wednesday, September 24, 2014 1:56:13 PM

@jkmwatha, economies of scale will not allow for any savings if prefabs are used only for interior walls.
#52 Posted : Sunday, October 05, 2014 5:41:44 AM

a4architect.com wrote:

@A4, whats your take on this article?

The firm intends to sell its structures to its certified and approved construction companies and builders for Sh9,000 per square meter.

“Foundation and exterior finishes will be around Sh19,800 per square metre compared to the current Sh35,000 per square meter,” IGS said in a statement.

IGS

Also how about the reduction of time taken to build, doesn't it reduce the overall costs greatly? These guys are talking of about 18 days!

a4architect.com
#53 Posted : Monday, October 06, 2014 8:27:47 AM

@kratos, its possible to construct a stone house with kes 20k per m2, same as prefab panel house cost. Its also possible to construct the same stone house with kes 50k per m2 eg runda, muthaiga type houses. Its all about comparison of apples to oranges/apples . Stone houses can also be constructed in 18 days depending on the size. Time reduction is a matter of prior planning by the developer i.e preparation for required skill set, materials and funds. A stone house structure costs around 9k per m2, same as prefab paneled house. Stone houses however, are more superior in terms of security, climate control , low maintenance etc.
Mariacha
#54 Posted : Wednesday, October 08, 2014 8:54:00 PM

@a4, i was passing by some areas around emali - ikua road and saw how huge the stone deposits in that area are, are the stones there fit for construction? better yet, i live and work in Rongai, i have a whole 5acre plot full of rock, do you know about the quality of building stones from these sides?
the warmer the blankets, the colder the future
a4architect.com
#55 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 8:13:47 AM

@maricha, the boulders can be used for walling as below. Rongai Tuala area has abundant supply of such boulders.
#56 Posted : Thursday, October 09, 2014 11:40:39 AM

Mariacha wrote:
@a4, i was passing by some areas around emali - ikua road and saw how huge the stone deposits in that area are, are the stones there fit for construction? better yet, i live and work in Rongai, i have a whole 5acre plot full of rock, do you know about the quality of building stones from these sides?

Visit this guy in Kitengela - Mboga tuu. he does horticulture. he's done a house with boulders and looks beautiful if you like the rustic feel... you might get some ideas....
Bachuma Gate
#57 Posted : Wednesday, October 15, 2014 10:12:19 AM

i still think prefabs can replace masonary walls. How can i post a photo here. Think of stalls; guard houses, lodgings etc any structure that you would build using mabati; prefab is a better bet. A car dealer along Kiambu road opp Total petrol station at Ridgeways has used them and the costs+ look is encouraging.
DOH
JkMwatha
#58 Posted : Wednesday, October 15, 2014 4:16:32 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@jkmwatha, economies of scale will not allow for any savings if prefabs are used only for interior walls.

@A4 - please explain.

I'd have thought that prefab is cheaper than stone walls

Example: I want to put up a block of 24-30 flats. [Six 2-bed flats per floor]. I was hoping there would be significant saving to be made if the interior walls for each flat was prefab or something cheaper than stone.
In many housing blocks in majuu (UK)interior walls are not brick like exterior wall (or is it load-bearing walls)... but rather something like Mdf/or some prefab stuff.
This makes them cheaper and quicker to put up.

a4architect.com
#59 Posted : Thursday, October 16, 2014 1:34:44 PM

@jkmwatha, compared to stone, prefab wall is more expensive, at kes 1800 per m2 compared with stone at kes 1,500 when plastered one side. For rental flats, the walls can be made of prefab but will require higher maintenance than stone due to being weaker hence prone to damage. Prefab walls are good for offices where there is less occurence for wall damage. In UK and most other developed countries, prefab is the cheapest material to build. Kenya is also headed there in the next 5 or so years once stone quarries dry up.
JkMwatha
#60 Posted : Thursday, October 16, 2014 5:50:18 PM

a4architect.com wrote:
@jkmwatha, compared to stone, prefab wall is more expensive, at kes 1800 per m2 compared with stone at kes 1,500 when plastered one side. For rental flats, the walls can be made of prefab but will require higher maintenance than stone due to being weaker hence prone to damage. Prefab walls are good for offices where there is less occurence for wall damage. In UK and most other developed countries, prefab is the cheapest material to build. Kenya is also headed there in the next 5 or so years once stone quarries dry up.

@A4 - thanks, that makes it clearer.

Another question - why is it not cheaper in Kenya? Is it that stone is just cheaper or is it that Prefab is expensive to produce in Kenya...?

Is there an opportunity to manufacture or bring down the cost in KE ?

I know there a few firms manufacturing the stuff in Ke...