World Marathon Record (Berlin)
Matoe
#1 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 12:49:46 PM

Kenyan athlete Dennis Kimetto has broken the world marathon record with a time of 2h 2min and 57sec. Shaving off 31 seconds off Wilson Kipsang record of 2013

#2 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 1:23:41 PM

awesome...well in.
urstill1
#3 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 2:28:04 PM

Matoe wrote:
Kenyan athlete Dennis Kimetto has broken the world marathon record with a time of 2h 2min and 57sec. Shaving off 31 seconds off Wilson Kipsang record of 2013

All Kenyans in the top 8 except position 3 taken by Ethiopian.
#4 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 2:40:22 PM

Absolutely amazing!!!! Please change the title to show that this is a new World Record not just a Berlin Record. The first man in the history of the Marathon to go under 2 hours 3 minutes.

Actually 2 Kenyans broke the old world record. Dennis Kimetto the new record holder with 2:02:57 and Emmanuel Mutai who came in second with 2:03:13. Absolutely Fantastic. I don't think this has happened before.

Am almost beginning to get convinced by Gordon Gekko's and others argument that the record can only be broken in Berlin.

#5 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 4:11:12 PM

@Kusadikika, it is myth that has mutated to fact that the world records can only be broken in three courses: Berlin, Chicago and Boston. Boston will never be ratified because there's an 'illegal' gradient. Chicago will almost always not be ratified because of wind, it has to be a very nice day with wind just bordering on illegal. Berlin has the perfect course, lovely weather and the psychological 'thing' that makes athletes believe it can be done (marathon is 60% mental 30% physical and 10% luck). They also invest in good rabbits-those athletes (mostly kenyans) who push the elite field but never finish.
Well done Kimetto, pain, practise has paid off.
Question - there's usually a bonus for breaking the world record. Will the two guys get each it? I can see land prices in Eld/Iten surging up as there will soon be serious cheddar in that ecosystem...... smile smile smile
#6 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 4:50:42 PM

awesome...well in.

#7 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 4:50:46 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
@Kusadikika, it is myth that has mutated to fact that the world records can only be broken in three courses: Berlin, Chicago and Boston. Boston will never be ratified because there's an 'illegal' gradient. Chicago will almost always not be ratified because of wind, it has to be a very nice day with wind just bordering on illegal. Berlin has the perfect course, lovely weather and the psychological 'thing' that makes athletes believe it can be done (marathon is 60% mental 30% physical and 10% luck). They also invest in good rabbits-those athletes (mostly kenyans) who push the elite field but never finish.
Question - there's usually a bonus for breaking the world record. Will the two guys get each it? I can see land prices in Eld/Iten surging up as there will soon be serious cheddar in that ecosystem...... smile smile smile

You are right GG. There is going to be serious money coming their way. I think both guys should get the World Record breaking bonus although I can also see the argument that only Kimetto broke the world record because by the time Mutai finished second the new world record was already 2:02.57 so the old one was no longer the world record and so only Kimetto broke the world record.

I am completely in awe of these athletes. People talk of Brazil winning the word cup 5 times and Germany 4 times and they are wildly celebrated. In the world of marathon running Kenya is so dominant it is more than the the equivalent of Brazil and Germany combined. We are IT in the world of marathons and no one comes even close. I think we should be extremely proud of that!!
Matoe
#8 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 5:06:23 PM

Absolutely amazing!!!! Please change the title to show that this is a new World Record not just a Berlin Record. The first man in the history of the Marathon to go under 2 hours 3 minutes.

Actually 2 Kenyans broke the old world record. Dennis Kimetto the new record holder with 2:02:57 and Emmanuel Mutai who came in second with 2:03:13. Absolutely Fantastic. I don't think this has happened before.

Am almost beginning to get convinced by Gordon Gekko's and others argument that the record can only be broken in Berlin.

That was awesome.
Topic changed to reflect it was indeed a world record, thanks @Kusadikika for the mention

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
#9 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 5:18:37 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

You are right GG. There is going to be serious money coming their way. I think both guys should get the World Record breaking bonus although I can also see the argument that only Kimetto broke the world record because by the time Mutai finished second the new world record was already 2:02.57 so the old one was no longer the world record and so only Kimetto broke the world record.

I am completely in awe of these athletes. People talk of Brazil winning the word cup 5 times and Germany 4 times and they are wildly celebrated. In the world of marathon running Kenya is so dominant it is more than the the equivalent of Brazil and Germany combined. We are IT in the world of marathons and no one comes even close. I think we should be extremely proud of that!!

There's small print that says a world record is a world record when ratified by the IAAF Council concerned, so the two chaps broke the official record. BTW, ratification can take as long as six months because honchos from round the world have to assemble in Zurich.
#10 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 8:56:20 PM

Applause Applause Applause These guys are amazing. How exactly do they do it?

Just the other day I ran 46kms in over 5hrs and felt like I would die. Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#11 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 9:16:13 PM

congrats kimito
#12 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 9:46:57 PM

congrats kimito

Laughing out loudly Ati nini/nani? Washana na hii...
#13 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 9:51:40 PM

urstill1 wrote:
Matoe wrote:

All Kenyans in the top 8 except position 3 taken by Ethiopian.

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
#14 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 10:54:05 PM

congrats kimito

Laughing out loudly Ati nini/nani? Washana na hii...

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly yaani you have an appropriate pic for literally everything?Applause Applause Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#15 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 10:56:12 PM

Matoe wrote:

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause
Alba
#16 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 5:10:25 AM

#17 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 7:20:33 AM

record.now faster than it was a century ago by 30 minutes!! BBC
congratulations
#18 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 8:08:12 AM

Congrats, the next big target is now 2 hours flat. How long will this take? 2,5, 10.... years?
#19 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 9:30:11 AM

I watched them do the 21km in 1hr 1min and some 30+ seconds and said... this is madness! we will definitely have something special today!
#20 Posted : Monday, September 29, 2014 10:14:48 AM

Amazing, well done Kimetto and Mutai!!!