wazua Sun, Sep 29, 2024

5 Pages<1234>»
Orange 3G+ Versus Safaricom 3G internet
Radiance
#21 Posted : Thursday, January 07, 2010 10:47:34 PM

Opera mini is the modems achillies heel.
marko
#22 Posted : Friday, January 08, 2010 3:18:40 AM

@faa.how do i get in touch?i need mine unlocked.
WHO DARES WINS
Jaguar
#23 Posted : Friday, January 08, 2010 6:18:28 AM

marko wrote:
@faa.how do i get in touch?i need mine unlocked.

email your 15digits imei & model to openmodems at gmail dot com. you will receive your 8digits unlock code via email or sms

e.g
model:E160
imei: 35159**********

cost is ksh400/
faa
#24 Posted : Friday, January 08, 2010 7:09:53 AM

@ marko.

Just drop an email at gmkefaster@gmail.com

and you will get attended by someone soonest

#25 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 8:12:58 AM

Back in town after festivities. Had a scare there, couldn't access Wazua using my Safaricom modem but it was just credit hogged at alarming rate as usual. Loaded up and a quick check gave me 1.64mbps http://www.speedtest.net/result/678675032.png

Noted though in Business Daily today that Orange is crying for reduced price on 3G network. Why do they need it if there 3G+ network is just as good as Safaricom's?

Mpenzi
#26 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 8:28:50 AM

@muganda
Orange doesnt have a licence for the 3G + yet. But CCK has allowed them to test the technology. If they want a full rollout they have to pay the fee. But in light of Safcom's monopoly my view is that CCK should reduce the fee by about half.
#27 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 8:38:25 AM

Weeeee Mpenzi, I disagree on the fee reduction thing. Fair play man; and you'd say the same if you were Safaricom. You know the government is to blame for this mess giving second license to Merali and third license to unknown cooperative society instead of MTN.

According to my understanding, the service Orange branded as 3G+ runs on CDMA hence why they've been selling it for quite a number of months last year. Their data modems run on 3G+. So them requesting for 3G license may attest to some problem on the technical (not advertising) front.
mdosi
#28 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 12:10:47 PM

The Orange 3G+ runs on CDMA ie former Telkom wireless. I don' know which of the two technologies is superior but i think GSM 3G(What safcom is running) is superior. That would explain why Orange is lobbying for the reduction of 3G license fees.
It's amazing what you can achieve when you get rid of fear.
#29 Posted : Monday, January 11, 2010 1:24:57 PM

@Jaguar, i think it needs a full tutorial not just code to unlock. For example, how will one load units into the orange from safaricom modem and software?
I had my safaricom unblocked (got code on the internet) and could not use it with orange sim, just keep getting the error that the connection is not registered when i put the orange sim but when i put safcom i can connect to both Safcom and orange but without orange units (which i cant upload through safcom) what good is the open modem.

@faa, hope you give a tutorial and leave everything working fine? will email you this Friday you come to my house on Saturday afternoon sawa?
A New Kenya
Jaguar
#30 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 5:09:52 AM

@muchknow, for orange, dial #123# with the simcard inserted in phone. You will see an option for buying data bundles. For zain, send a blank text to 180 and you will get all the bundles info. Yu charges 3/ per mb. For safaricom send a blank text to 450. For setting, check http://www.facebook.com/...0&id=100000038621885
#31 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 7:15:15 AM

Thanks jaguar for your reply, will try it out this evening, however that "connection is not registered" error is still a puzzle. Is orange 3G network available everywhere there is an orange GSM network? I can use the orange sim on my phone but only the safcom sim in modem can connect to orange 3G, the orange sim cannot it says connection not registered.
A New Kenya
Jaguar
#32 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 7:50:28 AM

if you can browse using the orange simcard in your phone, it means your simcard is active for internet. Just have the correct settings for orange in your modem and use them to connect. Orange 3G on gsm was being tested in nairobi, don't know whether its still on test
Emiseda
#33 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 8:38:47 AM

Hey wat r u guys talking about.Please lets distinguish between the white orange modem 3G+ (kshs 1999) and the Black EVDO Modem(kshs 4000). The 1 st one is slow but the black ECVDO is so fast i downloaded a movies and watched online...i actually have all the 3 plus safcom and i can rate them in the following order in terms of speed
1.Orange EVDO 3G+ (Black modem )
2.Safcom
3.Orange 3G+ ( white modem )
4.Zain
Mpenzi
#34 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 8:45:44 AM

@Emiseda
What technology does the Orange black modem use? Does it require the CCK 25 million dollars licence fee?
Emiseda
#35 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 10:38:38 AM

@Mpenzi
Internet Everywhere 3G+ service uses the EVDO (Evolution Data Optimized) technology for data transmission

In recent weeks, Orange has been actively lobbying the Communications Commission of Kenya (CCK) to consider a proposal to reviewing the US$ 25million license fee charged to local operators wishing to rollout 3G services.
Orange, Ghossein confirmed, is awaiting a positive response from the CCK which will enable the firm to affordably deploy 3G services on a commercial basis.
Ghossein disclosed that Orange is set to become the first GSM operator in Kenya to commercially market video conferencing services upon the granting of a 3G license.
“Orange is highly optimistic that the CCK will grant our wish to reduce the license fees charged for a 3G service rollout as it is currently way out of reach for a growing network like ours and may ultimately deny Kenyans the full advantage of high speed data services,” Ghossein said.

All said and done, i think the black EVDO orange modem is the fastest modem.it is good to note that bandwidth or data transfer rate is dependent on:-
a) no . of voice users connecting to the nearest cellular tower (u know orange has the least n safcom the most .so u can guess which is faster)
b) the data transfer technology
Emiseda
#36 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 10:42:04 AM

@Mpenzi

in conclusion,orange are undertaking 3G+ on trial basis as they await the licence...
#37 Posted : Tuesday, January 12, 2010 4:32:55 PM

Now now @emiseda, it's not good to mislead us like this. You even made me pay a visit to Orange. The only difference between the black and white modem is the manufacturer (ZTE and Huawei respectively). In fact Orange website uses Huawei to describe the 3G+

Orange modes of connection (CDMA, ADSL) are mapped to servers that give maximum of 512kpbs hence my speedtest result from there http://www.speedtest.net/result/680139702.png. Out of interest, both HSDPA (Safaricom) and EV-DO belong to the 3.5G family.

It may be unwise to change my Safaricom modem for Orange modem on basis of speed alone considering results of my earlier Safaricom speedtest.
#38 Posted : Wednesday, January 13, 2010 7:01:14 AM

So... will Orange pay $25mn for the 3G license?
#39 Posted : Wednesday, January 13, 2010 2:14:44 PM

Emiseda wrote:
Hey wat r u guys talking about.Please lets distinguish between the white orange modem 3G+ (kshs 1999) and the Black EVDO Modem(kshs 4000). The 1 st one is slow but the black ECVDO is so fast i downloaded a movies and watched online...i actually have all the 3 plus safcom and i can rate them in the following order in terms of speed
2.Safcom
4.Zain

emiseda, we ni toast sana, bure kabisa!!!
#40 Posted : Wednesday, January 13, 2010 4:50:28 PM

Emiseda wrote:
2.Safcom
4.Zain

I am using the white Orange modem and it runs on EVDO. The setup manual clearly states that one should choose the 'EVDO only' option during the setup process.