wazua Tue, Mar 24, 2026

73 Pages«<3233343536>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
Mart_Consult
#331 Posted : Wednesday, September 17, 2014 9:58:47 PM

quicksand wrote:

It might be a while before we see, so lets continue the debate, right mano?
Ok, the way I see it,....a foe who is mortally threatened is very dangerous. Safcom running very scared is the appropriate reaction to this threat. If they hadn't, had they kept quiet and boasted how unassailable their position I would have written them off as lazy, incompetent and ripe for a takedown. That fear has people hatching strategies day and night. Equity blundered very badly there with their pricing plan announcement.
Now there are some costs, very huge costs that come with becoming a Telco and many here simply do not see them, they simply see profits and the counter really taking off. The costs have to be financed from somewhere· Let me elaborate and temper the enthusiasm a bit:
1. The license. I do not know the exact amount Equity paid for its MVNO, but these licences usually run into billions.
2. The network. Let no one cheat you, the red network is s***. It does not degrade badly cause there arent many guys on it. Their managememt miscalculated with 3G rollout so that coverage is not upto par. These data and voice revenues that Equity might be expected to pull from that aspect of the business? Exaggerated.
3. Comms regulations will kick in. Those are expensive to maintain. To mention a few, must maintain 7 year archives. Need a call center. Need to maintain service levels above some threshold. They demand infrastructure and also "provision for" accounting resources thingies. One telco was docked 300 mill (or was 500?) for low service quality.
4. Expertise, starting costs: The red network had its own money service, which they bungled. Equity will need to control the service directly, and not proxy through the network's old system if they hope to succeed. New and serious IT infrastructure is required so that the 9 million already in their stable start off happy and without a hitch.
5. Security: From what I heard, there is no encryption on the thin-sim. The base sim at least has DES. This has to have some Equity people worried, I see a very high probability someone will write malware to access the sims naked API and some interesting court battles will ensue. Perhaps this is what is keeping them?
6. What might Safcom do? Equity will force them to be less greedy, prices will come down, agents get higher commissions.
7. Open Mpesa to other banks. These other banks are spectators in the Equity/Safaricom axis. They would love a piece of the pie, opening the system up adds appeal, staves off the impending annihilation.

All in all? It does not change much, Equity's thing becomes a good money earner for Equity but not the decapitating sword of wrath people are making it out to be. There is no lunch to be eaten here. 60-40 market split for Safcom-Equity after some 5 years ofsmilerough battle.
But you are all entitled to hype it, watch the stock skyrocket and make a killing smile I hold a dimmer view.

1. The MVNO license cost Equity Kes. 100,000. Equity probably M-pesad CAK this cash (pun intended) Even a Wazuan can get one if they can fulfill all other requirements.(that's the catch)
2. Equity has partners in Helios ( I know Eaton owns the Airtel towers) . Work your network- get what you need done.
3. That (infrastructure) is Airtel's responsibility. With the jackpot from the Eaton deal, should see them pull up their socks soon.
4 & 5. Equity as Bank knows what security and investment means. It comes with good expertise on board in its CIO + CFO (they seem to have settled with the latter)
6. There's a trust factor that comes with the Equity brand. Safaricom is because of lack of choice. Equity is because it's the choice...all in their targeted market.
7. Any Bank CEO will tell you the same thing. They'd rather own the platform. Equity just went a step ahead and did it.

Definitely no overnight kill this shall be...but an interesting history chapter begins in the telecoms industry. As we all learned about Graham, so shall our young entrepreneurial ones about James....(okay that's an exaggeration but you get the point)smile Pray Pray
I went into the (Ferry) industry knowing the same thing I knew with all other businesses I went into- Nothing. Then I built it from there. - Sheldon Adelson (Titans at the Table- Giants of Macau)
#332 Posted : Wednesday, September 17, 2014 11:39:04 PM

Mart_Consult wrote:
quicksand wrote:

It might be a while before we see, so lets continue the debate, right mano?
Ok, the way I see it,....a foe who is mortally threatened is very dangerous. Safcom running very scared is the appropriate reaction to this threat. If they hadn't, had they kept quiet and boasted how unassailable their position I would have written them off as lazy, incompetent and ripe for a takedown. That fear has people hatching strategies day and night. Equity blundered very badly there with their pricing plan announcement.
Now there are some costs, very huge costs that come with becoming a Telco and many here simply do not see them, they simply see profits and the counter really taking off. The costs have to be financed from somewhere· Let me elaborate and temper the enthusiasm a bit:
1. The license. I do not know the exact amount Equity paid for its MVNO, but these licences usually run into billions.
2. The network. Let no one cheat you, the red network is s***. It does not degrade badly cause there arent many guys on it. Their managememt miscalculated with 3G rollout so that coverage is not upto par. These data and voice revenues that Equity might be expected to pull from that aspect of the business? Exaggerated.
3. Comms regulations will kick in. Those are expensive to maintain. To mention a few, must maintain 7 year archives. Need a call center. Need to maintain service levels above some threshold. They demand infrastructure and also "provision for" accounting resources thingies. One telco was docked 300 mill (or was 500?) for low service quality.
4. Expertise, starting costs: The red network had its own money service, which they bungled. Equity will need to control the service directly, and not proxy through the network's old system if they hope to succeed. New and serious IT infrastructure is required so that the 9 million already in their stable start off happy and without a hitch.
5. Security: From what I heard, there is no encryption on the thin-sim. The base sim at least has DES. This has to have some Equity people worried, I see a very high probability someone will write malware to access the sims naked API and some interesting court battles will ensue. Perhaps this is what is keeping them?
6. What might Safcom do? Equity will force them to be less greedy, prices will come down, agents get higher commissions.
7. Open Mpesa to other banks. These other banks are spectators in the Equity/Safaricom axis. They would love a piece of the pie, opening the system up adds appeal, staves off the impending annihilation.

All in all? It does not change much, Equity's thing becomes a good money earner for Equity but not the decapitating sword of wrath people are making it out to be. There is no lunch to be eaten here. 60-40 market split for Safcom-Equity after some 5 years ofsmilerough battle.
But you are all entitled to hype it, watch the stock skyrocket and make a killing smile I hold a dimmer view.

1. The MVNO license cost Equity Kes. 100,000. Equity probably M-pesad CAK this cash (pun intended) Even a Wazuan can get one if they can fulfill all other requirements.(that's the catch)
2. Equity has partners in Helios ( I know Eaton owns the Airtel towers) . Work your network- get what you need done.
3. That (infrastructure) is Airtel's responsibility. With the jackpot from the Eaton deal, should see them pull up their socks soon.
4 & 5. Equity as Bank knows what security and investment means. It comes with good expertise on board in its CIO + CFO (they seem to have settled with the latter)
6. There's a trust factor that comes with the Equity brand. Safaricom is because of lack of choice. Equity is because it's the choice...all in their targeted market.
7. Any Bank CEO will tell you the same thing. They'd rather own the platform. Equity just went a step ahead and did it.

Definitely no overnight kill this shall be...but an interesting history chapter begins in the telecoms industry. As we all learned about Graham, so shall our young entrepreneurial ones about James....(okay that's an exaggeration but you get the point)smile Pray Pray

100,000? Really? That doesn't sound fair.
Your point #7 also applies to the network, Equity will want to own it. This infrastructure lease-managed-by-others will unravel, just like red's outsourcing to IBM and NSN has turned out not too rosy. You want your own talent on the controls, this SLA thing is very dicey.
innovator
#333 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 8:42:01 AM

At least they have a direction, others can only follow.
#334 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 8:50:36 AM

ngapat wrote:
Equity doesn't mind much about revenue from cash transfer service but rather attracting low cost deposits.
This is the reason they will allow cash transfer within their network at no cost. The catch here is to enable people even buy from mama mboga and pay through MVNO hence Equity will have a large pool of low cost deposits which they can loan and get high profit margins. You will not see the need to withdraw cash meaning the money will just be revolving within Equity bank and only changing owners.
Imagine paying at "iko Choo" with MVNO

@ngapat, this is already happening with Safaricom all over, Equity will not have an advantage here Lipa na M-pesa is getting strong footing as well.
MKWASI
#335 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 8:56:16 AM

Even if Safaricom charges Zero, I'm ready to move to Mwangi's- as a protest vote. I'm just tired of exploitation. The other day I logged in for my statement and guess what I was not able to view the charges!! may be I need to be educated. Do those mpesa statements have charges?
I wanted to calculate the magnitude of this exploitation!!
ngapat
#336 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 11:32:05 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
ngapat wrote:
Equity doesn't mind much about revenue from cash transfer service but rather attracting low cost deposits.
This is the reason they will allow cash transfer within their network at no cost. The catch here is to enable people even buy from mama mboga and pay through MVNO hence Equity will have a large pool of low cost deposits which they can loan and get high profit margins. You will not see the need to withdraw cash meaning the money will just be revolving within Equity bank and only changing owners.
Imagine paying at "iko Choo" with MVNO

@ngapat, this is already happening with Safaricom all over, Equity will not have an advantage here Lipa na M-pesa is getting strong footing as well.

i believe safaricom charges for lipa na mpesa
“Invest in yourself. Your career is the engine of your wealth.”
Wakanyugi
#337 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 12:24:35 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
[Safcom doesnt want to be called a bank at all....no way

Then they are in a big pickle, aren't they?

As for ring fencing their agents, that horse already bolted when CCK forced the end of the exclusive Agency model. Safaricom is right now in the process of reviewing contracts to allow their agents to work with anybody.

And they can't compete on price, not with the pressure from agents to be allowed a bigger commission (remember that money transfer through Equity MVNO will not require an agent, so long as you have an Equity account).

If I was Safaricom I would walk away from this fight, start looking across the borders for growth opportunities. Granted the deal with their mother company may not allow competition on voice and data in most markets.

But, with the experience they have now, they could easily export the M-Pesa model to countries like South Sudan, Uganda and Central Africa and hope to mint some coins, before JM comes calling and takes their lunch again.

You are making too many assumptions in imagining that Safcom will not match those trasaction fees just because of agents. But since you live in lala land. Keep watching. How many months has it been after the expected "launch" month?

You are the one in lala land my friend.

Yesterday evening I listened to an announcement by Safaricom saying they are now offering more international transfers via M-Pesa. In short they are accelerating the project to corner the international remittance market.

Translation? M-Pesa is going upmarket, where transfer cost is not a big factor.

At 25 bob a pop from JM, the downmarket segment is almost as good as gone.

Tafakari hayo

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#338 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 2:04:19 PM

Wakanyugi wrote:
[Safcom doesnt want to be called a bank at all....no way

Then they are in a big pickle, aren't they?

As for ring fencing their agents, that horse already bolted when CCK forced the end of the exclusive Agency model. Safaricom is right now in the process of reviewing contracts to allow their agents to work with anybody.

And they can't compete on price, not with the pressure from agents to be allowed a bigger commission (remember that money transfer through Equity MVNO will not require an agent, so long as you have an Equity account).

If I was Safaricom I would walk away from this fight, start looking across the borders for growth opportunities. Granted the deal with their mother company may not allow competition on voice and data in most markets.

But, with the experience they have now, they could easily export the M-Pesa model to countries like South Sudan, Uganda and Central Africa and hope to mint some coins, before JM comes calling and takes their lunch again.

You are making too many assumptions in imagining that Safcom will not match those trasaction fees just because of agents. But since you live in lala land. Keep watching. How many months has it been after the expected "launch" month?

You are the one in lala land my friend.

Yesterday evening I listened to an announcement by Safaricom saying they are now offering more international transfers via M-Pesa. In short they are accelerating the project to corner the international remittance market.

Translation? M-Pesa is going upmarket, where transfer cost is not a big factor.

At 25 bob a pop from JM, the downmarket segment is almost as good as gone.

Tafakari hayo

Mpesa is cheaper numbers dont lie
#339 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 2:13:07 PM

This thread has become a novel to read
Wakanyugi
#340 Posted : Thursday, September 18, 2014 3:09:50 PM

Mpesa is cheaper numbers dont lie

You may want to ask for a refund from whoever taught you Maths.

Here are the numbers:

SAFARICOM - MPESA to MPESA CHARGES

To send Ksh 10 to 2500 Will cost you from Ksh 1 to 40

To send Ksh 2501 to 70,000 Will cost you from Ksh 55 to 110

PROPOSED EQUITY MVNO CHARGES

To send Ksh 10 to 2500 Will cost you from Ksh 0.1 to 25 (1%)

To send Ksh 2501 to 70,000 Will cost you a flat fee of Ksh 25

To send any amount from Equity to Equity will cost ZERO

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
73 Pages«<3233343536>»