Sports
World Marathon Record (Berlin)
Rank: Member Joined: 6/14/2014 Posts: 332 Location: Nairobi
Kenyan athlete Dennis Kimetto has broken the world marathon record with a time of 2h 2min and 57sec. Shaving off 31 seconds off Wilson Kipsang record of 2013
awesome...well in. possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: User Joined: 9/6/2013 Posts: 1,446 Location: In a house
Matoe wrote:Kenyan athlete Dennis Kimetto has broken the world marathon record with a time of 2h 2min and 57sec. Shaving off 31 seconds off Wilson Kipsang record of 2013 All Kenyans in the top 8 except position 3 taken by Ethiopian.
Absolutely amazing!!!! Please change the title to show that this is a new World Record not just a Berlin Record. The first man in the history of the Marathon to go under 2 hours 3 minutes.
Actually 2 Kenyans broke the old world record. Dennis Kimetto the new record holder with 2:02:57 and Emmanuel Mutai who came in second with 2:03:13. Absolutely Fantastic. I don't think this has happened before.
Am almost beginning to get convinced by Gordon Gekko's and others argument that the record can only be broken in Berlin.
@Kusadikika, it is myth that has mutated to fact that the world records can only be broken in three courses: Berlin, Chicago and Boston. Boston will never be ratified because there's an 'illegal' gradient. Chicago will almost always not be ratified because of wind, it has to be a very nice day with wind just bordering on illegal. Berlin has the perfect course, lovely weather and the psychological 'thing' that makes athletes believe it can be done (marathon is 60% mental 30% physical and 10% luck). They also invest in good rabbits-those athletes (mostly kenyans) who push the elite field but never finish. Well done Kimetto, pain, practise has paid off. Question - there's usually a bonus for breaking the world record. Will the two guys get each it? I can see land prices in Eld/Iten surging up as there will soon be serious cheddar in that ecosystem......
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
maka wrote:awesome...well in. I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Gordon Gekko wrote:@Kusadikika, it is myth that has mutated to fact that the world records can only be broken in three courses: Berlin, Chicago and Boston. Boston will never be ratified because there's an 'illegal' gradient. Chicago will almost always not be ratified because of wind, it has to be a very nice day with wind just bordering on illegal. Berlin has the perfect course, lovely weather and the psychological 'thing' that makes athletes believe it can be done (marathon is 60% mental 30% physical and 10% luck). They also invest in good rabbits-those athletes (mostly kenyans) who push the elite field but never finish. Well done Kimetto, pain, practise has paid off. Question - there's usually a bonus for breaking the world record. Will the two guys get each it? I can see land prices in Eld/Iten surging up as there will soon be serious cheddar in that ecosystem...... You are right GG. There is going to be serious money coming their way. I think both guys should get the World Record breaking bonus although I can also see the argument that only Kimetto broke the world record because by the time Mutai finished second the new world record was already 2:02.57 so the old one was no longer the world record and so only Kimetto broke the world record. I am completely in awe of these athletes. People talk of Brazil winning the word cup 5 times and Germany 4 times and they are wildly celebrated. In the world of marathon running Kenya is so dominant it is more than the the equivalent of Brazil and Germany combined. We are IT in the world of marathons and no one comes even close. I think we should be extremely proud of that!!
Rank: Member Joined: 6/14/2014 Posts: 332 Location: Nairobi
Kusadikika wrote:Gordon Gekko wrote:@Kusadikika, it is myth that has mutated to fact that the world records can only be broken in three courses: Berlin, Chicago and Boston. Boston will never be ratified because there's an 'illegal' gradient. Chicago will almost always not be ratified because of wind, it has to be a very nice day with wind just bordering on illegal. Berlin has the perfect course, lovely weather and the psychological 'thing' that makes athletes believe it can be done (marathon is 60% mental 30% physical and 10% luck). They also invest in good rabbits-those athletes (mostly kenyans) who push the elite field but never finish. Well done Kimetto, pain, practise has paid off. Question - there's usually a bonus for breaking the world record. Will the two guys get each it? I can see land prices in Eld/Iten surging up as there will soon be serious cheddar in that ecosystem...... You are right GG. There is going to be serious money coming their way. I think both guys should get the World Record breaking bonus although I can also see the argument that only Kimetto broke the world record because by the time Mutai finished second the new world record was already 2:02.57 so the old one was no longer the world record and so only Kimetto broke the world record. I am completely in awe of these athletes. People talk of Brazil winning the word cup 5 times and Germany 4 times and they are wildly celebrated. In the world of marathon running Kenya is so dominant it is more than the the equivalent of Brazil and Germany combined. We are IT in the world of marathons and no one comes even close. I think we should be extremely proud of that!! There's small print that says a world record is a world record when ratified by the IAAF Council concerned, so the two chaps broke the official record. BTW, ratification can take as long as six months because honchos from round the world have to assemble in Zurich.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
kysse wrote:congrats kimito Ati nini/nani? Washana na hii... TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 5/21/2013 Posts: 2,841 Location: Here
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
record.now faster than it was a century ago by 30 minutes!! BBC congratulations punda amecheka
Congrats, the next big target is now 2 hours flat. How long will this take? 2,5, 10.... years? It is better to keep your mouth closed and let people think you are a fool than to open it and remove all doubt... -Mark Twain
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
I watched them do the 21km in 1hr 1min and some 30+ seconds and said... this is madness! we will definitely have something special today! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Amazing, well done Kimetto and Mutai!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Sports
World Marathon Record (Berlin)