wazua Sat, Apr 20, 2024

Best single advice for a new comer
Francisnjuguna
#1 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 3:03:34 PM

What the single best advice for a person who want to join this business of investing in stocks
njuguna1
KenyanEconomist
#2 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 3:08:10 PM

Francisnjuguna wrote:
What the single best advice for a person who want to join this business of investing in stocks

Invest in Growing companies. Growth creates value!
Goldilocks Reloaded
#3 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 3:12:09 PM

Invest more in knowledge and information than in watching the ticker.
Go for a business that any idiot can run – because sooner or later, any idiot is probably going to run it – Peter Lynch
shrewdinvestor
#4 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 3:57:35 PM

Goldilocks Reloaded wrote:

Best advice ever!Understand what you are about to get yourself into:thoroughly that is!
kasibitta
#5 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 4:08:46 PM

Seek knowledge and information and be wise.Finally, think by yourself...dont follow crowds
hisah
#6 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 4:27:37 PM

Don't jump in when everyone is talking about stocks no matter how cheery the media headlines sing about the hot stock market streak.

Buy when the media is so negative about the market or when they stop talking about it and when nobody wants to talk about stocks coz of their bad experience. That is when you mention about stocks everyone has that killer eye on you to shut up or else...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
its2013
#7 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 5:37:59 PM

Buy low, sell high. Neither be too quick to buy nor too quick to sell. Carry out proper due diligence before every buy. Do a proper analysis of the stock and your decision before every sell.

Also very importantly, not every advice given is meant for your good. There are bears, bulls and pigs but there are also foxes and you'll know them with time.
Pretty hurts
#8 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 5:57:46 PM

hisah wrote:
Don't jump in when everyone is talking about stocks no matter how cheery the media headlines sing about the hot stock market streak.

Buy when the media is so negative about the market or when they stop talking about it and when nobody wants to talk about stocks coz of their bad experience. That is when you mention about stocks everyone has that killer eye on you to shut up or else...

You hit the nail on the head.
Magnate
#9 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 6:32:01 PM

Goldilocks Reloaded wrote:

Applause Applause
No diagnosis,no pragnosis,no pragnosis no profit......Jesse livermore
ngapat
#10 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 8:20:39 PM

Buy value
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
Francisnjuguna
#11 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 9:31:28 PM

Thanks All Wazuans.I will report to you after one year whether this advice helped
njuguna1
whiteowl
#12 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 9:59:58 PM

Always do your homework.
#13 Posted : Saturday, September 20, 2014 5:04:44 PM

do not take as gospel truth the comments of various commentators herein, apart from the Exchange Bar; as those are genuine insiders :)

HF 30,000 ABP 3.49; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 15,750 ABP 6.45
Hunderwear
#14 Posted : Saturday, September 20, 2014 9:53:29 PM

hisah wrote:

@Francis..This is the best advice you can get.
In other words,you are being expertly adviced to avoid stocks at this time since everyone is talking about it and no wonder you are now interested.
In short you are being setup by the sharks thru all the media hype and your money will be taken amid this hype if you aint lucky.
If you must buy at this time buy what is currently unpopular...Put otherwise buy when everyone is fearful and sell when everyone is greedy.
Mainat
#15 Posted : Sunday, September 21, 2014 8:07:26 AM

Follow IYM, DYOR. Its your money, do your own research
Sehemu ndio nyumba
holycow
#16 Posted : Sunday, September 21, 2014 2:43:33 PM

kryptonite
#17 Posted : Sunday, September 21, 2014 9:33:01 PM

hisah wrote:

You hit the nail on the head.

@sparkly, like you pointed out early in the year, when too many 'hellos' are inquiring about stocks, it's time to sell
The harder you work, the luckier you get
S.Mutaga III
#18 Posted : Saturday, September 27, 2014 11:27:23 PM

Buy a stock as you would buy a business...if you cant buy a business that gives you a loss, why would you buy a stock of a company that made or makes losses?Remember that a stock is a unit of ownership in a business. Secondly, compare price and value of a stock. For two profitable companies, look at how much you pay versus how much you get from owning the stock. For instance, if a stock trades at Ksh 50 per share and has an earnings per share of 10, it is a better buy than a stock that trades at Ksh 10, and has an earnings per share of Ksh 1 per share. The first guy will 'get' his capital back in 5 years and the second guy in 10 years. Thirdly, look at earnings growth...the company should be on a clear growth trajectory. Using this conditions to inform your investment decision may not give you supernormal returns, but you will have greatly minimized risks if you follow them and diversify to about 4 counters. Happy Investing
A successful man is not he who gets the best, it is he who makes the best from what he gets.
#19 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 8:19:50 AM

This is to all the newbies and all those wazua members who think people are against prosperity of companies whenever there's some market correction.

miser wrote:
Huenda ni nyani lachanwa hapa na kupakwa mafuta!Lakini kama mfanyi kazi hii atafaulu,nadhani nitafaidika kwani katika ghala langu,hawa nyani wapo tele!Na kwa wale pengine wameungana nasi hivi karibuni na hawana habari nyani ninaye mtaja hapa ni yupi,basi hadithi ndio hii ifuatayo...lakini tahadhari ni kwamba, cheka tu mpaka wakati ule utakuta hawa nyani wakikukondolea macho katika ghala lako..hapo ndipo utatililikwa na machozi ndo! ndo! ndo!

"Once upon a time, in a place overrun with monkeys, a trader appeared and announced to the villagers that he would buy monkeys for Ksh.100 each. The villagers’ response was overwhelming! The trader bought thousands of monkeys at Ksh.100 and as supply diminished, they became harder to catch, so the villagers relaxed.

The man hiked the price to Ksh.200 for each one. This renewed the efforts of the villagers! But soon the supply diminished further and became harder to catch.The people started going back to their farms and forgot about the monkey business(pun intended)!

The trader increased his price to Ksh.250 each and the supply of monkeys became so scarce that it was an effort to even see a monkey, much less to catch one. The trader now hiked the price to Ksh.500! However, he had to go to the city on some business errand; his assistant a.k.a broker would now buy on his behalf.

While the trader was away, the broker told the villagers, “Look at all these monkeys in the cage that my boss has bought.I will sell them to you at Ksh.350 each and when he returns from the city, you can sell them to him for Ksh.500 each!” With gusto and an eye for a profit,the villagers pooled up(Chamad) all their savings and bought all the monkeys in the cage. And the waiting begun….. only plenty of monkeys they(villagers) could see everywhere but neither the trader nor his broker!"

Aliye na wakati na atafsiri hii ngano!

Originally posted in 2009, and 2011.
KNM
#20 Posted : Sunday, September 28, 2014 11:44:42 AM

Plenty of advice on this forum. Good and bad. Do your own research
The crowd will cheer your coronation as well as your beheading. People like a show, that's all.