World Marathon Record (Berlin)
#21 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 10:19:21 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
congrats kimito

Laughing out loudly Ati nini/nani? Washana na hii...

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly yaani you have an appropriate pic for literally everything?Applause Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly They always make my day. The choice is always so accurate about the issue at hand.smile smile
#22 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 10:39:56 AM

I watched them do the 21km in 1hr 1min and some 30+ seconds and said... this is madness! we will definitely have something special today!

At a point they were 8 seconds behind the world record and the misungu commentators almost wrote them off but by 30km mark .... they were on fire. Though i felt he was not pushed hard enough from 38kms .... he didnot have compe ...... he would have done sub 50 seconds.

Great .... Applause Applause Applause
urstill1
#23 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 10:53:40 AM

Do you know that he is the same dude who dropped out of Boston marathon this year due to hamstring injury? This thing is all in the mind. He is now on top of the list for $500,000 prize.
#24 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 11:56:17 AM

bkismat wrote:
Congrats, the next big target is now 2 hours flat. How long will this take? 2,5, 10.... years?

When haile ran 2 03 a few years back it was termed as the finest piece of marathon running ever seen now that time is ranked 8th A 2 02 at that time seemed impossible even to the race organisers with all the talk about "perfect conditions". Waiting to see what time bekele will post in chicago am sure next year he will be in berlin then we may find out how long before we start seeing 2 01s
Wakanyugi
#25 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 2:09:53 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
@Kusadikika, it is myth that has mutated to fact that the world records can only be broken in three courses: Berlin, Chicago and Boston. Boston will never be ratified because there's an 'illegal' gradient. Chicago will almost always not be ratified because of wind, it has to be a very nice day with wind just bordering on illegal. Berlin has the perfect course, lovely weather and the psychological 'thing' that makes athletes believe it can be done (marathon is 60% mental 30% physical and 10% luck))

Boston is not a record breaking course for another reason. The weather in April in new England is often terrible. Mutai and Mosops 2011 performance was a clear outlier. The other fast courses are Rotterdam and Frankfurt but they tend not attract the top cream.

I am not aware that wind is a factor in ratifying Marathon records.

Great performance by Kimetto!
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Wakanyugi
#26 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 2:16:21 PM

I watched them do the 21km in 1hr 1min and some 30+ seconds and said... this is madness! we will definitely have something special today!

At a point they were 8 seconds behind the world record and the misungu commentators almost wrote them off but by 30km mark .... they were on fire. Though i felt he was not pushed hard enough from 38kms .... he didnot have compe ...... he would have done sub 50 seconds.

Great .... Applause Applause Applause

It was a pacing error and the rabbits corrected it right away (I remember something similar happened to Haille during a record attempt).

The really amazing thing is Kimmeto doing a negative split at those speeds and still having the energy to kick at the end. Simply amazing.
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
TPK
#27 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 2:21:49 PM

Mutai's performamnce got to be the most unappreciated performance in road racing, but hopefully he will be consoled by the fact that he broke the 30km world record yesterday which was previously held by Patrick Makau.
As long as you're going to be thinking anyway, think big
#28 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 5:12:01 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
@Kusadikika, it is myth that has mutated to fact that the world records can only be broken in three courses: Berlin, Chicago and Boston. Boston will never be ratified because there's an 'illegal' gradient. Chicago will almost always not be ratified because of wind, it has to be a very nice day with wind just bordering on illegal. Berlin has the perfect course, lovely weather and the psychological 'thing' that makes athletes believe it can be done (marathon is 60% mental 30% physical and 10% luck))

Boston is not a record breaking course for another reason. The weather in April in new England is often terrible. Mutai and Mosops 2011 performance was a clear outlier. The other fast courses are Rotterdam and Frankfurt but they tend not attract the top cream.

Are you aware Geoffrey Mutai did 2:3:02 in Boston in 2011, then a world record which was not ratified?

http://www.nytimes.com/2...ts/19marathon.html?_r=0

Relevant c&p "Times in races on such courses, even difficult rolling ones like Boston’s, can be significantly affected by a tail wind, which was the case Monday, when the wind was blowing 15 to 20 miles per hour."
#29 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 12:28:38 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Matoe wrote:
Kenyan athlete Dennis Kimetto has broken the world marathon record with a time of 2h 2min and 57sec. Shaving off 31 seconds off Wilson Kipsang record of 2013

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

#30 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 12:55:19 AM

mpobiz wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
Matoe wrote:
Kenyan athlete Dennis Kimetto has broken the world marathon record with a time of 2h 2min and 57sec. Shaving off 31 seconds off Wilson Kipsang record of 2013

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

#31 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 2:23:04 AM

TPK wrote:
Mutai's performamnce got to be the most unappreciated performance in road racing, but hopefully he will be consoled by the fact that he broke the 30km world record yesterday which was previously held by Patrick Makau.

I couldn't agree more. This guy was the pusher up until that 38 km mark. That is why I believe this record will not last long. If that push had lasted a little longer we could be talking of sub 2:02:30.

At 20km they were 14 seconds behind the old world record pace at 30 km they were 24 seconds inside the old record. That surge dropped the leading pack from 7 to three. After that Kimetto for a very brief period took the lead for the killer surge so that at 32km they were 37 seconds inside the old world record pace!!!! This is incredible!!! In those 12 kilometres they had gone from 14 seconds behind to 37 seconds ahead....This is absolutely unbelievably superb running as has never been seen before!!!!

After that Kimetto drops back and lets Mutai and Kamworor do all the work at the front. At 33.6km he strikes again with another surge that this time knocks out Kamworor. At 34km they are 44 seconds inside the old world record!! Unbelievable.

Mutai hangs on and even at some point is side by side with Kimetto but this guy has his foot on the gas and is not letting go, at 35km they are a whole 49 seconds inside the old record. This is insane!!!! By the 36th km Kimetto who keeps glancing at Mutai knows that he has broken him. He has relaxed the pace kidogo so that they are now 46 seconds inside the old record. Mutai looks tired, Kimetto looks strong but Kimetto lets Mutai take the lead just for a second so as not to break his heart and probably give him the rope to finish himself. They run side by side until the 38 km mark, Kimetto opens up a small gap and looks to see if Mutai catches up, when he doesn't see him he knows he has got him. He goes ahead as they say "kumaliza kazi."
TPK
#32 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 9:11:02 AM

TPK wrote:

I couldn't agree more. This guy was the pusher up until that 38 km mark. That is why I believe this record will not last long. If that push had lasted a little longer we could be talking of sub 2:02:30.

At 20km they were 14 seconds behind the old world record pace at 30 km they were 24 seconds inside the old record. That surge dropped the leading pack from 7 to three. After that Kimetto for a very brief period took the lead for the killer surge so that at 32km they were 37 seconds inside the old world record pace!!!! This is incredible!!! In those 12 kilometres they had gone from 14 seconds behind to 37 seconds ahead....This is absolutely unbelievably superb running as has never been seen before!!!!

After that Kimetto drops back and lets Mutai and Kamworor do all the work at the front. At 33.6km he strikes again with another surge that this time knocks out Kamworor. At 34km they are 44 seconds inside the old world record!! Unbelievable.

Mutai hangs on and even at some point is side by side with Kimetto but this guy has his foot on the gas and is not letting go, at 35km they are a whole 49 seconds inside the old record. This is insane!!!! By the 36th km Kimetto who keeps glancing at Mutai knows that he has broken him. He has relaxed the pace kidogo so that they are now 46 seconds inside the old record. Mutai looks tired, Kimetto looks strong but Kimetto lets Mutai take the lead just for a second so as not to break his heart and probably give him the rope to finish himself. They run side by side until the 38 km mark, Kimetto opens up a small gap and looks to see if Mutai catches up, when he doesn't see him he knows he has got him. He goes ahead as they say "kumaliza kazi."

I am still yet to believe how quickly he ran between 20kms and 30 kms. How can he cover 10 kms in around 28 mins, considering he had run the previous 10 kms in 29 mins and even manages to accelerate in the next 5kms between 30-35 kms. Just a thought - assuming Kimetto runs 10,000m on the track and goes flat out, he would obliterate Bekele's world record of 26 mins 17s.

As long as you're going to be thinking anyway, think big
Wakanyugi
#33 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 1:21:30 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

Are you aware Geoffrey Mutai did 2:3:02 in Boston in 2011, then a world record which was not ratified?

Relevant c&p "Times in races on such courses, even difficult rolling ones like Boston’s, can be significantly affected by a tail wind, which was the case Monday, when the wind was blowing 15 to 20 miles per hour."

Yes I am aware of the Boston incident. But the record was rejected because the Boston course does not qualify, mainly due to gradient, not wind factor.

I have never heard of a Marathon record rejected because there was a tail wind. In fact I have never heard of a 10,000M record rejected due to wind assistance. Heck, not even 5000, 3000....

Have you?
urstill1
#34 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 1:31:37 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:
Wakanyugi wrote:
Gordon Gekko wrote:

Yes I am aware of the Boston incident. But the record was rejected because the Boston course does not qualify, mainly due to gradient, not wind factor.

I have never heard of a Marathon record rejected because there was a tail wind. In fact I have never heard of a 10,000M record rejected due to wind assistance. Heck, not even 5000, 3000....

Have you?

C&P

"Because the course drops 459 feet (140 m) from start to finish and the start is quite far west of the finish, allowing a helpful tailwind, the Boston Marathon does not satisfy two of the criteria necessary for the ratification of world or American records"
#35 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 2:27:11 PM

argh..
#36 Posted : Tuesday, September 30, 2014 2:42:00 PM

argh..

This is the intolerance we are witnessing around the country!!!!
Alba
#37 Posted : Wednesday, October 01, 2014 3:40:19 PM

#38 Posted : Wednesday, October 01, 2014 3:55:01 PM

kipruto has 3 of those records, Maaaaad! !
#39 Posted : Wednesday, October 01, 2014 5:58:28 PM

kyt wrote:
kipruto has 3 of those records, Maaaaad! !

Yap the humility in that guy Applause Applause
over heard the commentators saying he is very quiet even by kenyan athletes standards smile

#40 Posted : Thursday, October 02, 2014 1:38:10 AM

A man of few words and great deeds.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylPF5cUP04Q

I like when asked, siri yako ni nini, he says, "Siri yangu, tulianza mzuri, tukaenda tukafika half marathon tukaona tunaweza vunja sasa tukaanza kupush na Mutai." I am sure a novice runner would think, that doesn't sound very hard, just go and then when you reach the halfway point just start pushing and that's it. An American who probably finished half an hour later can write a book about the secrets of his 'spectacular' performance.

I like these athletes. I like their matter of fact soft spoken attitudes that belie an extremely rare yet powerful strength and endurance.