wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

PPS and Media on Mau tree planting
Ondiek
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 13, 2010 9:46:11 PM

Why are these guys making a big deal out of Kibaki not attending the function?If he does not want to attend as evident he should be left alone.Even if he was to attend he would only plant a single tree.
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 7:19:28 AM

@Ondiek, you miss the point, Kibaks attendance was to show unity of purpose. He indicated an "ambitious" drive to plant trees, RAO should have read into that, but PM should go ahead and plant trees....Applause
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 7:50:37 AM

...I wonder why the kibaki is behaving the way he is doing...like he has other 20 years to call us pumbavu!!! He can only gain points in his legacy if he attends the function. I think as days go by he is becoming more and more of an IDIOT...
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 7:56:40 AM

Utter BS by this ol' man...
DonBen
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:06:15 AM

Ondiek wrote:
Why are these guys making a big deal out of Kibaki not attending the function?If he does not want to attend as evident he should be left alone.Even if he was to attend he would only plant a single tree.

Ondiek:

Kibaki IS supposedly the president of this country, who promised to lead the coalition government with the PM as a team. He personally assigned the PM duties of reclaiming the MAU during the official launch of the PM's strategic plan.

Kibaki was there in Copenhagen last month and he endorsed the conference accord on behalf of all Kenyans.

Kibaki called year 2010 the 'Green Year for Kenya'.

Kibaki's own minister for forestry, was the one who announced that he would lead the launch together with the PM. Muthaura followed it up with a postponement, and now PPS have emerged with an embarrassing denial / cancellation.

That MAU has been politicized is no secret. The PM has been constantly vilified for advancing the government agenda for reclamation of the MAU. It is high time Kibaki expressed solidarity with his PM, if they truly are working as a team serving the same coalition government.

Swearing in judges is certainly not a whole day's affair. It is also not a matter of life and death. Any of the two functions can be done on the same day or rescheduled to fit into the presidential diary. What is important is that the people to see Kibaki's symbolic support for reforestation of Kenya beginning with MAU.

The significance of Kibaki's attendance is not just to plant a single seedling. Heads of State are expected to lead from the front so as to positively inspire their citizens. Can you imagine what would happen if ALL of Kenya's 40 million citizens planted a single seedling each? Surely, that would translate into a straight NOBEL PEACE PRICE for Kibaki, if not something else.
Ondiek
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:16:17 AM

I am not supporting Kibaki's decision not to attend coz the reason given by PPS is quite flimsy and it is clear that he is playing politics with our lives.My point is that his failure to attend should not derail the planting of trees in the Mau. Let us ignore him and plant trees.
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:24:48 AM

I think the bad history of Mau is the reason behind Kibaki keeping away. Mau was the determinant on how Rift Valley voted in the last election. Kimunya's action in Mau had not been forgotten. The burning of homes, destruction of schools, forceful eviction etc.. One newspaper predicted yesterday that the Mau issue will be the factor in 2012. I would not go there if I were him unless I am sure how it will taken in a more clear picture.
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:26:23 AM

As noted by Jesse Jackson: Time is neutral and does not change things. With courage and initiative, leaders change things. A leader takes people where they want to go. A GREAT leader takes people where they don't necessarily want to go but ought to be. Mau is our lifeline and we need to unite to conserve it. Go for it Mr. PM.

And the earth brought forth grass... and the tree that yields fruit.... and God saw that it was good. (Gen. 1:!2). And if the Lord saw that it was good, who am I or anyone else to think otherwise? God save our forests, we must save the Mau. God bless Kenya.

Ondiek
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 8:34:56 AM

@ FundamentAli - What does Kibaki have to lose in 2012? It is time this guy stood up for something and stopped cowering at every issue he is confronted by.
#10 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 11:50:06 AM

@Ondiek,

Kibaki might come up with a "Project" and he will need the blessings of all
Ngalaka
#11 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 3:13:59 PM

A case of selective amnesia!, or is it see no evil, hear no evil, as far as Raila is concerned!

Let's deal with facts and keep intuitions and other heart attachments at bay.
I actually don’t see what the hullabaloo is all about.

Kibaki never told any body that he would be going to Mau to plant trees.
Read that Raila and co. cannot set the agenda for the President, and if/when they attempt to, then they risk suffering the embarrassment they are at the moment.

I do not for one second think that Kibaki is working at cross purpose with the Mau conservation project.
However,I guess he wants to steer clear of Raila’s unnecessary bravado and ‘showbiz’, about the whole matter. Note the difference btn the two men’s modus operandi, - while Raila plays to the gallery, Kibaki gets the job done quietly.

By the way,if Kibaki stopped supporting Mau conservation, the squatters would just walk back and there is little that Raila would do about it, as it takes the police to get them out, and Raila cant order any police.

Kibaki got these same squatters out in 2005, Raila championed their continued stay in the forest!!!!!!!
Then, due to heightened political temperatures, Kibaki backed off, which prompted more squatters to invade the forest.

At that time the destruction of the forest was much less compared to today.
If Raila had not played politics, Mau would be safe and intact today.
In our myopia, today we are crediting the same politician with saving the Mau!

What an irony!

The current effort was started by Kibaki, who later directed Raila to coordinate the matter as it falls across the ministries of Forestry and Environment.
Remember the time Michuki overflew the the Mau to access the destruction, Raila was out of the scene.

In my humble view, if Kibaki and Raila were to lay their ‘credentials’ about the Mau on the table, Kibaki would beat Raila hands down.
When Moi was dishing out the forest land to politically connected fellows, Raila was his Minister and Kanu’s secretary General.
There is no record of him protesting at all, which ostensibly points to an approval.
In any case anything a Govt does, all serving ministers take collective responsibility.

Kibaki then was in opposition and opposed the excision.

When Kibaki got to power, within two years he evicted the squatters but Raila defeated the cause by introducing politics of incitement.

Again, this time the squatters only moved out when the armed police came in to evict them upon the expiry of the deadline given.
These police were acting at the behest of Kibaki and NOT Raila.

Again I dare say that if the squatters got wind that Kibaki was no longer interested in moving them out, they would gladly walk back and show Raila the middle finger.

Let the Mau be saved, but let those who want to make political capital out of it like Raila not be facilitated to do so.

The bigger job is to get the occupiers out. Trees can and should be planted by hired ordinary wananchi.
Govt VIPs would only plant a seed-ling each for showbiz – at great cost- unnecessary if you ask me.
Kibaki continue saving the Mau.
Bravo
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#12 Posted : Thursday, January 14, 2010 3:29:32 PM

[quote=Ngalaka]Again I dare say that if the squatters got wind that Kibaki was no longer interested in moving them out, they would gladly walk back and show Raila the middle finger.[/quote.

@Ngalaka,
Hehehe.....!!..and Raila's security would shoot the middle fingers off the hands of the owners...Laughing out loudly
Ngalaka
#13 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2010 6:48:16 AM

@Njung'e

Wewe, Raila hawesi sema police nashoot watu bwana.
Remember he has always scolded the police for brutality. Well of course unless he wants to do an about turn!
But I trip myself!! With politicians one can never be too sure.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#14 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2010 7:13:06 AM

Laughing out loudly, why go through all that pain to credit Kibaki,talk of trying too hard!!!!!Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you
Ondiek
#15 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2010 8:43:14 AM

It is time the mau was treated as an environmental issue and necessary action taken.We could have the NYS,Army,corporates and schools participate in planting of trees to reclaim the forest land.
Bashka
#16 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2010 1:54:33 PM

What will Kibaki loose in 2012? Always dodging National (real) issues. I am trying to remember one thing he has done right....
The other day I travelled to Nanyuki, passed Naromoru - a town with one a street. The town cannot expand on one side because of huge chunk of land belonginmg to MK, actually the fence is touching the tarmac.

Anyway MK is trying to sell Uhuru, this has been noted and Rift Valley is the target, with the pointman being Rutto. I doubt if this man, UK, has the credentials.
B.Timer
#17 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2010 2:22:59 PM

Raila is a master of politics of convinience.

He reads the public mood, aligns himself accordingly, creates a wave and rides on it for political gain.

'You can cheat some people for some time, but you cant cheat all the people all the time'.
Dunia ni msongamano..
Nandwa
#18 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2010 3:08:39 PM

Rao is one hell of a motor mouth.

How did he choose to speak on behalf of Kibaki.

Look where that left him now....Sad
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
Nandwa
#19 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2010 3:08:44 PM

Rao is one hell of a motor mouth.

How did he choose to speak on behalf of Kibaki.

Look where that left him now....Sad
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
anasazi
#20 Posted : Friday, January 15, 2010 5:38:01 PM

Politicians! bure kabisa
Form is temporary, class is permanent